We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Paradise”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

It was our first visit to Koh Samui and now I can say that not the last one. It was amazing place. Spacious rooms. The only disadvantage was that you had to cross the road to get to the main building and pools. But there was a guy who help you to stop the traffic. The garden was beautiful without any disturbing noise. Pool was big and there were complimentary very comfortable sundecks with towels and umbrellas. The fitness center is small but enough to do the training and for free. Breakfas was marvellous. Wide selection and open till lunch lunch. You can buy a dinner in the restaurant. Do it. The evening programe is good and food extremely delicious. The hotel has beautiful sandy beach. We suggest to have a romantic dinner on the beach:)

Room Tip: No need to pay for the seaview. There are just few rooms with the seaview so it´s quite expensive. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,327 of 2,560 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here mid July 2012 having come for the first time last year. The location in chaweng is great- on the beach and walking distance to the hustle and bustle of the main chaweng beach road.

The good side:

Location and price make this an attractive option for chaweng beach- the reality is there are no truly luxury resorts so close to the main chaweng beach road.

The spa is amazing- friendly and helpful staff, a lovely setting an really competitive pricing with regular offers,promotions and off peak (10-2pm) discounts....

If you need a break from Thai food, prego does great pizza and is seemingly packed every day which must be a recommendation in itself.

The down side:

The standards of service have slipped since our last visit only seven months back. The staff:guest ratio is good but the facilities cannot cope with the number of guests the hotel try to pack in. The pools are rammed with almost no chance of sun loungers unless you place towels at dawn which is common practice!

The gym is good except for the a/c permanently set at a sauna level of 28 degrees- controls are at roof top level and cannot be reached despite my best efforts. Other guests had reported the problem but the sauna levels were there for our whole stay! Had a view of the smaller pool and numerous towel claimed sun loungers which remained unoccupied but claimed for the hour or so we were at the gym!

Check in/check out was the main disappointment. On arrival we were told we had been 'upgraded' to a deluxe room- as our superior room was not available. Beware of the so called upgrade as the rooms are third floor,no lift, overlook a big garden, and are nowhere near the pools,spa and main hotel facilities. We saw the room and when compared to the superior room, the only difference was a shower cubicle in the bathroom- not worth the hassle inthe location. After a mild struggle we managed to get the room we had originally booked, despite being old it was not available!! Just stick to the superior rooms and specify near the pool when you book!

I was shocked to have to haggle for the cost of a hotel transfer to the airport! We were initially old it would be 340baht per person! After telling them we paid considerably less from the hansar samui, they offered 400 baht for both of us- quite unbelievable for a supposed upmarket hotel!

Despite all this the location and price make it a good option for chaweng, given the lack of alternatives....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APSGM, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback, especially about our spa. We have only created “Breeze Spa” recently as Amari’s own spa brand, and it is good to hear that we are on the right track with the services offered.

I am sorry that you felt our service standards have slipped since your last visit. July happens to be the busiest month of the year for Koh Samui, particularly for us, and the resort does feel crowded this time of year. Having a few team members leave the front desk this time of year certainly does not help the situation. This is not meant as an excuse, but we are aware of the situation and trying to bring the new team members up to speed quickly.

I hope you will return at a perhaps less busy time of year and enjoy the usual standards you have experienced during your first stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We're so pleased we booked Amari as we prefer this side of Chaweng. It's only a short stroll away from the shops. They gave us 2 rooms across the road and rooms were much bigger than the first 2 rooms they showed us in the main part of the hotel. The receptionist that checked us in was very attentive and helpful. She gave us cold towels and cold drinks while waiting for our rooms. Breakfast buffet has big selection and beautiful view of the ocean. Breakfast room staff are very good. We spent a lot of time pampering at The Breeze Spa. Everyone at the spa were so nice especially Thanika Chuaysut ( receptionist).
Bed so comfortable but didn't like very big pillows also some of the towels were a bit worn out.
Overall, excellent service from everyone.
Taxi to the airport will cost 300 baht and there's a lovely lady that will do your laundry for 39 baht a kg not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thegangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Things did not start well for us. Kuoni had sold us business class flights on the basis that Bangkok Air would honour our luggage allowance on the short hop from Bangkok to Koh Samui. When we got our travel documents we found that this was not the case. Kuoni did not resolve this before we left.

We saw how beautiful Koh Samui is as we flew in and landed at its pretty airport. The transfer was five minutes to the hotel (Kuoni's transfer charges are a rip off - use a cab at the airport). When we arrived at the the hotel we got none of the usual Thai hospitality. The receptionist (Nalinrat) was abrupt and rude. She only wanted to push us into joining their loyalty scheme and told us not to book through Kuoni in future but direct through them. She took our Kuoni travel documents and tore out the page with our hotel details (we were to discover why later). She also told me that she needed to pre-authorise 11000 bhat on my credit card - (thats 200 pounds!) She told us that our room would not be ready for three hours, that we had arrived too early, and we were to wait in the bar. At this point we hadn't said a word - we just responded to the instructions she barked at us.

So we sat in the outdoor bar sweltering in the heat and our travelling clothes. She returned later and said a room had been found for us and to go to the reception desk. At the reception desk they told us to sit back down. We twice asked where breakfast was and we were told both times 'different building over there' but no indication of where 'over there' was. We felt completely unwelcome on arrival - we've never experienced anything like this in Thailand.

We had booked an upgrade to a deluxe room. The room we got had a bathroom the size of a wardrobe, old towels, filthy used slippers. There was no welcome fruit on arrival or subsequently and this was different to our previous experience of Thai hotels and our previous experience of staying at the Amari Phuket. The wifi in the room didn't work and we called and visited reception four times to sort it out. No one came back to us. Our room was right next to the main Chaweng Beach road so all night we had the roar of traffic going past and horns hooting. In the morning morning we were woken by drilling.

The next day I met our Kuoni rep who spoke to the manager on our behalf. The manager's response about our rude receptionist was 'she did her job'. He said he would have an engineer look at the WiFi but again nothing happened and no one came back to us including our Kuoni rep.
The pools at the Amari are filled with children so very noisy. Not a complaint - the kids are having fun - just an observation. So we went to the beach. The beach at the Amari is too shallow to swim in, and filled with seaweed and everything else that washes up at this end of the beach. The beach isn't kept clean so the rotting fruit that falls from the trees leaves maggots on the sand (see pics). The Amari provides loungers but not umbrellas so every day we would walk twenty minutes down to the main Chaweng beach with its white sands and water so clear you stand up to your neck and see your feet. We would rent loungers and umbrellas for 100 baht from one of the other hotels. Beautiful and peaceful.

Things got worse back at the hotel. When we returned to our room each day, the coffee and tea weren't replenished so we had to buy our own. There was no turn down service which meant the room wasn't sprayed with insecticide. We had to contend with enormous cockroaches (see pictures - fortunately the 7/11 near the hotel sold cockroach spray). Every day I would find somewhere to access email in order to contact Kuoni.

Finally the manager of the Amari met with us. He admitted we were in the wrong room, told us he was particularly unhappy with that product, that we would be moved to the delux room we had paid for the next day. It was at the end of our sixth day before we finally got the room we had paid for.

At least the manager of the Amari had the decency to hold his hands up and admit their mistakes. Not so Kuoni. There responses were shocking: they made excuses, passed me between departments, and were evasive. As well as excuses about being on holiday/training courses, I was told that they didn't want to worry me while I was on holiday and would ask customer services to contact me when I got home! Caroline in customer services told me not to email her but to email customer services - even though I was replying to her email!

Stupidly, I had a slice of cold meat from the breakfast buffet. It was not kept on ice so had been sitting in the heat for a couple of hours. I have a cast iron stomach, but an hour later I had come down with food poisoning. I was sick for 5 days, with fever, vomiting and the rest of the symptoms. I was given antibiotics for the remainder of the holiday as I was bleeding. We saw our Kuoni rep on his motorcycle near the hotel. He asked how we were and I told him I had food poisoning and the source. As before we never heard from him again. At check out, the reception staff said three words 'nothing to pay'.

Any review of a hotel is going to be subjective and our experience seems to be different to others here. However, had Kuoni acted more quickly we might have had a different experience altogether. Unfortunately for us we left bitterly disappointed and several thousand pounds worse off.

Room Tip: you have to upgrade to get a room of decent quality. Or go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank waynecom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APSGM, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. I am very disappointed to hear that your experiences did not meet your expectations in a number of different areas. Other than the points we had discussed, I wish I had been made aware of the other points when we met as I may have been able to help.

At Amari Palm Reef, we always try to provide a great service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We are taking the appropriate measures to investigate and address the various problems mentioned in which the hotel is concerned to prevent future occurrence.

To be fair, I feel obliged to mention that although I am very sorry you were ill, no other guest reported any adverse reaction from our breakfast buffet, despite the hotel being fully booked. The cold meats are in fact presented on a refrigerated tablet within the air-conditioned breakfast buffet room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Beautiful resort with incredible staff, who happily assist with all matters, and always with a warm smile.
The buffet breakfast is the best I have ever experienced. All the dining facilities at the resort are first class, & once again, the service exceptional.
The setting is lovely at the quieter end of Chaweng Beach. The restaurants are on the beach side, as the resort also has rooms on the other side of the road. I initially thought this might have been a disadvantage when I learned we were "across" the road, but it was not a problem at all. There are "crossing" supervisors to assist you to cross the road, but it really wasn't very busy anyway. It is only a matter of a few minutes from your room to the "beach" side of the resort. There are lovely lagoon pools on both sides of the resort. Clean water, lovely fresh towels and usually available sun lounges with lovely large umbrellas to shade you from the sun.
We stayed in a Family Duplex, which has a handy mezzanine level upstairs with two beds for the kids or extra adults. It was very spacious & extremely clean. The bathroom is small, but manageable, and there was a separate toilet, for convenience.
The Thai beach buffets at Amari are magical. We were fortunate enough to attend one under the full moon, and this will always be a special & memorable experience for us. The setting is idyllic, and the food superb, with a huge variety of fresh and tasty dishes. Even the rain that come just as we were finishing did not spoil it! The staff quickly packed everything up and carefully carried everything inside. They continued to smile and show their professional and courteous behaviour in what could have been a disruptive situation. We were ushered to inside quarters, where we could continue with the meal, or enjoy an after dinner cocktail.
Check in/ check out was smooth and efficient. We were welcomed with lovely icy cold cloths on arrival, and each time we ordered a drink at the bar, we were offered the same treat. Lovely after time in the sun at the beach, or shopping.
The beach immediately in front of the resort was not ideal for swimming when we were there (July), but take a walk about 10 minutes towards the busier part of Chaweng and the water is deeper, there is no seaweed and there are small waves for a bit of fun.
Initially my son was a little disappointed there was no games room, as he was hoping to play Billiards. However, he was happy to discover table tennis and a giant chess set (both outdoors on the beach side of resort). There are also board games that can be used whilst having a drink or food at the restaurant, or whilst lounging on the beautiful day beds close by.
There is a Day Spa and also a fitness room (did not use either), but they looked very good.
This resort really was bliss. Restful, luxurious and a place where you are constantly looked after by wonderful staff.
The only criticism is that smoking is not restricted to particular areas, so if the person next to you at the pool or at the restaurant likes to chain smoke, you get to share it too! Not always appealing to non smokers. Designated smoking areas would be good.
Apart from that minor issue, we could not fault our stay there &
we would definitely return to Amari Palm Reef.

Room Tip: Family Duplex is a great option for space with the upstairs mezzanine level. Our sone loved having h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.7 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,921 reviews
0.6 km away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
2.3 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,494 reviews
1.8 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,388 reviews
2.7 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: ₹ 7,686 - ₹ 21,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing