We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Terrific experience

We arrived just in time for the 2pm Quarry Explorer and Deep Mine tours. The big army truck bounced... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jean R
,
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Interesting and enjoyable

Did this as we were in Zip Caverns in the morning and very glad we did. It was a bit chilly... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
KH_London_UK
,
London, UK
via mobile
Read all 94 reviews
  
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
85
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ex army seat belts bumpy ride hair raising points of interest military truck white knuckle ride off road slate quarries tour guide at short notice recommend this trip great trip sheer scale visited today wrap up warm amazing tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived just in time for the 2pm Quarry Explorer and Deep Mine tours. The big army truck bounced along the quarry roads and we had several stops for Malcolm to tell us about the history of the quarry. The highest stop was at about 1,500ft at the old workings, with a terrific view over Blaenau right across to the sea and Harlech Castle.Then back down to the slate mine and into the little "train" that goes down 500ft into the earth, and another terrific tour. By the time we came back up it was 5pm and nearly dark, and a stark reminder that in the winter the slate workers would only get to see daylight on a Sunday. Malcolm was a brilliant guide. Thanks Malcolm!

Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Did this as we were in Zip Caverns in the morning and very glad we did.

It was a bit chilly (blankets were most welcome) but to see and hear about two centuries of slate mining in the area was much more interesting than it sounds. I’ve never really given much thought to slate (I mean who has?) but it’s fascinating and I couldn’t help but wonder how many millions of pounds of slate chips are just lying around when its about £5 a bag in a garden centre in London!

John, our guide, was friendly and informative but was at his best when not reading dates from his card (although it was interesting) but talking freely about his experience working there when it was a working mine (the last of which shut in 1999).

Worth a visit if in the area and good value too.

Thank KH_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We did the Adventure Tour which combined the above ground Quarry Explorer then Hot Chocolate and the Deep Mine Tour. First off in the morning was nippy..but worth it. Having the same guide was brilliant. Bryn was entertaining and full of information on the mine's history. Great views of the mountains from the top, even blankets for those who feel the cold. Open sides mean you can always get a clear photo.

Underground was fantastic. To see where the mined, the guide was great at engaging the children on the tour.

This 1/2 day was a memorable one.

Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having done the mine tour last year we really wanted to do the tour on our latest visit. Booked onto the early bird trip which is outstanding value, at full price I think this tour is worth every penny. Elwyn our driver/guide was very friendly and you could tell he had a real passion for the area and mining history. If you are staying in the area then I thoroughly recommend this tour.

Thank Hernebay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Did this tour after The Deep Mine Tour on a very windy, wet September afternoon. We were told by the driver, that on the previous tour, they all got soaking wet, and that was evident by the soaking wet seats, in this open sided vehicle.

We climbed to about 1400 feet, every few twists and turns the driver stopped to tell us about what we were looking at. It was very interesting, and guess what..... we didn't get wet!!!!! as it stopped raining, but it was very windy, and cold up there.

We bought a combined ticket which saved us money, very glad we did it, and we would do it again if in the area

Thank Jacandhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

I was rather apprehensive about the Quarry Explorer tour but my husband being an off road junkie persuaded me to do it and I'm so glad he did. We were met by our guide / driver Bryn. We were given blankets to sit on as the ex army lorry isn't built for comfort, seatbelts on we were ready for the adventure to begin. The ride was bumpy and wobbled bits that shouldn't wobble, but it was so much fun. We stopped a few times with Bryn giving us information about the mines and the local community. The information was informative and fascinating, helped by Bryn and his lovely personality. The scenery is spectacular. Fabulous Fun !!! and worth every penny.

Thank Rhubarb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Hard to put into words what a fantastic adventure this is. Our guide Brynn was very knowledgeable and his facts were informative and educational. The ride to the top is bumpy and lumpy but the speed is appropriate to the terrain. Would recommend this to anyone who wants an adventure.

1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Visited today and went on the quarry explorer with our guide Bryn. Beautiful clear views all the way over to the summit of snowdon. A great insight into quarrying and the history of the area. This is must do if you are in the area!

Thank mattstaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Had a trip on the quarry explorer today. Driven by Malcolm who made sure that we experienced a marvellous tour of the slate quarry mines. Very informative. Amazing views. You really need this tour if you want to fully understand the history and nature of slate mining here. Thanks Malcolm for a very personal explorer trip. Only two of us so we got a birds eye view up in the cabby with you.

Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Not aware of this attraction before arriving but it ticked both my love of North Wales slate quarries as well as trucks boxes. Malcolm very friendly and welcoming. 4 X 4 ex-military truck attacking steep ups & downs of over 100 year old quarry roads. Loads of explainations about history of mining AND stunning views from so high up the mountain. Many remains of ancient workings. Over an hour's journey too quickly finished. Recommended.

Thank Skodafan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews