We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
70
81
34
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
81
34
16
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2017

All previous observations about this hotel, both positive and negative, on this site, are valid but really it's a ski hotel doing deals and it's fine for that purpose if you manage your stay!
Due to a misunderstanding we were moved into a room in the front from our actual booked back room when we arrived, Having read the reviews here I had checked my room on arrival. I said. I do not want to be at the front. But got put in the front!
Noisy does not describe it! AVOID THE FRONT!!
So the next morning I was in reception and we got moved to a VERY QUIET VERY DARK comfortable room at the back which was WONDERFUL. THANK YOU Elena on reception for sorting that!
The room was very clean and the maid was very efficient. She made the bed and sorted the room every day when we were at breakfast which always felt as if the Brownies had been in and magically sorted everything out.
Some of our group were in rooms at the front with balconies and they seemed quite satisfied with them so I may just be very sensitive to noise.

The waiters in the restaurant were so obliging. I missed the name of the blonde lady with the pony tail but she was attentive and caring and took great care of us. Trying to get our large group of independent people to adhere to the rules was impossible. I tried to explain to her the concept of the impossibility of herding cats and said that the likelihood of the group complying was less likely than herding cats, but I don't think she understood. She got very worried about the fact that there was no way we were going to play by the rules! VERY WEIRD dining rule was that you had to select the starter and main meal for the following night as you came down to eat. Well that was never going to happen so the system was undemined on a nightly basis! No one could remember. We changed positions and tables. Sometimes some people wanted to eat out. Etc Etc. Poor waitress. She got really anxious that the meals were wrong but for us it just added to the hilarity!
The meals were copious and arrived plated and so a lot of food was left. You can help yourself to salad and dessert. You do not have to order a starter and main course. They are obvioulsy trying to cut down waste but a lot of food was going uneaten.

Serve yourself breakfast was fine and the choice was like many other hotels I have stayed in.

The boot room was OK. I do not know why there are complaints about it. It was a normal boot room and very handy for the bus which stopped right outside when you came back. Very handy!! And also for catching the bus in the morning.

On the last day we were allowed to help ourselves to hot drinks from the restaurant and were given a packed breakfast/lunch by the obliging night porter. A great improvement on our experience in Spain last year on the last day of our ski holiday when coffee was promised but never delivered.

I investigated the spa room but did not use it. Others were happy with it. I would have liked the jacuzzi to have been a little more tucked away and less in a corner of a big room!

We used the bar. Valentina was a laugh. If they knew you were going to need serving they manned the bar all the time you were there.

On the last evening we went down the road to the sister hotel to a Brazilian evening. It was a version of the Tropicana in Havana on a very small scale!! Worth it for the experience. Once! We just paid 9 euros for the short taxi ride otherwise it was all
inclusive.

Great that the airport bus delivers and collects you direct from the hotel so you wait inside in the warm.

Room tip: The back on floors 2 or 3.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynis98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Excellent location - walk in skiboots to the cable car. Very helpful service - both Suzanna at the Reception:) but also the waiting staff. We were difficult guests because of strict diets but they were very very helpful to make us happy. Internet is a bit of an issueas you have to buy either 2 hr slot or 10 hr slot and the connection is patchy. With time you get to understand that it is the location that makes it so difficult.

Room tip: not on the main street side, also room 216 is much smaller that the others
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malgorzata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Two of us stayed at the Grohmann for 4 nights in February. It was pleasant enough without being spectacular. The location was a good compromise, being on the main road, 2-3 minutes walk into town, and 5-6 minutes walk to the cable car. There was plenty of parking to the front and rear of the hotel. We didn't use the ski room, as it seemed a bit awkwardly sited, through and outside the indoor garage. Instead we kept skis and boots in the rental shop under the cable car. Although a bit dull, the rooms were clean, quiet and reasonably spacious, and the bed was comfortable. There was a large lounge downstairs which was well utilized as a family mixing area. The breakfast was fairly standard, and we ate out for dinner. The front desk was very helpful with any queries we had.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RoCo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The staff was very friendly to me (Suzanna at reception is an angel) !
The hotel has a great location, as we were able to reach the Gondola within a two minute walk, and Campitello is a cute village. Well priced and recommended.

Room tip: All of the rooms were quiet
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethan288888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We spent two weeks in the Grohmann from February 20 to March 5 on a snowboarding holiday. We've been in Campitello before and we preferred our stay here. The hotel is warm, the rooms very clean (a complete change of all the towels every day), and very importantly the showers are hot. Our room had a good-sized balcony, so if you don't mind the cold (we were there in the Winter after all!), its a great place to relax. I think all the rooms have a similar balcony but maybe the top floor ones don't. The rooms are really hot at night so you might need to leave a window open. If you have a room at the front that can mean road noise, or the over-exuberant church bells waking you up! The bells chime every half hour and at 6am give a minute long wake up call. The food is fine, not fine dining, but in the main tasty and plenty of it. The breakfast bar has a good selection of cereal, cold meats, bread, croissants, tea, coffee, fruit juice, etc, and in the evening a 4 course meal includes a salad bar with good choice, and a selection of puddings. The menu is different each day for 7 days, then repeats the next week, so if you stay more than one week you will become familiar with the dishes. The dining room staff are very efficient and friendly.

The bar can be difficult to get a drink from as there isn't a full-time bar-person, either the dining room staff have to be flagged down (and they are really busy during dinner service), or a call to reception is required.

The biggest "issue" was the boot room not being heated. It meant wet boots on a few days after surfing powder off-piste, so we started taking our boots up into the room to dry them off.

All said and done a good hotel for a ski trip. Warm, clean, good food, and hot showers. Its very close to the Col Rodella gondola so only a 3 minute walk in the morning. I would certainly go back.

Room tip: The best views are front-facing looking at the Dolomites, but they're on the road so noise can be an issue with an open window.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews