We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in Arkbar for 5 nights and had a great time. We booked a junior suite as they seemed like the best room type. The junior suites are in Ark 3, (I didnt realise the 3 hotels were not all in the same place) but Ark 3 definately seemed like the best one.
Our room was lovely with a large bed, sofa and nice balcony. We were pretty close to the bar/pool but this didnt bother us at all. We literally stepped out of our room and onto the beach which is why Ark is probably so popluar. Loads of sunbeds and music all day so the beach is pretty much always lively. The staff at Ark are great too, there are so many people working there that you will never have to wait long for anything! Food was fine, massive range of dishes and a huge drinks menu! We were there for Arks weekly beach party which was a really good night too.
We didnt use the pool but it looked nice, sun loungers always taken up early though, there is another nice pool at the back which was a lot quiter but there was some construction work going on round there.
We stayed here as a couple, and i would stay here again. Good for groups of mates too.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna024London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,056 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at Ark Bar for a few nights whilst travelling round Thailand for a month.

We are both in our twenties and like a bit of a party, so were attracted to the fun, young appeal of this hotel. However, even we were worn out by the constant noise and partying! Ark Bar is in a prime location on the beach and has lots to offer. You need to get out early to get a sunbed and then when sat on the beach you wil be harrassed by local vendors all day!

The actual room is very nice, spacious and clean! With great TV and bathroom facilities. Linen was changed daily and room cleaned. Cannot complain. The balcony overlooked the alleyway which runs through the hotel, so it was nice to sit out and watch the goings on.

The hotel is quite expensive and we are not quite sure if it was worth it. The restaurant for example, served great food, however, we found cheaper alternatives by venturing out a little. The staff however, were all very polite and attentive and catered to our every need. Our booking included breakfast, which unike the other hotels on our trip, included a very decent selection such as fruit, pancakes, then the usual breakfast items - you select five or so. It was lovely to have a degree of choice each morning which was not the routine omelette, bread and bacon combi that we had become accustomed to.

The hotel is in close proximity to the local shops and nightlife and you feel fairly safe when you are staying there.

Can't complain really, all in all, a good stay other than the loud party music all and every night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brow987b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We've just returned from the Ark Bar after staying in the Junior Suites for 15 nights. We asked for a room away from the bar and on the first floor and got it. Yes the music does play until 2 a.m. but to be honest you could'nt really hear it over the air conditioning. We met some lovely people and enjoyed the beach parties, the music and the chilled vibe. Breakfast was good, the food we ate there was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. We are 47 and 57, young at heart and were heartened to see quite a few of our age at a 'young' resort... Well done Ark Bar you just gave my husband his 'best holiday in Thailand yet' and this was our seventh visit.

Room Tip: First floor better as you get more privacy with the foot traffic down to the bar and if you want a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was my 5th stay at ARK Bar 1 and probably my last.

ARK Bar has now become a house hold name within the party scene on Samui, and because of this the place is a constant party. This isn't a bad thing if you've come to Thailand to never see day light, except at sunrise! The Music stops bang on 2am, but if you have had a big night or 2 the nights before then any chance of catching up on sleep is near impossible.

The rooms are good and like anything, you get what you pay for, the staff are awesome and will try there best to help you out, just be patient with them and remember you are in their country and things work differently in Thailand, they aren't stupid because their english might not be as good as yours!

The food at the restaurant is pretty good and averagely priced for Chaweng. Their Panang Curry is probably one of the best that i have had.

Next time i think i will stay somewhere else as there are plenty of other great choices around Samui now, However, I will be back but probably only for the Wednesday or Friday beach party and probably for some of the great Thai Food at the restaurant!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Beach are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shartley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

get party on wednesdays, great food and on the beach. if your staying in the ground floor rooms you can expect lots of traffic 24/7. walking street just steps away, PARTY. They have lots of staff that are always around

Room Tip: pick a room up high and not close to beach and restaurant, noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyBGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 km away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1.7 km away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#33 of 104 in Chaweng
630 reviews
2.4 km away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.8 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,919 reviews
0.2 km away
Montien House
Montien House
#70 of 185 in Bophut
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: ₹ 2,551 - ₹ 8,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing