We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Tica

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
villa by the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
villa by the sea
villa by the sea
terace
entrance to the house
kitchen and dining room
dining area
bathroom on the first floor
bathroom on the ground floor
view from one bedroom
view from terace
blue room
brown room
brown room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Slano, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Scott P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 30 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Had the most amazing week at Villa Tica. The location is absolutely amazing and the house itself has everything needed to enjoy your holiday. The owners did everything they could to make our stay comfortable, even taking us to a supermarket after meeting us on our way to the house from the airport.
Our kids loved using the owners kayak on the sea exploring the caves and Ante (owner) also took us out in his small fishing boat.
This was our first trip to Croatia and we will definitely be back in the future as it’s such a beautiful country.
Thanks again Ante and Miranda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2018
Hi Scott,
Thanks a lot for your review.We are sending our kind regards to you and your family.It was a great pleasure for us to meet such nice people.
With love
Miranda&Ante
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slingerlu...
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lazy days and sunsets”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Villa Tica is an amazing place, easily the best villa my wife and I have ever stayed in.

Open the front door, go down a couple of flights of steps, and you arrive at your very own seafront patio. Climb down the ladder and you're in the crystal clear waters of the Adriatic. If you get tired of swimming, there's a sea-canoe and a surfboard for you to use.

The village of Slano is only 5km away. From here you can catch a boat to visit three of the Elaphiti Islands. Dubrovnik is 20 km away, but don't go there if there are cruise ships moored up, as you won't be able to move.

A lovely day out is to catch the ferry from Orebić, on the Pelješac peninsula, to the beautiful island of Korčula. Orebić is about a 2-hour drive from the villa.

Ston, 25km away, has some fine restaurants, and is surrounded by an ancient wall, which you can walk around.

All in all, a perfect place to spend two weeks.

The owners, Ante and Miranda, were delightful, Ante popping in a couple of times, to make sure everything was okay.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, right on the seafront.
Liked least: The main road.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Dear Ian and Amanda,
Thanks a lot for your nice review.It was a pleasure for us to have a such nice family as a guests.We send a kind regards to you and your sweet daughters.
Miranda&Ante
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddy070...
Brabant Flamand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday at 20 km of Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This villa is ideally located at 20 minutes from the historical centre of Dubrovnik. It is very comfortable and well equipped. The house is looking towards the sea, that you can enjoy at the end of the garden. It offers a great view on the islands. Perhaps even more important, the character of the villa has been designed by the owners, that are living in it most of the time and that makes you feel at home after a few hours.
We will remember for a long time this excellent stay.

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karinthy
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Ante and Miranda are super helpful and friendly.

They built the house for themselves and it is close to perfect: enough space everywhere, LOTS of room to hang out, beautiful garden (with a cute turtle in it) and very interesting and inventive stuff all around the walls: a nice sunclock, old and new fishing equipment, boat models Ante built - everything in proportion and with taste. Lots of shade to hide from the sun when needed - thats our usual problem with beach hotels, even with expensive ones.

The private beach is wonderful. You really are alone there, have enough space to swim, sunbathe, fish and snorkel at the same time. I tried spearfishing with a polespear but not so many big fish around this time of the year. The kids caught lots of smaller fish from the shore though, using mussels they found on the buoy as bait. There is a sea kayak that guests can use and not very far there is a small sea cave that Ante showed us which was really cool. There is another boat that only Ante uses, he showed us the neighborhood while telling us lots of interesting things, it was as good for a half day program as it gets.

You can get superb sea food in Ston, 20 kilometers from the house (try the black risotto at Bakus). Dubrovnik is also 20 kilometers. We cooked for ourselves. Bread, fruits, vegetables can be bought in Slano (5 km) and meat etc in Dubrovnik.

The whole experience was twice as intense (hence, fun) as our previous beach vacations. It was great for the kids, we could leave them out of sight and they were never bored.

Important. As they say in their ad, this place is ideal for 2 adults and 2-3 kids. 6 adults would be a strain. The beach has a very shallow part for toddlers and a rather deep one that starts at 3 meters where you go in, on well-built stairs, with a current. This is great if your kids are confident swimmers, because they wont get stung by sea urchins etc. If you have small kids who want to swim but can get scared in deep water, this place is not for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private beach, perfectly built house
Liked least: Cant tell.. best beach vacation so far.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOnCT
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION...AMAZING LOCATION!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a perfect location! It made it easy for us to travel to Dubrovnik, Ston, Kotor, Trebinje and of course the Pelijesac Peninsula. Additionally it is perfectly perched within easy reach of the Adriatic. The steps out of the back of the house lead down to a beautiful area designed for swimming and taking in the beauty of the Adriatic. The table outside allowed for multiple wonderful meals al fresco and the stargazing at night was, well, out of this world!

The landlords, Ante and Miranda, efforts to make this house a great place to stay have really succeeded. Ante met us at the airport and was so accommodating. He escorted us to the house, which locating could have been an issue, given it was the evening when we arrived. Miranda made sure we had plenty of fresh grapes, apple strudel, water, wine and grappa on arrival! They were great!

I do think there needs to be a few clarifications and comments. 1) It does indeed have the potential to sleep six, just be aware it is the form of two US full size beds and a pull-out sofa bed. 2) It does not have wireless internet access, which we found a real inconvenience. I asked if there was wireless internet before we arrived and I was told there was. When we arrived we discovered they had purchased a USB wireless internet antenna for the local cellular system. The problem? We travel with Apple iPads, so no USB port. They really need to get a stand-alone wireless internet system. 3) It is about 45 minutes from the airport. 4) It is about 20 minutes to Dubrovnik. 5) It is about 20 minutes to Ston. 6) The driveway access from the main road can a real adventure. The turnoff is hard to find and not marked, so at night it is easily missed. Thank goodness Ante showed us where it was!

It really is a nice enough house and the landlords are amazing people. They were a true delight to deal with from the US. I was a little nervous renting a house sight unseen, half a world away, but after this experience I would truly do it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No wi-fi internet access
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing