We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,479)
Filter reviews
1,479 results
Traveller rating
892
329
141
63
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
329
141
63
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hillside pool villa barge restaurant rice barge hill side koh samui wedding planner thai restaurant buggy drivers golf buggies our honeymoon buggy service outdoor shower chaweng beach min drive sea view room tuk tuk pool bar
Filter
Updating list...
973 - 978 of 1,479 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I only stayed one night at this resort as when I originally booked I wasn't sure how long I was staying in Samui. When I went to book other nights the resort was fully booked and now I know why. This is by far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The rooms were beautifully presented and beautifully decorated. The food was absolutely delicious & the beach is perfect. The hotel is a few KM from the action of Chaweng Beach however if it was any closer i am sure the beach wouldn't nearly be as nice. The hotel has regular shuttles to and from Cheweng Beach throughout the day. When I next come back to Koh Samui this will definitely be where I will be booking!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madmaddison85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Nora Buri Resort for one week, the food, hotel and room presentation was excellent. Like any holiday it is made pleasureable by the people and service, in this regard we were tajken care of by Ms Tanasorn (sorn ) Front office manager and
Ms. Venice our Asst. food & Beverage manager. I'd highly recomend this resort and look forward to our next journey back to Noar Buri.

Room Tip: Spend a little more money and get a pool villa beachside"seaview"
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanupong, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Apprciation note from the Office of General Manager - Nora Buri resort
Dear Dave E,

Thank you very much for taking the to share your valued review and experience in The Trip advisor ! Our aim is to ensure that the guests have a wonderful memorable and enjoyable stay with us, and are leaving koh samui with unforgetable memories

Also thank you for your kind words to our Front Office manager Khun Tanasorn, and Ms. Venice asst. Food & beverrage manager those people are part of our charming team who look after our clients, We are glad you had such a fantastic time, and are all looking forward to welcoming you back to nora buri again soon

yours sincerely

Chanupong M. Chamni
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The Nora Buri is our first experience of Thai hotels and we werent disappointed. Our holiday was just fantastic. Only a short drive in a private taxi from the airport it was well placed. Its slightly out of the way of the central Chaweng Beach area but close enough to travel to during the evening when you want a bit of night life. Its quiet but not so quiet it has no life in it.

On arrival we were greated with cocktails and sat in a very grand colonial reception area. Our room wasnt quite ready but we were kept informed and later escorted to our room on a golf buggy. We booked a Hillside room and were driven to the very top of the site. The room hadnt been cleaned and wasnt ready for us but we were very pleased as the hostess swiftly transferred us to a much nicer room in the middle of the complex, close to reception, swimming pool etc and with spectacular views. The first of the rooms had no views whatsoever so it was pleasing to gain a sea view.

The whole place was just so quiet and restful and the people so very friendly. Its so well kept and everyone at the hotel is incredibly helpful, right down to the guys directing you across the road to the lower part of the complex. The sea views are spectacular.

The food as with most hotels was buffet style, it was varied and plentiful with something for everyone. There was the opportunity to eat at the hotels Restaurants. We eat at these twice and on both occasions attended specialised nights at a cost to us where we didnt get to sample the off menu food. We realised that you could still attend the specialised nights and not buy in to the specialised menu evening which was quite costly. My advice would be to check out the specialist nights book a table, but eat off menu and not spend a fortune on the very same food you would get in the all inclusive buffet. There were much nicer meals on the menu.

Our room was fantastic, large, clean and well positioned. One minor downside was the bathroom whilst clean, well fitted and large we had full glass on 3 sides of the bath this would have been lovely in a private area but it was right next to the steps to the higher apartments and the blinds where broken. We spent our holiday hanging towels from the windows to preserve our blushes. We had bedside electricity and light controls which were great. There was a well stocked mini bar and plenty of hanging space.

A tip for Kho Samui (not limited to the Nora Buri) is to make sure you have cash on you at all times and come prepared for electricity black outs. We had several whilst at the hotel, the generators could not keep up and there where times when the room was in darkness for hours. Over the day this wasnt too bad but at night this can be a problem as you are unable to charge items or use wifi etc to keep in touch with family. The biggest problem being that when the electricity goes off in Kho Samui the banks close down and you cant pay for anything by card or get cash out to pay for anything! We understand this is a year round problem and not limited to the time we arrived. Its not too problematic though best thing to do is just settle by the pool and eat at the hotel until its passed.

Taxis can be ordered at the desk, but also the local tut tut will draw up outside if you want to hop on and go to town cheaply. If going into town always agree a price for taxi before you ride and not at the other end.

The pool spaces are lovely, the gardens are beatiful and despite being a busy period the pools where never crowded and the swim up bars are great with friendly staff.

We went on an excursions arranged by the hotel and this was great. The round island hopping was a fab day out. We also realised that by hiring a moped we could see the island at our own pace in our own time but it isnt for the faint hearted! If in doubt hire a car. The roads are not too bad but once it rains and gets dark the roads can become dangerous.

We also hired a kayak from the hotel and kayaked around the beach area. The beach area was very dissappointing, i think due to the time of year booking, it was stormy when we arrived and a lot of debris was washed up on the beach. We are sure however that out of rainy season it would be cleaner. It wasnt the beautiful wide white sandy beach we were expecting. There are some great beaches across the island to visit.

We had a fantastic time and would definately return to Nora Buri. The Thai people are so gracious and really looked after us, not by being in your face all the time but by keeping out of your way until you need something. Tourism is very important to Kho Samui and the Thai people are keen for you to experience the very best that Kho Samui has to offer.

For a fantastic eating experience try Twisted Thai, it was out of this world.

For a real thai food experience travel to talling gnam and visit the small food experience 'lunch and dining on the beach sunset' the setting and the food are out of this world and a sunset to die for.

The general make up of nationalities during our stay was asian, australian and some english/european.

Room Tip: The whole site is on a slope. There are however golf trolleys to take you to your room if you struggle with mobility. I would personally avoid the rooms at the very back as the views where limited. If Hillside choose middle of the complex. Next time I will opt for the beachside rooms which had their own pools in most cases and looked amazing.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonYendells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanupong, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Apprciation note from the office of General manager - Nora Buri resort and spa KOh Samui

Dear Devon,

Greetings from the Sunny Island of Koh Samui and Nora Buri Resort and Spa ! for which we would like to thank you and I hope that in the meantime you reached home safely.!!

Thank you very much for your taking your time to give us a wonderful feedback and excellent review in Trip advisor and glad to know you were very much happy with our service provided at The Nora Buri Resort

It is only by having this kind of information that the world wide travellers can make use of it and could be more understanding in details about us and koh samui.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind compliments to the entire team

Mr Davon, It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Koh Samui -Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you and Carole back to Nora Buri Resort again soon.

Again , please accept our sincere appreciaction of your support and generousity

Yours sincerely ,

Chanupong M. Chamni
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We web to a wedding here and the staff were fantastic. We had welcoming towels on arrival as well as cocktails. We had buggys to our room which was great as the rooms were all uphill. The resort was close to town but not walking distance which was ok. The only bad thing was the buggys operating in the rain. Weren't very safe. All in all the resort was amazing and the wedding was beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mellie860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanupong, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Appreciation Noted from the Office of general manager - Nora Buri Resort koh Samui .

Dear Mellie860,

Greetings from the Sunny Island of Koh Samui ! for which I would like to thank you for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor review and I hope that in the meantime you had reached home safely.!!!

We are most delighted to learn that you were veru much impressed with our services and facilities at Nora Buri Resort & Spa Koh Samui


Thank you very much for your compliment to our staff and other facilities As mentioned the resort is just 5 minutes away from Chaweng City with free shulle service 5 time a day therefore, the hilight of the resort is the private - prime location for a real place for holidays relaxing,, Breakfast is the most hilight thing that you can find in the resort every Morning , we considered that it is an importance meal for our clients where vareity is nearly a hundred items with freesh & hot homemade Bread & Bakery daily from 06.30 -10.30 hrs


We shall look forward to welcoming you back as GM's returning Guests soon

with my personal best regards,

Chanupong M. Chamni
General Manager
Nora Buri Resort
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at the Nora Buri Resort during the past week in a pool villa hillside seaview room. The property is in a great location close to town (15mins car ride) from Chaweng (nightlife/shopping) but is nestled hillside in a private, secluded location with breathtaking views over the sea. It is suited to both couples and families alike. The resort is large and beautifully landscaped with an amazing dual level infinity pool on the top level and a large child-friendly pool closer to the beach. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful and do their best to accommodate your request even if there is a language barrier. The property is very grand and beautifully designed, offering guests plenty of choice.

We arrived at 10.30am and were told to sit and wait in the lobby (on arrival we were offered 1 refreshing fruit drink). After waiting 1hr (by this stage we were hot and tired and had no further communication from reception staff which was disappointing), I checked in with reception to see if our room was ready and the female receptionist appeared annoyed and said check-in is normally at 2pm. By 12o'clock (a 90min wait) the male receptionist had organised our room and we were on our way.

Pool Villa Hillside Seaview: On arrival we were delighted to see the room looked just like the pictures on their website. It was spacious, clean and well appointed. It had both an indoor and outdoor shower, large bath, king-size bed, coffee machine, flat screen TV, day bed and deck chairs by our private pool; we had an amazing view of the sea and surrounds from our room and best of all we really felt like we were in our own private tropical paradise, not some large resort. The free WI-FI access was great and reliable.

Want went well -
- Concierge staff and porters/buggy drivers very attentive and polite; our room was located at the top of a steep hill, so a buggy ride was ideal after a long day. They also offered to drive us to two nearby properties that we attended. Some of the golf cart drivers are budding F1 enthusiasts; who feel the need for speed, so hang on tight it can be a scary rollercoaster ride!!
- Anodas Spa (on-site) is amazing, staff very helpful and attentive and treatments were outstanding (especially by Lee). There was a 20%-30% discount offered depending on the treatment you selected.
- The thai a-La -Carte dinner we had on the 3rd floor of The Barge restaurant was cooked beautifully, large serves and was very affordable. The staff were also nice and friendly.
- Breakfast buffet was plentiful offering a variety of foods catering to all nationalities and the food was always fresh and delicious.
-In2Fitness Gym is really well located near the pool, so great outlook. Cardio equipment is first class, free weights available, free steam room and spacious, air conditioned area to work out.
-The 2 swim-up pool bars were a great refuge after a long, hot day, the bar staff were very knowledgeable, an amazing selection of cocktails and drinks that were very tasty.
-The beds in the room were very comfortable, with great big pillows, making for a good night sleep!

Room for improvement-
-We got a bit of a shock when we woke on Day 2 because our private swimming pool had emptied itself overnight! An engineer attended promptly and a leaking valve was fixed (although the language barrier made it difficult to understand when the pool would be refilled); pool had refilled some 6hours later (and unfortunately was heavily chlorinated, making swimming unpleasant for a day or two). The spa motor in the pool then died and that took a couple of days to fix (not a deal breaker) but when you're paying a lot of money for a room, these problems shouldn't occur, or at least some alternatives should be explored by management).
- Unfortunately, we were not told about (or invited to) the management cocktail party on the day we arrived (this party is held weekly for all new guests to the hotel and is a great opportunity to meet other people) we only found out about it the night before we were leaving because I had seen an invitation given to another guest;
-There is no communication from Guest Services (reception) to guests about activities that are regularly held each week e.g. Zumba classes, aqua dance classes etc.; I only found out about these the night before we were leaving (very disappointing!!) A daily sign board in the lobby would be helpful.
-On one occasion our bed linen was changed but the replacement sheets had several holes in them, it was evident that the sheet was well worn because it had also been sewn up in a couple of places. Not what you would expect from a 5-star resort! This was quickly rectified by housekeeping.
-The staff at the pool bar cafe (upper level) don't ask you if you would like something to eat or drink, they simply wait until you go to them or wave and try and get their attention. It would be great, if they took the initiative to wander around and ask the guests if they would like to order something or look at a menu.
-We love the look of this resort, but hope that they continue to maintain the villas throughout, so they do not become tired looking, e.g. timber needing painting, light bulbs being replaced in rooms and outdoors around pool etc.
-You are allocated two beach towels in your room to take to the main swimming pools; but oddly there are no beach towels available at the pool. Not a deal breaker, but this can be inconvenient if you are at the restaurant and decide to go for a swim and don't want to go back to your room just to get your towel!
-As we were handing in our keycards on check-out, the male receptionist had nothing to say other than giving us a bill for a drink consumed from our mini-bar (50baht) which we happily paid; but it was disappointing that there was no other communication e.g. "have a nice trip" or any other nice pleasantries from the reception staff.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we had a good experience but I could not give it 5-stars. It fell short of the 5-STAR rating because I felt service could be improved in some areas; especially communication from the reception staff. Despite the few problems we experienced, I would still recommend staying at this property for your next holiday. Thank you!

Room Tip: Pool villa Hillside seaview rooms have the best views; but if you're not fond of walking up steep hills, choose the beachfront poolside villa or beachside pool villa instead because they are closer to ground level and still offer the same amazing amenities.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanupong, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you note from the Office of General manager -Nora Buri Resort Koh Samui .

Dear Charmaine from Perth, Australia,

Thank you very much for your time in giving us such a wonderful review which we are very much appreciated the details of your comments and it is definitely ussfull to all world wide travellers

on behalf of staff and management team of Nora Buri Resort and spa we would like to take this opprotunity to extend our sincere appreciation for your comments and great review .it is only by having this kind of value comments and feedback from the clients like you , we are able to continue to improve and maintain our standard and quality of service

Once gain, thank you for your kind support we shall look forward to welcoming you and friends at Nora Buri resort again soon , we remain.

yours sinserely,

Chnaupong M. Chamni
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews