We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Simply good Italian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duomo

Duomo
Ranked #4 of 179 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply good Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

simply a very good Italian restaurant on the main strip in Chaweng. Maybe not the best spot (view wise), but the food is just very good.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Winston M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    317
    79
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We ate here as it had such good reviews on Tripadvisor. We found the food and service to be rather average compared to other places we ate at and for the price, we feel that we could have eaten better on the beach.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful family restaurant, value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We enjoyed Duomo so much that we visited three times in our 2 week stay on Koh Samui - twice for dinner and once for lunch. All 3 times, I cannot fault both the service and the food. My husband and I dined with our 1 year old daughter and the staff were so friendly and attentive with her. They did not bat an eyelid when we requested some additional food for her - rice and mashed veggies - and did not charge us for this either. The food was delightful and the restaurant a cool retreat from the busy hot streets of Samui. Great value for money being almost half the price of other Italians in the area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RTWin90days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best pizza and pasta in Koh Samui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

After reading the reviews, my partner and I decided to give this place a go. We were certainly pleased. We ordered the Calzone and Tagliatelle - most delicious pasta and pizza I have ever had! (And I eat ALOT of pasta). Reasonably priced too. The service was impeccable and friendly. Our waitress genuinely wanted us to have a great experience there. I will definitely eat here again and again and again!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food but different service when the boss is not there.... better service when the boss is there... Why?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Me and my husband have been here twice in a matter of 1 week. First time was when the bosses were there the service was good. The pasta and pizza was better than in other places in Koh Samui!
The second time was tonight. No bosses around and the girls that work there were talking to eachother really loud, we had to wait longer than the previous time to order despite almost no other costumers there, we didn't get the complimentary bread and sauce that we got the previous time. We ate our appetizer and the bosses arrived and then the girls gave the complimentary bread to the costumers that came after the bosses arrived and they hurry a lot more than when they where alone. For us this is not good service. The service should be equal despite if the boss is watching you or not!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PutteANDCarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duomo also viewed

 

Been to Duomo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing