We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely appalling” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Forest Hills Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Absolutely appalling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2008

We were in the area visiting some friends and needed an overnight stay. When we checked into our room, it was tired, dated early 80s decor. The curtains sagging, the carpet thin and dark in patches, the bathroom old with grimy grouting. Lights had bulbs missing, the furniture was battered, the bed the most uncomfortable I have slept on in western Europe. Oh, and polycotton sheets! We visited the swimming pool - it was probably pleasant at some point when Margaret Thatcher was still in power... Dirty, messy, hair in the plugholes and on the floor in the changing rooms - what I would expect in a dodgy public swimming pool. We were woken at 8am on a Sunday by workmen fitting carpets in the next room, hammering nails. After 15 minutes I phoned reception to ask them to stop, and was met with surprise. The noise stopped shortly after... for a while. We checked out at 9.30am and when I enquired what was going on, we were told that the carpets were being replaced. About time too, I thought. But where was the customer service? Why was I not informed of the possibliity of being woken by workmen early on a Sunday when I checked in? Where was my discount for staying in what was a substandard room requiring refurbishment. They did give me 50% discount in the end. I get to stay in 5* hotels for work, and all sorts of places when I'm paying myself. I've shared rooms with all sorts of wildlife, but it's a pretty poor story if there's a UK hotel I wouldn't return to...

  • Liked — It's set in beautiful Cheshire countryside
  • Disliked — Everything - and I'm rarely this critical
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    243
    93
    36
    21
See reviews for
200
227
20
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldridge, Walsall West Midlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2007

This are our second stay at Forest Hills and again we were not disappointed. We stayed fir a weekend and we could not have had better service. All the staff were very pleasant, helpful; and anxious to ensure we had a good stay. We did not use the leisure faculities which appeared to be very good. It is ideally situated to visit the surrounding area in particular Chester. THere is an hourly rail connextion between Frodsham and Chester. Returning to the hotel the rooms are clean ,spacious and very com fortable if not a little warm. The Quality of food in the restaurant was good with a good choice of menu. THe breakfast was buffet style with a good selection. Bar prices wqere reasonable.

  • Liked — Good Service and amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

Went to the Forest Hills Hotel in Frodsham on the 11th November for one night. Had a really great time with my girlfriend. On arrival staff were friendly, helpful and asked whether we require morning papers and wake up calls. Rooms were spacious and very clean, Had great views over the Mersey and had sky sports so i could catch up on the footie while the missus was in the shower.
Food was out of this world!!!!!! I can still taste it 3 days later, Highly recommend the steak and the pork madalions! Yummy!
Food was a good price considering it tasted so great. Drinks at the bar were reasonable.
Lesiure club looked excellent altho we didnt have enough time, altho next time i will use it.
Location was nicely outta the way of busy cities and only a few pound taxi if u wanted a drink in the town centre.
Highly recommend "Bears Paw" Pub in the main street. Excellent food in there at a great price.
Overall i can say i defo will be goin back there!!! 10/10

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Central heating could do with a higher temperature in winter!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank paul5066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

Our room was spacious but the furnishings were tired & dated.
The hotel advertises its "fine dining" but our evening meal was very average. It was certainly not fine dining.

Most of the staff were aged about 20 and seemed to have no idea what they were doing. They were friendly but useless.We waited 20 mins at breakfast for tea and 25 mins for toast.There were only 6 other diners in the restaurant at the time!

The leisure club facilities were fine.

We took our 4 year old son with us and were disappointed that the only place for him to have his evening meal was the poolside bar. The food was greasy, poor and unappetising.

Will not be staying there again!

  • Liked — pool and gym
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2007

To keep this short

This is the hotel of choice when I'm in this part of the world - I've been probably a dozen times. The Holiday Inn at Runcorn really is in a much lower class.

Theres a good leisure club, good bedrooms (though duvets would be nice -still sheets and blankets), good showers and an excellent, really I mean excellent restaurant both for dinner and breakfast. Being quite elevated there are some good vistas.

Service is also excellent with none of the 'I only work here' attitude you sometimes encounter with the big chains - staff are genuinlely pleased to be of assistance.

Stay here!

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mal_Royston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.9 km away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
4.9 km away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
23.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
8.9 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest Hills Hotel

Property: Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Address: Overton Hill, Frodsham WA6 6HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,570 - ₹ 8,732
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Forest Hills Hotels a modern 3 Star Hotel.Situated just off the M56 yet set amidst beautiful Cheshire countryside.The panoramic views across the Cheshire Plains and the Mersey Estuary instantly tells you that the Best Western Forest Hills is something different.Set amongst quiet woodland,away from the hustle and bustle of the city,for a perfect nights sleep,yet just minutes away from the M56 which opens up the delights of Cheshire and North Wales and just a 20 minute drive from Chester.A perfect base for exploring the countryside,with the sandstone Trail on the doorstep.Ideal for families and Leisure Breaks.Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village for shopping and fun for the family at Chester Zoo,Blue Planet Aquarium and Gullivers World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Forest Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing