We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Payed for ocean wing, got lake wing, no repay...”
Review of Chaba Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chaba Samui Resort
Ranked #33 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Göteborg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Payed for ocean wing, got lake wing, no repay...”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Pros: Good breakfast buffet, good location, clean and fresh.
Cons: Terrible booking experience through agoda. Hotel is kind of outdated. There are so many cozy hotels in Thailand but this is not one of them. Quite expensive if you don't book through agoda.

First we booked two nights at this hotel through agoda. We booked a lake wing room but we got an ocean wing room, since the lake wing was fully booked. We were not informed about the upgrade and actually we didn't reflect on that we got the wrong room. After two nights we decided to extend our stay. We would like to stay in the same room, so we made the same booking on agoda. When we talked to the reception, it appeared to us that we had an ocean wing, and the new booking was a lake wing. We had to change room, since the ocean wing was fully booked. Anyway, I noticed that ocean wing was still available on agoda. I informed the reception about it, but later on the ocean wing was still available. At the end of our visit, we had to book one more night and would prefer to book the lake wing. The reception told us that lake wing was the only ones available, ocean wing was fully booked. We went to our room, opened agoda and saw that only ocean wing was available, lake wing was not present at all. Since lake wing, booked at the reception, had about the same price as ocean wing at agoda, I booked ocean wing at agoda. Due to agoda there was only one ocean wing left, I thought it might have been a recent cancellation. When I went back to the reception, the ocean wing was still fully booked. Instead we got the same lake wing as before. We asked for repay, they couldn't since we booked through agoda. The ocean wing costed approx 4000 baht, the lake wing 2000 baht (due to previous booking), i.e. we payed 2000 baht too much. We were offered a dinner worth 1000 bath, but we declined since we had other plans the last night on samui.

I have mailed agoda, described the case and asked how the hotel is supposed to take care of repayments, but no response.

Conclusion: this hotel problem has big problems with the availability information on agoda (I suppose that's the hotels responsibility) and they let the customer pay for their problems. As a customer I really don't care if it's agodas or the hotels fault. This is just too bad...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MickeMicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    238
    119
    45
    46
See reviews for
111
273
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The best part is the location. Right in the middle of the happening Chaweng. Free airport shuttle was provided and we were greeted with very refreshing welcome drinks and fruit platter. Our room was at the Lake Wing (but seriously... what lake?) and thankfully, not the one facing the street. Otherwise the noise would be unbearable. The room itself was comfortable enough and clean and we were greeted with pretty elephants made out of the towels. There were umbrellas, bathrobes, and well stocked mini bars. Flip-flops in the room came with a price tag, if you choose to use them. Breakfast was so-so. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was a huge disappointment. Apart from a small commotion during check-in, the rest of our stay was smooth. Service was adequate but not outstanding. For the price they charged, the value is average.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrevelLingMinahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

this hotel is right in the heart of cheweng right on the beach the location it perfect , after a very shaky start to our stay here, which was sorted by the hotel manager, our stay at this hotel was perfect. the breakfast was plentyful,the staff very friendly nothing was too much trouble, will definatly return to this hotel

Room Tip: high floor at the ocean end of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have been Chaba Samui Resort at Ocean Wing Site with my wife. It's very fantastic resort with hot location center of Chaweng Beach. And all the staffs very helpful and friendly. In my opinion they are very good budget hotel which have standard facilities. Thier price very resonable and valueable money.

But i don't like some teenage clients in the resort who come with the big gang. They always drunk, very noisy and brought some ladies to hang out in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank USM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

i have been in this hotel between 14.03.12-18.03.12 with my friend
we came to the hotel at 15:00 and already booked by hotels.com. we just get our room after 16:00 too much time after a long day from our last destination.
we get inside our room at the 4th floor after a long maze and get inside the room.
air conditioning worked so low, the room smell very bad,the bathroom look old so all the room looked old.but i really don`t care i already payed for the room.in the room i saw a big note that the management wrote that if you have some visitor you must pay 1000 Baht!!!
i came down to the reception to talk with duty manager and i have been lucky that the main manager was there. i took him aside to talk with him very quit and i asked him about it because i wanted to host my best two friends from my country to come to sit with me about 2 hours to chat and why i need to pay this amount. so he start yell at me you need to pay 1000 baht that they can come visit you,not make any sense.I was so quiet and nice to him,Meet an aggressive manner so that a worthy candidate who works with the public administrator what can i say a bout it?He told me that for security reasons i need to pay this amount (nonsense)just a way to making money.I never felt like this disgusting behavior. never come back there again.also gym 3 instruments in the gym that not working. 2 pools one is good next to beach next the delux room and the standard`s room pool looked like....i don`t want to say nothing more.Sum not recommended better to go to other hotels

Room Tip: Better not go to this hotel I did not understand how people recommend to come bad advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Perlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.5 km away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
0.6 km away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#36 of 104 in Chaweng
599 reviews
0.2 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,779 reviews
0.2 km away
Baan Samui Resort
Baan Samui Resort
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaba Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Samui Resort

Property: Chaba Samui Resort
Address: 19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,865 - ₹ 10,243
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93 Rooms, located in the heart of Chaweng, set beside a sandy white beach. Accommodation is split between two wings; the Lake Wing is across the road from the beach with the Ocean Wing located by the beach. Rooms have air conditioning, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ocean Wing rooms have a private balcony. Swimming pools, kids' playground, exercise room, sauna, pool bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaba Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Samui Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Chaba Samui
Chaba Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing