We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crud yr Awel

Cosy, comfy living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom Patio terrace with mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom
Patio terrace with mountain views
Time for tea!
Gas-fired 'woodburner'-type stove
Fully-equipped, modern kitchen
Fully-equipped modern kitchen
Recently renovated bathroom with excellent shower pressure
Twin bedroom
A small cot is provided.  measuring 55x90 cm, height from mattress to top of the rail is 40cm.
Toys and teddies
Summer blooms in the terraced garden (steep steps)
Help yourself to herbs growing by the back door
Crud yr Awel / Cradle of the Breeze
View of the Moelwyn mountains from the rear terraced garden
Nearby Portmeirion Italianate village
Llanberis Pass, Snowdonia
Black Rock Sands, Porthmadog
Caernarfon Castle
Slate locomotive on display in Blaenau Ffestiniog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Bill13082...
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage was even better than the photos and reviews that we had already seen. As soon as we walked in we felt welcomed, warm and just delighted with such a well appointed, gorgeous place. We loved the books, the board games, the delightful terrace and fresh herbs!
Crud yr Awel is a haven. Beautifully clean and with loads of extra little touches - including the most lovely welcome pack.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Thank you so much for your generous review! I am delighted that you were warm and comfortable and liked the little extra touches. Please do come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was all we expected it to be having read previous reviews; great location, cosy, clean, well presented and fully equipped with every utensil and gadget you can think of. We arrived to find a complimentary hamper of local produce and goodies which was a nice touch and very much appreciated. The owner could not have been more helpful throughout and the whole booking and rental experience was second to none. We would not hesitate in recommending this lovely holiday cottage to anyone seeking first class holiday accommodation. Thank you Mary for all your help and assistance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage being fully equipped, clean and well maintained.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
I'm so glad you liked the cottage and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a kind review and please do come back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best equipped cottage we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I thought the other reviews for this cottage were too good to be true but I was wrong! The owner has thought of everything - from the welcome hamper in the fully equipped kitchen (including a range of herbs/spices/condiments) to little touches like a box of cars and basket of teddies for younger guests. Although the weather during our stay was not good - it rained most days so we weren't able to use the terrace garden - it didn't spoil our enjoyment. Blaenau Ffestiniog is a good central base from which to explore this beautiful part of the world. We had thought that not having any TV signal would be a problem but the wide range of DVDs, CDs and games in the cottage kept us entertained in the evenings and the free wifi was a bonus. We would certainly recommend this fabulous little cottage to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I'm very glad you enjoyed yourselves, despite the weather! Please do come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickbe...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great break in a fab cottage”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Delightful cottage. Hats off to the owner who has put much time and effort into creating such a snug and pleasant holiday home. The fact that she was also very helpful and accommodating only added to a lovely break. Conveniently located for many attractions. The welcome hamper was very generous and we're all addicted to boggle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. Please do come back at any time, you would be so very welcome :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy & Comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent cottage with all you need for a comfortable break in a good location. Clean and well presented with a nice touch via a hamper of provisions.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. Please come back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;