We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Borthwen Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Borthwen Holiday Cottage
This pup loves the fact we're Pet Friendly! Comfortable Lounge with Coal Effect stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Borthwen Holiday Cottage
This pup loves the fact we're Pet Friendly!
Comfortable Lounge with Coal Effect stove
Comfortable seating for 5.
Spacious Dining Room
Fantastic Bathroom with Separate Shower Cubicle
Fantasticly powerful Shower!
Large Double Bedroom.
Sunny, Secluded Courtyard Garden.
Borthwen is located in a nice quiet side street close to the shops.
Borthwen is a stone built Miner's cottage built circa 1865.
Blaenau Ffestiniog High Street
Leaving Blaenau Ffestiniog for Porthmadoc
Now, that's a Proper Push-Me-Pull-You!
View from the top of Zip World's Titan Run
Setting off from the top of Titan
What a Ride!
Having Fun on Zip World's Fforest Coaster!
At the start of an Antur Stiniog DH run.
We're on our Way!
Llyn Ystradau at Tanygrisiau
Waterfall near Cymerau Isaf Farm
Black Rock Sands
Dogs just love this beach!
Having a wonderful time, wish you were here!
Time for a nice kip after a hard day at the beach!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sethstone
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Before the holiday started, the owner emailed all all the clear instructions necessary to find the cottage and how to get in. There was a pint of milk and packet of biscuits waiting. There was also some sugar and tea bags, all a very nice thought and very welcome after a long drive.
The accommodation was extremely good and spacious. The kitchen and bathroom are modern and quite newly fitted and had all the amenities to make our stay a comfortable and enjoyable one. There is wifi, TV with recordable freesat, a dvd player and a good selection of films to watch. There is also full central heating and very comfortable electric fire in the living and dining rooms. There is a nice small rear garden, ideal for sitting out with a cup of tea or there was a barbecue area but the weather wasn't quite good enough for that. The area in which it is situated is not exactly thriving but the high street and station are easy walking distances and parking is very easy right outside. There are convenience shops close by.
There is lots to see and do in the surrounding area. We enjoyed trips to Snowdon, Harlech and Bewys Y Coed and a trip on the Ffestiniog narrow guage railway to Porthmadog and mainline to Llandudno.
North Wales is undoubtably a beautiful and picturesque place to visit and I would be happy to return some time and would be more than happy to stay at Borthwen in the future. It was very clean and ideally situated for our visit. The only criticisms I have are that the beds were very soft, though having said that, I did sleep well in them so maybe not really a criticism but they were very soft. The only thing that did annoy was the tiny washing up bowl and quite useless draining rack but that really was the only thing. All in all a very happy holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thank you for such a brilliant review! We are so pleased you found Borthwen easily & that it was spacious and well equipped as well as having a great holiday in beautiful North Wales. I will review your points regarding the washing up bowl & drainer and try to improve on them. Should you return to Snowdonia in the future, we would love to have you stay with us again.

Ade & the Borthwen Holiday Cottage team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“North Wales ”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Borthwen holiday cottage. Very well presented, clean and very suitable. Tank you to the owners. Had trips to slate mine. Guide Phil was excellent. Went to Surf Snowdonia where 2 17yr olds and a 13yr old had a great time. Went to Mount Snowdon(pre book tickets if you want the train). Llundudno was good and clean. Eat at Royal Oak in Betws y Coed, good value grill.
Had great time but be prepared to travel to other places so plan your routes.
A5 was busy so allow time for journey to Wales.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you for the fantastic review & great tips for other travellers. We are so pleased you all had a great time exploring the area & the activities to be found in the National Park. Here's hoping you come back again in the future, a warm welcome will be waiting for you at Borthwen Holiday Cottage should you choose us again. Many thanks.

Ade & the Borthwen team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thanks for your great review. I'm very happy that Borthwen met your needs & that you managed to get lots done during your stay. It would be lovely to welcome you back again so that you can explore more of the fabulous National Park.

Ade & all involved with Borthwen Holiday Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Samantha...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We arrived today after a long journey from Norwich.
The property was lovely & clean and very well presented. There was a nice touch of milk in the fridge & a packet of biscuits. The bedrooms are all quite spacious & the beds seem comfortable and nice & clean. The garden is a lovely outside area with lovely evening lights. Lots of leaflets & info in the dining room and a well equipped kitchen. We are really pleased with the property just hoping for some dry weather.
I would highly recommend to anyone and ideal for a family with either teenage or small children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
My apologies for the late response, somehow I missed it.

Thank you for your great review, we are so pleased that you found Borthwen fulfilled you needs so well. We would love to have you stay with us again should you visit the fantastic Snowdonia National Park in the future.

Ade & the Borthwen Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr and Mrs”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We've just spent an enjoyable week at Borthwen cottage. It was clean, well equipped and a good central location for everything we wanted to do, including visiting Portmadog, Caernarfon, Harleach Beach, Swallow Falls, Colwyn Bay, the local steam train and of course walk up Snowdon via the Llanberis path.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you found the Cottage an ideal location for everything you wanted to do. We hope you will choose Borthwen Holiday Cottage for your next visit to lovely North Wales.

Ade & all involved at Borthwen Holiday Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing