We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
53
5
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
5
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner own garden san carlos in town the river arrange tours hotel is located rooms are spacious a wonderful stay wonderful place vegetables meals balcony nicaragua boat fort luxury
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We hit a cold rainy patch of weather so the open windows in our corner room were not very welcoming, however we managed to tack up covers to keep the wind out. The rooms are ok but very basic. Must take into consideration the location! A 2 hour boat ride along the mighty River San Juan. What brings this hotel to above average is Natasha the owner. Her warm welcome was a joy and together with her care for my husband who had been floored by some dodgy chicken soup (!) she made our 3 day stay as comfortable as possible. The food was simply delicious. Thanks to Natasha, her 2 girls in the kitchen. We went on a boat trip up a small winding river (forgotten name) Lots of wildlife, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rustyairedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel l, Owner at Hotel Lara's Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your response. I remember the days you were staying with us happen to be quite windy. It is a sort of cash 22 situation for us. The hotel is designed as an open space accommodation to take advantage of the fresh and cool wind from the rever. The downside ( which luckily does not happen too often ) is that on the days with heavy wind the corner suites get a bit affected by the rain. We were very pleased however to see that you and your friends still could enjoy your stay despite some wether disturbances. We enjoyed very much having you and your family with us and would like to thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stayed two nights - one either side of a trip to Basecamp Bartola. We stayed in the large corner room overlooking the river, which had a lovely balcony from where we could watch life on the river go by. I'll always remember sitting there on a hammock watching the early morning mist clear as the sun came up, with the sound of boats going up and down river. The room was light and airy thanks to the large mesh screened windows. The bed was large and comfortable. A hot shower after our jungle trip was just what we needed. Natasha was very helpful by checking ferry times and reserving a place for us. Downstairs, the bar/dining area had the same wonderful river and castle views, with the added bonus of the friendly service from Margarita, who also met us at the dock when we arrived.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Do you want to take a two hour freezing boat ride at six in the morning (being there half an hour early) to go pay for a mediocre breakfast? Then this is the place for you.

Do want to wake up in between 4:30/5:00 am every morning of your vacation to the sound of boat motors, loud talking, loading and unloading? (Also starting around 7 the store across the street starts blasting Justin Bieber) Then this is the place for you.

Do you want to order chicken off the menu only to be told about how bad chicken is for you and how it affected her nieces menstrual cycle? Then this is the place for you.

Want to feel like your at grandmas house and feel bad for not clearing plate of the food you paid for? (Multiple comments were made) Then this is the place for you.

There were so many small things at first that I was going to leave a positive review, since some of them are out of her control. But the way she ended things by overcharging us for our breakfast that we left a perfectly good bed and free breakfast for (two hours down a really cold windy river for the most expensive rice and beans I've had in a long time, and I live in Costa Rica) we stayed two nights and only received one breakfast. Yes I know we left at five am so that wasn't too possible, but offer a girl a banana or something. Or take off the over priced breakfast from our first early morning there and call it a day.

Also this hotel claims to have;
Parking (hah! There's no cars even able to access the place)
AC (which you would never need anyways)
TV - This was our vacation, all we wanted to do was hike, nap, and watch tv (apparently the hurricane in November damaged it but website has not been updated)
Wifi - which it does. But good luck getting it to work in your room.

It was all of those things that added up to me leaving this review. I was happy until she needed that few extra bucks for breakfast that left such a bad taste and memory of this place.

There are wayyyyyyy cheaper places in Castillo just as clean and way tastier/affordable meals. I am currently writing a article in Guanacaste's "The Howler" about all the beauty of El Castillo. Sadly this hotel will be getting no mention or recommendation by me.

Also Natasha I am almost thirty. Yes I eat vegetables. I'm sure most thirty year olds do. But thanks for asking. Customer service is all about the little things. :)

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank StacyJ1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This place is over priced for what you get.All the little houses and other hotels had internet and tv.This place had the slowest internet ever,could almost send an email just took an hour.The tv service since nov 2016 has not been fixed yet.The worst was finding disposable cups in our bathroom that were used by other guests.They just put back in our room still wet.We didn't use them i put in garbage.The owner needs to edit what she offers at this place and not blame others.The food was about double the price and could not eat any of it.This town has many cheap good places to eat and stay at!

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank Chica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel l, Owner at Hotel Lara's Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Der Guest

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel offers 430Sq meter of open space with panorama views of the river and the town as compared with the little hotels you have mentioned. We are a bit surprised to read you comment because we keep inviting our guests' feedback while they are staying at our hotel to make sure that their needs are met. It is a pitty that you didn't tell us what you didn't like so that we could respond to requirements. The internet we have is the the same system as anywhere else in town. It is a wired internet system, The connection comes from San calos and the weires go through windy areas which affect it's strength. Our TV connection was affected by Huircane in November .The technical service comes from Managua and it takes sometimes up to a couple of months. When we serve food we always ask our guests if they like their food and if they don't we offer a different dish. regarding the disposable glass in the bathroom, We put a new glass for all new arrivals and do not throw it out for a few days unless asked bu the guests and the reason is we try to minimise the amount of the plastic waste going into the rubish bin as the city does not not have a recyling facility and apart from glass and plastic waste we recycle everything else on the hotel grounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

great service and food! Luxus comfort on the river! wild but cozy, excellent place! Natasha the owner and Margarita her assistant are winderful! Tasty and almost gourmet food, fresh fruits and good coffee, I recommend the omelette for breakfast!

Room Tip: The rooms with river view balcony are the best!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel l, Owner at Hotel Lara's Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Patricia

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so very glad that you enoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed having you and your partner as our guest and hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews