We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Easy Going Feel!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location - Easy Going Feel!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My friend and I stayed at the regent in July 2012 with my two daughters, 9 and 12. We both had a Suite which was nice and the grounds were gorgeous...The location was perfect in Chaweng Beach...The pools were good with swim up bar at one...Walking along the beach from the hotel at night was awesome...kids bought fireworks and let them off and had some nice seafood meals...the cocktail happy hour was well worthwhile...Overall a good place...The only let downs after staying at other hotels was the breakfast was average and the hotel was getting a bit dated but still a great spot!!

Room Tip: Do your homework - There are many options of accomodation types here - The suites were quite expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChannyRimington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear ChannyRimington,

The Team joins me in expressing our thanks for your nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to share your experience with other travelers.

Chaweng Regent opened over 20 years ago and is doing as well as ever thanks to our guests' comments and patronage.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    547
    182
    67
    60
See reviews for
417
823
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We are a family of 3 who stayed at Chaweng for 7 days during August. The major attraction to this hotel is the location. Along the strip of Chaweng Beach Road, there is allot of very average run down hotels with a few exceptions. So you either have to move away and catch a taxi into Chaweng or pay allot more for your accommodation or BOTH.
Now for Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.
It is a very well maintained 4 star hotel with lush gardens, great pool area and decent rooms. We stayed in a Spa Villa which I believe are the only new rooms in the hotel and are excellent for the price. The gym is also fantastic, for a hotel gym, one of the best I have seen. If you are going to spend most your time by the pool during the day, you will find Chaweng Regent has an excellent pool surrounding that is right next to the beach and a renovated Pool bar for your drinks and food. My major problem with Chaweng is the food. In my opinion, the food is very average and looks like no one in the Food and Beverage department has changed or improved the menu in 15 years. Its OK to say the breakfast was great if your judging by quantity. Dont get me wrong, the food is not bad, its just on the cheaper side of everything they serve both in breakfast and pool side. Their pool side menu is both limited and lacks any creativity. Koh Samui has progressed to feature some of the best restaurants in the world and Chaweng Regent has not moved with the times. The staff were all good especially the front desk. Around the pool, the staff culture was a bit on the lazy side. Most of the times you had to get up and order from the bar unless you were lucky to get someone walking past. Even during quiet times, staff just sat around behind the bar. Wifi was also something that seemed low on their list of priorities and even after you paid for the service, the service was terrible. I would still recommend Chaweng Regent, as your hotel choices for that central position are limited. If you are not a foodie and internet service does not bother you, you will enjoy the lush, relaxed surroundings of the hotel.
Summary of Hotel
PROS
- Great central location
- Spa Villa room is new, large and looks great
- Well maintained gardens and facilities
- Excellent gym facilities
- Very clean
- Well priced for what you are getting
- Two pools, one right next to the beach
- Pool bar right on the beach
- Great car hire service not much more expensive as part of hotel
-Very helpful desk and housekeeping staff
- Excellent hotel baby sitting service at only Baht 300 per hour
- Red Snapper restaurant is their flagship restaurant and has a great reputation
CONS
- Noisy fireworks nearly every night along the beach
- Food like "Nachos" and Cheeseburgers by the pool reminds me of the 90's
- Breakfast was about quantity not quality.
- Service culture was a little lazy, and showed in the up keep of the breakfast buffet and around the pool
- Wifi terrible. Free Wifi in "public areas" was not available until after 11am??? and limited in its reception. Optional paid Wifi not much better and you kept having to enter user names and passwords a thousand times during your stay. Oh, and only valid for ONE device.
SUMMARY
I have no problem going back to Chaweng Regent and with some effort on the food, this can be a fantastic hotel

Room Tip: The Spa Villa room was great. Large, modern and can accomodate kids. Try and stay away from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lex2987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear lex2987,

Thank you for your valuable feedback, our guests' opinions keep us on our toes and are always welcome. Please accept our sincere apologies for our shortcomings and trust that all the points raised will be addressed promptly.

Notwithstanding, the Team will be thrilled to know that your stay was enjoyable. We do strive to keep things fresh with regular updates in all departments and your suggestions will no doubt be beneficial to our efforts.

Again, the Team joins me in conveying our warm thanks and hope to welcome you again very soon.

With Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Totally real pleasure.
We stayed at the hotel for two nights at the beginning of our vacation.
Great atmosphere, all the staff welcoming and happy to help and assist with any questions. Hotel location excellent, great beach, nice pool and comfortable.
Very rich breakfast includes pastries corner that you dont see in most breakfasts in Thailand ....
Spa bit expensive but totally worth the price, you can do couples therapy in the same room with private sauna. Awesome.
Great room with a large shower with hot tub with amazing flora and natural light from outside. Real fun.
The food in the restaurant's excellent!
wi-fi not so good...
In general the price is a little expensive but worth it...

Room Tip: primier room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_Coral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Amit_Coral,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort. The Team joins me in conveying our sincere appreciation for your positive feedback.

We would like to apologize for the glitches in our Wifi, the issue is currently being addressed. Please trust that I will share your compliments with our Kitchen and Spa departments as well as the rest of the Team.

On behalf of everyone at Chaweng Regent, I would like to thank you again and look forward to welcoming you very soon.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Three of us shared a room which was cosy but worth the savings to share and clean. We found the resort quiet and peaceful to sleep yet close enough to walk to all the excitement. Breakfast was okay, the pools were fantastic and security was good we felt safe.

The fitness instructors were good fun, and the classes a good touch - I highly recommend the kick boxing class. Good resort with very good facilities. Service was okay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Theresa A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this lovely review. We are very pleased that you decided to make Chaweng Regent Beach Resort your "Chaweng Oasis" and enjoyed it.

Please know that I will share your Kick Boxing tip the Recreation Team who will surely be thrilled.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have been to Koh Samui many times and previously have stayed at Kandaburri Hotel and Nora Beach hotel, both these hotels are excellent but this time wanted a hotel near everything and this hotel just does that. The location is perfect near restaurants and bars and of course shopping. At this hotel they have two pools one with a swim up bar and the other is nearer the beach. What I liked about this hotel is if you wanted to be quiet you can go on the beach and lie in the chairs that the hotel provide and have a view of the lovely beach and sea. Both my husband and I had a full massage at the hotel which we thought excellent but if you choose to have one inside you have air conditioned rooms, if you choose outside which is cheaper it can get a bit hot we found.The breakfast at this hotel was faultless it had a good range of Thai and English food.
The rooms are nice at first we were given a Premier Room which does not have a pool view room and we requested a pool view room, the manager sorted the mistake out for us and by the next day we was given a deluxe pool view room which was very good. The rooms were always kept well cleaned by the maid and sheets and towels changed every day. I would recommend this hotel for families, couples in fact anyone would like this hotel. The only downside of the hotel is the noise from the ARK hotel down the road the music goes on till 5am and if you don't have your air conditioner on in your room you can hear the boom boom boom of the music you can also hear the fireworks but I didnt mind that but the constant noise of the ARK is a bit annoying but thats not the Chaweng Regents fault. If you get a room not near the beach and on the left side of the hotel you won't hear the noise as much. The reception staff and the Manager were excellent and always helpful and smiling a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view room go for the Deluxe rooms for the price you have to pay for the Premium R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perthskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Perthskye,

Thank you for choosing Chaweng Regent Beach Resort among so many resorts on Samui, we are thrilled by your feedback. The Team will be glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our guests are quite fond of our prime location, but the downside is the occasional ruckus of Chaweng. While we do as much as possible to reduce the noise, it is often beyond our control.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon and appreciate your patronage.

With Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.6 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
1.8 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.2 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
1.4 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
2.1 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,157 - ₹ 18,407
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing