We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection! ”
Review of The Haughmond

The Haughmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 46
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award winning bar & restaurant, rooms and village store complete this modern coaching inn. Serving great food of local provenance with passion, whilst also offering an interesting wine list, specialist gin menu and great real ales. 7 course 'Tastes of The Haughmond' menu is available alongside a seasonal A La Carte menu, Tuesday to Saturday lunch and dinner. (Please note no food served on Mondays) On Friday and Saturdays from 3pm we serve Afternoon Tea and on Sundays its just a great lunch served 12 til 5pm! Located just off Shrewsbury's beaten track in the village of Upton Magna. A visit is a must! Booking strongly recommended...
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We celebrated here on the 5th April in the private dining room following a small, family wedding. The whole stay was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was absolutely delicious, the rooms all so comfortable and spotlessly clean. The whole venue has a simply lovely, warm and welcoming atmosphere. We can’t wait to come back!

Thank Laurafoody1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We weren't able to get a booking at first, but we left our contact details and gladly took the booking when they called us.

The taster menu was absolutely delicious - a great selection of courses and flavours, as well as being very filling (just the right amount). Very friendly staff that understood the food they were serving too. Pub atmosphere was comfortable and relaxing.

Would certainly return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My friend and I had a meal here at lunchtime today. We had never been here before but came to see Zoe Ball finish her cycle ride here a couple of weeks ago and thought it looked a nice place to eat. We were both celebrating our birthdays so we were hopeful that it would be somewhere nice to come. Well we were not disappointed and could not fault anything. The food was absolutely delicious and the staff were so friendly and attentive. We will definitely be returning and will be recommending this place to our friends.

1  Thank AlisonK147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived at 2pm to be told they were no longer serving food, despite saying 3pm on their website. The staff gave a nonsensical explanation of being fully booked whilst also having free tables. The real insult was seeing another table who hadn’t booked but seemed friendly with the owners be given a table upon request. Extremely unprofessional staff.

6  Thank wa247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie B, Owner at The Haughmond, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear wa247 aka Mr Angry - as advised we were fully booked on Good Friday at lunchtime - we had already exceeded our covers for lunch and had further bookings arriving. Your party of 5 people could not be accommodated. The two which came in after you (which you waited at the door to see if they were served), were also not served, they stayed and had a drink and booked for a further date.... They did not however start shouting at my staff, stamping their feet, or slate our business from the car park on trip adviser because they couldn't get their own way. I (the owner) was actually in Shrewsbury having lunch with my family - I had not booked anywhere either and couldn't get in to our first two choices, because they were very busy and fully booked - I certainly did not try to discriminate their business by slating them with a one out of five TA because they couldn't fit us in especially when i hadn't bothered to phone in advance to check they would have a table for me....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The only place to eat for a special occasion. Attentive service. Incredible food. It challenged my taste buds and enthralled my senses!

1  Thank Lousqueeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Haughmond also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Haughmond? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing