We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel near Chaweng beach”
Review of The Room Chaweng

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Room Chaweng
Ranked #54 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel looks pretty good from the outside.
Rooms are quite nice and clean (little bit urine stink and sometimes you can see gekon on the wall). Our view from the room was awfull (mess everywhere), but if you are in Chaweng Beach there is no point to sit in the hotel room and gaze from the window.
There is wifi you can buy, but try to connect without pay- we had free wifi on the room which was very nice surprise.
We can´t speak about the reception. In fact, there is no reception in this hotel. We met nice guy there one times, but he knows absolutly nothing! No English, no idea about our booking via internet,..
Location is very good. It´s just few minutes to the beautiful Chaweng beach.
The Room Chaweng is average hotel, but don't forget - you pay ridiculous money for that. What are you waiting for when you pay less than 600 Bath per room?! :)
It´s not for a week holiday, but if you are looking for some low-cost accomodation for a few days I can recomend this place to you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bara_Vyskocilova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

The hotel name says it all " The Room" is all you get , no real reception, restaurant,ammenities,or hotel atmosphere.
Its average price , hidden from the main road and the beach is easily accesable .
Nice sized room , no balcony , the window looks onto a pleasent scenary which is a suprise in a dump like Chaweng so that is a big plus.
Room was modern, bathroom basic , no hot water for the sink which is a bummer if your a bloke and need to shave but there is a kettle in the room.
The day before I left internet was made available in all rooms , which is great as I had to go down to the lobby to go online , the lobby being a space in front of the elevator that had a horrible old sofa to sit down on.
The friendly cleaner came daily and always had a smile , really very clean this place which is worth a lot .
The lady who runs the place is friendly as well and speaks good english.
I booked through Agoda which advertised a beauty salon , dont get me wrong I dont do beauty stuff being a bloke but there was nothing of the sort there ! must get onto Agoda about that !
Check in/ out was easy and quick ,fridge in room and the aircon the best I have ever had ! Can set it so that you can sleep with it on without freezing or sweating , a real big suprise.
Just stay here if you dont care about anything that has anything to do with a hotel , it literlay is just a room
But why stay in Chaweng anyway, was only there 2 days cause i had to , Mae Nam is much much quieter and better

Room Tip: they are all the same ,dont go to Chaweng unless you have to or you are under 25 years of age.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrWho43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The room....Chewang beach....Koh samui

The room in Chewang.......nice rooms...everything you need. Even tho the tap in bathroom dripped all night keeping me awake...but I am a light sleeper.
Wifi only in lobby area.....but reckon if u had a room newer to lobby u could get it no probs.

Staff.  Very nice..friendly and helpfully.
No breakfast included....no complimentary water.

Being on a two month trip of south east Asia....I have learned to book one night for arrival anywhere.
We found an even better room. Arou d the corner for half the price...albeit no fridge but was better and cheaper.

The room hotel was good, but wouldn't stay again...as I know a better room in Chewang.....but would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjcheffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I booked "The Room" Chaweng Beach Koh Samui as the nightly rate was so cheap, the Hotel whilst looking dated provided me with a clean room, the bathroom was very dated although clean, towels and shapoo, shower gel supplied, fridge and TV in room.

The only "BIG" issue was despite being advertised on Agoda & there own website as having "internet in rooms" there is none! There is a computer in the room by reception but this was always locked and reception staff where never available after 10am. On reception they have some colour brochures that also say "WIFI" in all rooms! what happened there then?

Why advertise WIFI if you do not have it?

The big issue for me was that not having in room internet resulted in having to lug my big 20" laptop out to check e-mailm etc in the mornings, I also enjoy being able to download some movies etc to watch in the evenings or if it is raining. I think that having wireless internet is a must have for any Hotel.

Anyway for €15 a night it is worth the money.

5/10 in my opinion.

Room Tip: No internet at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank No7Agency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed there whilst my friend was in hospital. The rooms were cleaned every day and well ventilated. Yes, there is no restaurant, bar or swimming pool but you are right by the sea, so its not a big deal. This is a good standard, no luxuries hotel and worth the mony you pay. You have about a 15 minute walk to all of the bars further up but who cares

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mumrah37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.3 km away
Samui Green Hotel
Samui Green Hotel
#4 of 79 in Chaweng
110 reviews
0.3 km away
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#32 of 68 in Chaweng
81 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Guest House
Holiday Guest House
#80 of 157 in Bophut
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
DD Guest House & Backpacker
0.3 km away
The Loft Samui
The Loft Samui
#53 of 68 in Chaweng
199 reviews
0.2 km away
Tradewinds by Lawana
Tradewinds by Lawana
#18 of 79 in Chaweng
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Room Chaweng? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Room Chaweng

Address: 99/99 Moo.3, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range: ₹ 1,035 - ₹ 17,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Room Chaweng 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Room Chaweng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Room Chaweng Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing