We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday cottage ever!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crud yr Awel

Cosy, comfy living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom Patio terrace with mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom
Patio terrace with mountain views
Time for tea!
Gas-fired 'woodburner'-type stove
Fully-equipped, modern kitchen
Fully-equipped modern kitchen
Recently renovated bathroom with excellent shower pressure
Twin bedroom
A small cot is provided.  measuring 55x90 cm, height from mattress to top of the rail is 40cm.
Toys and teddies
Summer blooms in the terraced garden (steep steps)
Help yourself to herbs growing by the back door
Crud yr Awel / Cradle of the Breeze
View of the Moelwyn mountains from the rear terraced garden
Nearby Portmeirion Italianate village
Llanberis Pass, Snowdonia
Black Rock Sands, Porthmadog
Caernarfon Castle
Slate locomotive on display in Blaenau Ffestiniog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jenny S
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best holiday cottage ever!”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Over the years my partner and I have stayed in many holiday lets, both in the UK and abroad, and we are agreed that this one takes the crown! Mary Ann has provided everything needed for a comfortable, quaint, and welcoming cottage. I can only echo all the other reviews - the welcome hamper was a delightful suprise - the wine, chocolates and superior ground coffee (cafetieres provided) stood out amongst the other useful provisions. The beds were the most comfortable we have encountered. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, and the kitchen provided everything we needed to cater for ourselves - even down to herbs and spices! And a bathroom with a real bath as well as a powerful shower...

True, Blauenau is not the most attractive small town in this part of Wales, but interesting to visit, and a perfect base from which to explore. Being older and less active, we didn't walk or climb anything, but there's so much to see and do within easy driving distance, including lots of our favourite small steam train lines.

The view from the cottage across the rugby pitch to the mountains (and yes, a slate spoil hill) was a never ending delight in the constantly changing light. When it rained on our first day, we snuggled indoors and watched "The Prisoner" (partner) and "Ivor the Engine" (me), warmed by the heat from the gas-powered "log burner" - so easy to use.

So thankyou Mary Ann - you have created a little piece of heaven in North Wales, and we'll be back as soon as we can - there are still more steam trains to visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect.
Liked least: Steps to rear terraces were a bit of a challenge for me, but I am mildly disabled and don't do steps well at the best of times!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Wow! Thank you so much for writing such a fantastic review, I am thrilled to bits that you loved the cottage and that you enjoyed yourselves, despite the weather, and I look forward to having you to stay again as soon as you like.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alec D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A diamond in a rough setting”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This holiday cottage was booked at the last minute in rather a hurry, and not without trepidation! Blaenau Ffestiniog is notable for having been omitted from the Snowdonia National Park in the past for not meeting their standards for beauty and excellence. The OS map shows a border around it like a melanoma which is to be expunged. How sad is that? I think it is (or maybe) now included, and rightly so...this is a jewel of a place in itself and a brilliant base from which to explore the area. It has it's industrial side in the slate quarrying and mining but these do not intrude, and are indeed being utilised in part for underground trampolining and "the longest zip-wire in the world".

This cottage is very comfortable and overlooks the rugby ground with the natural hillside beyond and a disused spoil-heap from the slate mining. This may sound grim, but it most certainly is not...the colours change with the weather in a never-ending kaleidoscope that is mesmerising to watch. All home comforts are taken into consideration and therefore even if the weather should be less than what might be desired, you will be guaranteed a relaxing holiday in this wonderful part of Wales.

The owner is very attentive to needs and clearly responds to any oversights or problems with promptitude and alacrity. I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough and hope to return again at some point in the future...we had a wonderful time here with our dog, even though the weather was considerably less than 100% wall-to wall sunshine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome hamper!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thank you for writing such an erudite review! Yes, Blaenau Ffestiniog owes its very existence to slate, its extraction and transportation; hence the steam railway and slate caverns. There is a DVD in the cottage about the history of this tough little town, set amidst the beautiful backdrop of Snowdonia. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage, and found it comfortable, and I very much look forward to welcoming you to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Okehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wow what a fantastic home from home”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My Husband, I and our two year old daughter arrived at Crud Yr Awell and I can honestly say "Wow". What a lovely quaint well equipped former miners cottage. Every last detail of the property has been carefully thought out. The welcome hamper was a lovely addition, our daughter loved the biscuits and we sat back and we really enjoyed the great bottle of red wine, once she had fallen asleep.
Nothing was too much trouble and the owner was very helpful and available through out our stay. We were given the details prior to our arrival regarding the keys to the cottage.
The cottage is a credit to Mary Ann, the owner and her housekeeper Karen is an absolute Gem!!
We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage and the amazing attention to detail of the cottage itself.
Liked least: The steep terraced garden, not really toddler friendly, but will be lovely for slightly older children.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
I am so glad that you liked the cottage and I look forward to welcoming you back one day! Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review, I shall pass your comments on to Karen and her team :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect mix of comfort and practicality”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the cottage for a week and it was exactly as described. Well laid out accommodation with a lovely practical slate floor for the living room / kitchen / bathroom and a light and bright but cosy feel to the bedroom upstairs. Well organised documentation for recording any issues during the stay. I relived my childhood as I watched the DVD of Ivor the Engine during the evenings. The hamper is a nice unique selling point for this cottage and provides a personal touch. Lovely bathroom with a bath, which is sometimes lacking in smaller properties. Much needed after the long hikes up into the quarries and around the lakes. A much improved town with good information centre and interesting local history exhibition. Good work Blaenau and I'm already planning my next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent communication with the owner
Liked least: Having to leave.....
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thank you for writing such a kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourself, both in the cottage and all the walking you did while you were here. Blaenau Ffestiniog is such a special place and it is wonderful that it is appreciated by lovely guests like you! Please come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cosy cottage which we would definitely recommend”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Crud yr Awel was perfect for myself my husband and our two boys (11 & 8). It was cosy, spotless and had everything that you could want. Mary Ann left us a wonderful welcome basket which was fantastic and she sent us a very informative email which detailed and gave us ideas for things to do, the cottage also had lots of information about the surrounding area. It is a great area with so much to do. Bounce below just up the road was a brilliant morning out for us all, next time we come we fancy doing the zip wires. There are fantastic walks and activities. The viillage of Beddgelert was beautiful, recommend a fantastic restaurant there called Hebog, had the best meal ever, the staff were lovely and great with the boys. Would definitely recommend this cottage and the area. We had a fantastic week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
I'm so happy that you had such a brilliant time and I hope you will come and stay again when you want to have a go at Titan Zipworld! Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing