We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully equipped cotage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crud yr Awel

Cosy, comfy living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom Patio terrace with mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom
Patio terrace with mountain views
Time for tea!
Gas-fired 'woodburner'-type stove
Fully-equipped, modern kitchen
Fully-equipped modern kitchen
Recently renovated bathroom with excellent shower pressure
Twin bedroom
A small cot is provided.  measuring 55x90 cm, height from mattress to top of the rail is 40cm.
Toys and teddies
Summer blooms in the terraced garden (steep steps)
Help yourself to herbs growing by the back door
Crud yr Awel / Cradle of the Breeze
View of the Moelwyn mountains from the rear terraced garden
Nearby Portmeirion Italianate village
Llanberis Pass, Snowdonia
Black Rock Sands, Porthmadog
Caernarfon Castle
Slate locomotive on display in Blaenau Ffestiniog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JohnL9168...
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautifully equipped cotage”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Having stayed in many cottages over the last ten years I can say without hesitation this was the best not only for the excellent welcome hamper but the fact that everything for a self-catering visit and more had been provided!Excellent in every way

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome hamper
Liked least: No TV but excellent wifi covered our needs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
I'm delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and were comfortable in the cottage. Please do come back one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstherTho...
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful cottage with lost of personal touches. Perfectly situated for exploring Snowdonia.

Loved the welcoming hamper and the fresh milk in the fridge. Kids loved the toy chest. Made lots of precious family memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the personal little touches
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and had fun exploring the area. Thank you for coming and for writing such a lovely review. You would be welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best holiday cottage ever!”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Over the years my partner and I have stayed in many holiday lets, both in the UK and abroad, and we are agreed that this one takes the crown! Mary Ann has provided everything needed for a comfortable, quaint, and welcoming cottage. I can only echo all the other reviews - the welcome hamper was a delightful suprise - the wine, chocolates and superior ground coffee (cafetieres provided) stood out amongst the other useful provisions. The beds were the most comfortable we have encountered. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, and the kitchen provided everything we needed to cater for ourselves - even down to herbs and spices! And a bathroom with a real bath as well as a powerful shower...

True, Blauenau is not the most attractive small town in this part of Wales, but interesting to visit, and a perfect base from which to explore. Being older and less active, we didn't walk or climb anything, but there's so much to see and do within easy driving distance, including lots of our favourite small steam train lines.

The view from the cottage across the rugby pitch to the mountains (and yes, a slate spoil hill) was a never ending delight in the constantly changing light. When it rained on our first day, we snuggled indoors and watched "The Prisoner" (partner) and "Ivor the Engine" (me), warmed by the heat from the gas-powered "log burner" - so easy to use.

So thankyou Mary Ann - you have created a little piece of heaven in North Wales, and we'll be back as soon as we can - there are still more steam trains to visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect.
Liked least: Steps to rear terraces were a bit of a challenge for me, but I am mildly disabled and don't do steps well at the best of times!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Wow! Thank you so much for writing such a fantastic review, I am thrilled to bits that you loved the cottage and that you enjoyed yourselves, despite the weather, and I look forward to having you to stay again as soon as you like.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alec D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A diamond in a rough setting”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This holiday cottage was booked at the last minute in rather a hurry, and not without trepidation! Blaenau Ffestiniog is notable for having been omitted from the Snowdonia National Park in the past for not meeting their standards for beauty and excellence. The OS map shows a border around it like a melanoma which is to be expunged. How sad is that? I think it is (or maybe) now included, and rightly so...this is a jewel of a place in itself and a brilliant base from which to explore the area. It has it's industrial side in the slate quarrying and mining but these do not intrude, and are indeed being utilised in part for underground trampolining and "the longest zip-wire in the world".

This cottage is very comfortable and overlooks the rugby ground with the natural hillside beyond and a disused spoil-heap from the slate mining. This may sound grim, but it most certainly is not...the colours change with the weather in a never-ending kaleidoscope that is mesmerising to watch. All home comforts are taken into consideration and therefore even if the weather should be less than what might be desired, you will be guaranteed a relaxing holiday in this wonderful part of Wales.

The owner is very attentive to needs and clearly responds to any oversights or problems with promptitude and alacrity. I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough and hope to return again at some point in the future...we had a wonderful time here with our dog, even though the weather was considerably less than 100% wall-to wall sunshine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome hamper!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thank you for writing such an erudite review! Yes, Blaenau Ffestiniog owes its very existence to slate, its extraction and transportation; hence the steam railway and slate caverns. There is a DVD in the cottage about the history of this tough little town, set amidst the beautiful backdrop of Snowdonia. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage, and found it comfortable, and I very much look forward to welcoming you to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Okehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wow what a fantastic home from home”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My Husband, I and our two year old daughter arrived at Crud Yr Awell and I can honestly say "Wow". What a lovely quaint well equipped former miners cottage. Every last detail of the property has been carefully thought out. The welcome hamper was a lovely addition, our daughter loved the biscuits and we sat back and we really enjoyed the great bottle of red wine, once she had fallen asleep.
Nothing was too much trouble and the owner was very helpful and available through out our stay. We were given the details prior to our arrival regarding the keys to the cottage.
The cottage is a credit to Mary Ann, the owner and her housekeeper Karen is an absolute Gem!!
We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage and the amazing attention to detail of the cottage itself.
Liked least: The steep terraced garden, not really toddler friendly, but will be lovely for slightly older children.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
I am so glad that you liked the cottage and I look forward to welcoming you back one day! Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review, I shall pass your comments on to Karen and her team :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing