We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol La Palma Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Naos
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Having read the previous review I was a bit worried about how our holiday was going to turn out. But in fact my family and I had a really enjoyable time .

We were traveling with two children so the quietness of Puerto naos suited us perfectly. Not that I am sure we did'nt disturb a few sunset watchers ourselves with our teething little boy !

I do agree with the last reviewer about a few things like the twinbeds and the sofa bed being too high.But having stayed in los Cristianos in Tenerfife , and los Concajos the previous week It was heaven !

The staff were fine but even though we stayed for a week and went half board( so they saw us twice a day) only once did they help us get a high chair. Each time having to go looking for one even though we were the only ones using it as it was mainly couples.
The food was good but repetitive and really did'nt want anymore after 4 days. Pork or "fish" everyday.
One thing I did find extremely annoying was the access from the apartments to the beach which were steep steps with water running down them which I just dont understand. Never mind me with the buggy and baby and my shopping, it was the elderly holidaymakers I felt sorry for!!!!
Puerto Naos beach is lovely . The water even for november was perfect. The hotel had a heated pool which my daughter lived in on the days where the sea was too rough for her.
Overall a very enjoyable stay in a beautiful spot

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niamh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    357
    218
    97
    48
See reviews for
199
464
73
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

This was a difficult review. You have to decide what is important when you stay at a hotel and make a decision. For me, this hotel had two unacceptable problems which I listed last.

We stayed in the apartment section. I'm not sure about the condition of the rooms in the hotel section.

Great.....

- The geographical location. It’s off the beaten path but still near the larger city up the coast. Lots of nice restaurants within a short drive.

- The price might be considered great but it is really in line with the condition of the hotel and the facilities

- Nice pool. Plenty of lounge chairs.


Good......

- The rooms are large and empty. You won't be crowded!

- The exterior is maintained fairly well. There are lots of flower pots on the hotel balconies that could use some new plants.

- Despite the wear and tear on the rooms, they are clean.

- Breakfast was ok and inexpensive.

- The staff do their job. No complaints. Nothing extraordinary either.


Not so good......

Bare bones environment. My idea of camping but not a hotel. The apartments are sort of like a not so nice Motel 6 with a microwave, small cooktop, and fridge.

The place is in need of a serious remodel. It is way past its prime. Many things are worn out. The faucet in the kitchenette was attached to a wooden counter that has probably rotted given the way it moved around and the mound of sealant used to hold it in place.

- There is no concept of a full / king size bed. You get two twin beds in the bedroom and they are pushed together (and slide apart!)

- The living room becomes another bedroom if you have 4 people. It's not a typical sofa bed. They setup beds that are not put away during the day. So no sofa unless you want to disassemble and move a bed. . Even worse is the beds are very different in height. One was close to a foot higher than the other and they are placed side to side so small person to the top, large to the bottom if you roll in your sleep.

- The single TV in the living area is an old picture tube model and small. This doesn't cut it in today’s widescreen broadcast format. The remote did not work either.

- The apartment has a separate bedroom but no TV in the bedroom. In fact, there is almost nothing in the bedroom. No radio. No clock.

- The is no daily linen service. You reuse your towels. I’m not sure how often they replace them. Not a problem for me but you have to give me a place to hang them so they dry. There is none. There was one towel rack on the vanity for the hand towel and one hook for something but not enough for 4 large towels to dry. No outside rack. No inside rack or line to hang wet bathing suits.

- No shampoo or other amenities other than a small bar of soap. Lucky I brought some along.

- Of course there is nothing as exotic as a iron and ironing board in the room. Not sure if you can request one.

- Most of our view was of the hotel rooms in the building on the other side.

- No privacy on the balcony from your neighbors on each side.

- No lounge chairs on the patio. Just a plastic table and 4 cheap plastic chairs.


Unacceptable......

- Parking. There are more rooms than parking spaces. You might have to park along the shoulder of the highway in the dirt and walk in. This is simply not acceptable. This area is very isolated. You need a car. Therefore you need a place to park it.

- Windows and room security are a major problem. This area is apparently safe but I don’t like sleeping with the windows open where somebody can easily enter. We had things stolen once in a hotel so I take no chances. The apartments have outside hallways. The door locks and wooden frames are no challenge even for an amateur. The bedroom windows are on the external hallway. There are no screens, bars, or security at all. No locks to allow even a partial opening. If he window is open, anybody can crawl through from the hallway without making a sound. On the other side, the balcony is easily accessible for a person with minor climbing skills from other rooms. You can’t leave the balcony sliding door open. No A/C. No ceiling fans. Not cool, no pun intended. So we slept with the windows and doors closed at night. For this reason alone I’ll never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank garywcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Naos hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

This hotel can be hardly considered as a 4* hotel. The building needs renovation, the rooms as well. Food in the restaurant was repetitive and, sorry to say it, not really fresh. Dishes were often not washed properly. Pool which should be heated was not (explanation was that it is too cold outside!). Evening "culture" programme was more poor and funny than entertaining. Location - no wonder as well. To sum up - this hotel really is not recommended for travellers who expect good 4* standard.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kytka111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

We stayed at the Sol La Palma hotel in March 2011. Initial impressions were good... we booked the hotel and a transfer through the Sol Melia website. The transfer was punctual, and on arrival our room was ready as booked.

The entrance and public area give a great first impression....clean, light and airy. There's a coin operated internet station, but 2 of the 4 terminals were broken for the duration of our stay.

We'd booked a superior queen room with a corner sea view and huge balcony. The room came with a fridge, TV with standard european channels (and the wrong remote), and a decent selection of bath products to start with, although these were never replaced (4 tissues isn't enough for 2 people for 2 weeks in my humble opinion !). Extra pillows turned up as soon as we requested them. The bedroom and bathroom were both in need of a bit of attention...tatty paintwork, torn bed and chair coverings etc.

Breakfast was included in our package (most other guests seemed to be All Inclusive), and initially looked very impressive, with a full range of hot (we'll come back to that description later !) and cold options, breads, cereals, fruit etc. Unfortunately once we sampled a few of the 'hot' offerings it appeared that they'd been left out for quite some time and were warm at best. Have you tried cold Churos ? NOT recommended !! The breads, cheese and cold meats were fine, but got a bit dull after 2 weeks.

The breakfast room / restaurant had a nice balcony, but many of the chairs were spattered with bird droppings, and never got cleaned in the time that we were there.

There are 2 pools - we used the one that was described as 'heated', although that obviously lost something in translation ! There were plenty of sunbeds, but they were all in need of re-covering, and many of them were broken. The pool bar opens about 12:00 for a couple of hours.

The rest of the guests seemed to be middle aged Germans who spent their days hiking the surrounding hills, leaving the pool nice and quiet for 2 lazy Brits !!!

The resort of Puerto Naos is a 2 minute stroll away along the promenade. Although it's a small resort it has a selection of bars, restaurants, tourist shops and supermarkets. Our favourite restaurants were Mambo (good paella and fresh fish), Il Forno (best pizza in town), and Don Quijote, who don't have an english menu, but managed to turn out some fabulous tapas with a bit of waving and pointing !!!

Overall we enjoyed our stay, and the weather in March was a lovely, mainly sunny, 20-22 degrees.

The hotel seems to have the makings of a nice 4* hotel, but with staff and maintenance policies which seem to be determined to make it into a very average 3* one.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheenaandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

We chose the Sol La Palma for its location on the sunnier west side of La Palma and in a good location for exploring the marvellous scenery of the island. We were not disappointed. The hotel is set among banana plantations overlooking the small pleasant resort of Puerto Naos. It's a large hotel with probably over 200 rooms, though I estimate that only a third were occupied during our stay in February. Our bedroom was a reasonable size with comfortable beds and plenty of wardrobe space. We had a small balcony with a view through palm trees looking south along the coastline and this was a definite bonus as we had not specified a sea view. The staff were helpful and efficient and able to deal confidently with enquiries in English which was probably an infrequent experience for them as the great majority of guests were German or Dutch. Catering was on a buffet basis and offered a huge variety of choice of hot and cold dishes at breakfast and evenings, there was certainly something for all tastes. The range and cost of drinks were what you would expect for a four star hotel. The swimming pool and sun lounger area are spectacularly located on the top of a low cliff overlooking the sea and the resort. We enjoyed brilliant sunsets most evenings. If you get bored with the pool, the hotel is adjacent to the small beach of Puerto Naos and there is a pleasant promenade with the usual mix of bars , restaurants and tourist shops. It is a small resort with no great night life so if you enjoy clubbing, this is not the place for you. The hotel runs entertainment each evening with cabaret acts, and yes, Spanish Elvis is still strutting his stuff with a kiss for all the ladies and a handshake for the men. On the evenings with no cabaret, a two piece group played and some guests enjoyed dancing to their music. Perhaps the Sol La Palma's USP is its own observatory in the complex. Twice a week guests had the chance to view stars and planets through a telescope with an informative and helpful commentary from a member of the entertainments team whose hobby is astronomy. La Palma is famous for its group of observatories in the mountains and its light pollution controls and this was a fascinating insight. Gripes? Only minor ones really: A kettle was provided in the room, but cups and saucers were only provided if requested and tea/coffee and milk were not, which we then had to buy from the supermarket in the complex. This seems a rather mean attitude for a four star hotel. The space available for car parking in the hotel forecourt and approach road just about coped with demand in February so I suspect there may be problems in peak season. There is some waste ground between the hotel and resort centre which may be a solution, but its a long drive round from the hotel forecourt. Finally, the computers available for internet access by guests were out of order for six of our seven days there. As we were there to get away from it all, that wasn't a problem for us.
Puerto Naos is located on the west coast and enjoyed sunshine every day we were there, unlike the other side of the island. The town of Los Llanos, the Caldera Taburiente and the volcanoes at the south of the island are all within easy reach, and Santa Cruz and the Airport are a comfortable 50 minutes drive. All in all, we couldn't have asked for a better location to explore La Palma. With a 50% discount for booking in January it was great value too. We would certainly come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark_and_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Naos
9.5 km away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 7 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,986 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
16.5 km away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
16.2 km away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#1 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.8 km away
Las Norias
Las Norias
#2 of 9 in Tazacorte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol La Palma Hotel

Property: Sol La Palma Hotel
Address: Puerto Naos s/n | La Palma, 38769 Puerto Naos, La Palma, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Puerto Naos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Naos
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,107 - ₹ 8,735
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set overlooking the tranquil Puerto Naos beach, this 4-star hotel complex is located in a small town on the sunny west coast of the island of La Palma. Sol La Palma has several swimming pools, a gym, tennis court, children's playground and professional star-gazing facilities. There is also an activities programme and a wellness center. The local area is ideal for outdoor activity enthusiasts. You can rent bikes, do paragliding or go scuba diving just opposite the hotel. Sol La Palma is located 8 km from Los Llanos de Aridane and 35 km from the airport and Santa Cruz de la Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Sol La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Puerto Naos
Puerto Naos Sol Melia
Sol La Palma Hotel Puerto Naos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing