We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous authentic Maltese experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Place

Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October) Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
Stepping out From 'Alfie's Place' & Looking Down the Street
Alfie's Place - Gilormu Cassar Steeet By Candle Light (2nd Week End of October)
Alfie's Place In The Most photographed Street
Facade
Facade
Facade
Eat in kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Your Host - Alfred Fino
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Carolanan...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous authentic Maltese experience”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from our 1 week stay in Birgu (Vittorosia). We booked Alfie's place and were picked up at the airport by Alfie and taken to our accommodation by him. Before he took us to the house he showed us around the town giving us some very helpful information about the area and how best to get around. He then took us for a drink in a local bar/restaurant. A good start to our holiday. Alfie's place itself was every bit as charming as the pictures shown on the website, we loved it. We were also very fortunate to get the opportunity to stay for a few days in Alfie's other place, The Alley, as there was a cancellation and it meant we could stay there up until we were due to leave. The Alley is every bit as charming as Alfie's place and we feel a bit spoiled as we got the chance to experience both places.

Alfie is a gem of a guy, helpful and genuine. We would recommend both his places to anyone who wants to experience the real Malta. We had a wonderful holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Thank you for such a great review but also for the pleasure of meeting you both.

I am always delighted to read Visitors had a great time and a good Maltese experience.

Thank you also for leaving both Places so clean & Tidy, and I sure hope to see you again in the future.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison B
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

If you want to experience the real Malta then this is the place to stay.
Alfie's Place is a gorgeous old house. It's clean, cosy and comfortable and full of character.
Birgu is a lovely place,full of history with lots of winding old streets and a beautiful harbour where you can catch the quick and reliable ferry to Valetta.
Alfie was the perfect host,kind and attentive and always available when needed.
We had a great holiday and would love to visit Malta again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.Good Wifi. Great host.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your stay. I was an absolute pleasure getting to know. Certainly would love to see you back and thank for leaving the place spotless.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonevav
Sofia Region, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Absolutly perfect””
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The location, cleanliness, service, attention to detail, views, memories- we give them all a 10. If you are visiting Malta, look no further - "Alfie's Place" is the place to stay. And Alfred is the kindest host. We really had a fantastic time and we visit it again. See you soon, Alfie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your write comments, you are a truly Lovely Family and Two perfectly well behaved Kids. It was a pleasure having you and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I sure hope to see you again in the future.

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen H
Avranches, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Delightful stay in historival Vittoriosa”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

From the start, Alfie was a friendly, welcoming and attentive host. He met us at the airport, took us round the village , gave us tips about restaurants, the ferry to Valletta, treated us to a drink at the restaurant 'd Centre' where we ended up eating several times during our stay! We really enjoyed their 'Rabbit stew' in particular! His advice and reassurance, keeping in touch throughout our stay, was invaluable. On our arrival, there was a welcome pack of fruit, ham, milk , bread and other essentials. Alfie took us round the neighbourhood and showed us where to go for the ferry (only 10/15 mins across to Valletta and always on time, every half hour). We purchased a weekly ticket for the ferry and also a weekly ticket for the buses, on his advice! The best was the ferry, though!
It was great to stay in an authentic, 500 year-old house in the heart of Birgu. Whilst keeping its old, quaint character, the house was spotless and had all the amenities we needed! There was TV downstairs and upstairs, but no English channels, so we were pleased we had brought our lap-top as Wi-fi was excellent and we could receive English TV on it. Mobiles, on the other hand, don't work too well inside the houses. As a result, there is a noisy neighbour, always on her mobile in the mornings, but this didn't really bother us; it gave us a laugh more than anything!
The location was excellent! History abounds in this historical little town with its quaint streets; bustling activity in the mornings and peaceful at nights. Plenty of walks and information about places to visit.
It can get chilly in Winter, because of the stone walls and floors, so we were glad we'd brought extra clothing and slippers! We fed the metre for the heating and it soon warmed up!
Finally, Alfie took us back to the airport at 5.30 a.m.; so kind of him!
We had a wonderful experience and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Alfie's place to friends! We made many friends ourselves during the stay and can't wait to see them again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of host and neighbours and the proximity to places of interest
Liked least: As it was Winter, we felt cold at times (especially in bathroom) and it was dark all day inside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for such a wonderful and detailed write up. It’s always refreshing to read such reviews.

Knowing that visitors enjoyed their stay and had value is very satisfying and is certainly on Top of my agenda.

It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and all that goes from all the stuff at the restaurant. Thank you so much for leaving the place spotless and organizing all used linen in one spot, it really does help a lot especially when time is tight.

I certainly hope to get to meet you again in the future.



Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A superb slice of authentic Malta on a stunning island”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My partner and I had the most delightful stay at Alfie's Place at the end of January. Alfie is a wonderful and congenial host who picked us up from the airport and took us to the lovely old house in Birgu which was to be our cosy base for the week. What a characterful place! The house itself has all its original old features and is full of history, as well as very comfortable. We soon realised that the region of Birgu the house is set in is something of a gem too, full of charm and quirky old streets, with an old village square and a few good local bars and shops. It also enjoys fantastic access to the whole of this gorgeous island thanks to a very efficient and reasonable bus service throughout. It really couldn't have been better and we do hope to be back again before too long! I would recommend this to anyone who wants to get a taste of the real local Maltese life, a world away from the cement tourist blocks. Thanks again to Alfie and see you again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
Thank you very much for such a great review which is always Welcomed, It was great having you and getting to know, a truly lovely couple with the best smile around :)

Also great to hear you truly enjoyed your stay nothing is more rewarding for me hear that.

Thank you for leaving the place spotless for me, it really does make things a lot more easier.

Certainly hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Alfie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing