We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellently equipped cottage, ideal location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crud yr Awel

Cosy, comfy living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom Patio terrace with mountain views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Cosy, comfy living room
Romantic Edwardian bedroom
Patio terrace with mountain views
Time for tea!
Gas-fired 'woodburner'-type stove
Fully-equipped, modern kitchen
Fully-equipped modern kitchen
Recently renovated bathroom with excellent shower pressure
Twin bedroom
A small cot is provided.  measuring 55x90 cm, height from mattress to top of the rail is 40cm.
Toys and teddies
Summer blooms in the terraced garden (steep steps)
Help yourself to herbs growing by the back door
Crud yr Awel / Cradle of the Breeze
View of the Moelwyn mountains from the rear terraced garden
Nearby Portmeirion Italianate village
Llanberis Pass, Snowdonia
Black Rock Sands, Porthmadog
Caernarfon Castle
Slate locomotive on display in Blaenau Ffestiniog
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kerry B
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellently equipped cottage, ideal location.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Took the family (2kids&2dogs) away, after staying in a cottage in Wales last year, we wanted to return and explore further. The cottage has truly everything you could possibly need for a lovely comfortable stay, The welcome hamper was fantastic (welsh cakes yum yum). The kids had their own space and the skylight was beautiful, Our room was as described with a very comfy bed. The garden is set over 3 levels, which my dogs did not like, but really by the end of the week they were so tired and just got on with it.
Found a superb dog friendly beach Carreg wen, stunning,
Tried bounce below and would highly recommend it, this is located within Llechwedd slate caverns.
Overall I would stay here with my family again, and since being home we have recommended it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how well eqiupped it was
Liked least: in our room the valance on the bed was dirty and full of dog hair, so took off and washed it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves and made the most of all the wonderful activities in the area. It is a great place for families with dogs, Cricceith has a great dog-walking beach too. I'm really thrilled you liked the cottage, I've tried to make it as homely and comfortable as I can, the kind of place I'd like to stay in myself. The valance you mentioned has been removed - there wasn't really any need for it - so no more risk of dog hairs! I'd love to welcome you all back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loobyloul...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

stayed here for 1 week and couldnt fault the cottage.
Very clean and cosy and the welcome hamper was a delight.
Lots of books,dvds and games to keep you entertained.well worth the money..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
I'm so glad you had a good time and that you liked the cottage! Please do come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMJohnsto...
1 review
“Delightful cottage in the heart of Snowdonia.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Cosy, comfortable, clean - everything you could want and more from a holiday home.

Great location for exploring all areas of Snowdonia and beyond.

The service we received was excellent, prior to, during and after our stay with every little attention to detail.

This is a great holiday cottage that I would highly recommend.

Would go back for sure!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you to stay and you would be welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and warm for a rainy October stay
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GillyMari...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay will be back”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Lots of nice walks great trip to seaside to blow cobwebs away good pub in pengewern in llan ffestiniog for a drink and chilli. Very warm and welcoming - met all expectations - We'll be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing