We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Competa, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Andrew W
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday. The Villa was perfectly described and very clean. Its a little off the beaten track so you do have to drive everywhere but this does give you seclusion. the pool was a great addition to our holiday and there is an expansive terrace ensuring all day sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Liked least: Not being able to walk anywhere but we new this before we arrived
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith T
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well equipped villa with gorgeous pool in very rural setting”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had some discussion with Luc before booking as one of our party had been unwell and we were keen to have effective air conditioning in the bedrooms. He was extremely helpful with his responses with prompt and friendly communication. The arrival instructions were comprehensive and we met as agreed with House Martins. This was very necessary as they guided us into the villa - it would have been difficult to locate if we did not follow them in. The roads are definitely not for the faint hearted! The villa was a joy, exactly as described and was probably better than we anticipated - well equipped and a real home from home. The pool was probably the highlight and was very well maintained with an outside shower. We even had our own lemon tree, the limes were not quite ripe. The only minor negative is that the villa is a little bit further from the town than we thought - some people may be able to walk to it but we definitely didn't fancy trying! In summary, one of the best villas we have used and we would definitely like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas D
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed at many villas in Europe over the years, I inevitably comment to my other half, what I would do to the property to improve it, if I were the owner.
In the case of Casa Requena, it was impossible to comment adversely in any way.
Clean, Well-equiped, Homely, Excellent pool, Good A/C (not needed much despite temperatures in the mid-thirty's), plus a great TV and sound system.
We intended to make use of the BBQ but didn't due to the abundance of excellent excellent restaurants within easy reach of the villa (all very reasonably priced).
The track from the main road to the villa was fun (especially in the dark) and I now see myself as the next budding Scandinavian rally driver. Seriously though - we didn't experience any problems.
Competa is an exceptionally nice town and when lit-up at night can produce a great photograph, if taken from the road above the town.
We had visited Nerja a few years ago, so went to have another look. We came away a little disappointed due to the expansion in tourism there. Even so, the caves should not be missed and we did achieve yet another excellent evening meal.
In our mind, the best beach and beach facilities in the area is to be found at Puerto Caleta de Velez (just a couple of kilometres west along the coast road from Nerja, and if I told you what we ate and drank on one particular night at the 'Eclipse' restaurant for about forty quid (three of us), you would have trouble believing me.
Thanks is due to Christine & Malcolm from HouseMartins, and to Owner 'Luc' for providing the quality accommodation.
As a final word of caution for those renting a car at the airport. Hertz are currently charging in excess of 40 Euros in Airport charges. I am unsure if other operators charge the same.
Best wishes to all future visitors
From
Caroline, Doug & Jessica Dewey

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelbur...
1 review
“A blissful Spanish retreat to unwind.”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from a lovely relaxing break. The villa exceeded my expectations there was everything you could possibly need and more. Spotlessly clean, cool and comfortable all mod cons and tastefully decorated. Loved the pool size the children were in their element. Beautiful views of the mountains very peaceful all you can hear are the birds songs. If you want to escape the rat race this is the place to do it. It's still driving distance to the beaches. We really enjoyed Competa some great restaurants and relaxed atmosphere.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J
Llandovery, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very peaceful, lovely setting...”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in September 2013

This was the first time we visited, but it certainly won't be the last time...

We were happily surprised on arrival: lovely house and pool, very clean. The whole house is on one level, so easily accessible and child-friendly.
The house is surrounded by a large patio area, so plenty of run- and play-space. Dishwasher and washing machine present, which is always nice when traveling with young children :-)

The house is very spacious, airconditioned and well equipped.
We had use of a highchair, cot and inflattable paddling pool for the little one. We set the paddling pool up under the large umbrella, and the little man had fun the rest of the week!

We enjoyed a lovely and peaceful holiday. The house is set in a rural area, which means the track towards it is a bit bumpy (but easily driveable), but it also means that the views are magnificent and you just want to spend every moment of the day enjoying them (wine in hand).
The house and pool are well maintained, the pool was cleaned professionally twice during our holiday.

All in all, we loved our week there, and will surely try to return soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing