We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We kept the best until last”

Review of Templar House

View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Breathtaking views from the roof terrace The comfortable roof terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Breathtaking views from the roof terrace
The comfortable roof terrace
Shade under the pergola
The courtyard, cool in the hot malta sunshine
Hallway
Dining area
Lounge
Living area downstairs
Kitchen
Stairwell
Hallway upstairs
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Twin Bedroom
Facade of Templar House
Typical Three Cities Street
Vittoriosa view from Valletta
Fort St Angelo, Vittoriosa
Blue Lagoon, Comino
The view from just outside the house looking over to Senglea & Valletta
The bridge to Senglea, a minute from Templar house
Valletta ferry stop, just outside Templar House
View towards Templar House, the bridge to Senglea & the Valletta ferry stop
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
JohnnyC64
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We kept the best until last”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I spent our first two nights in Valletta - a lovely apartment and a great place to visit.

Followed by three nights in Gozo - a nice villa, and beaches and swimming to enjoy.

The Three Cities and Templar House came next, and we definitely kept the best until last.

Vittoriosa is a delightful place. Walking around the pretty and very peaceful streets is an enjoyable way to spend a few hours or a whole day. Historical sights to explore, from churches to forts, and museums to visit, in particular the war museum, and the Inquisitor's Palace to 'endure', will keep you equally enjoyably enthralled.

For those interested in history, and for those less inclined to the tourist trail, the Three Cities really does 'win' over Valletta. There is always the little ferry boat to take you across the harbour to the city.

Templar House is truly spectacular. From the moment we walked through the solid front door and saw the high ceilings and the stone walls, with the centre stairway to the roof terrace, it was obvious this was going to be a very special place to stay.

Easily big enough for six people, the House is great to enjoy if you're only two, too.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and very comfortable. The kitchen is modern and fully equipped. The lounge is there if you really want it, but the roof terrace will surely keep you a long way away from the tv.

The terrace views over Senglea, the marina, and the Grand Harbour towards Valletta are stunning. In the evening time the peace and quiet are especially lovely, watching the lights over the surrounding waterways and the city come on. A perfect place to wind down after exploring the Cities.

We left Vittoriosa, and especially Templar House very reluctantly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison C
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, lovely roof top terrace views, all mod cons included”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The rental for Templar House included a courtesy pick up from the airport
by taxi. This all went very smoothly. Check in time wasn't until 4pm, but we were able to leave our luggage at the house and then go exploring..

It is situated in a friendly maltese community and the locals were always happy to assist us. The location is a bit awkward,, made worse,while we were there, by the roadworks. This impacted on the local bus routes. There is a water ferry a short walk away, for 1.5 euros, which takes you over to Valletta.
I would recommend hiring a car , if possible, as it makes it easier to get around Malta.

The house itself was fantastic. Over 4 levels , with the last level , to the roof top terrace and laundry facilities. It would not suit anyone who finds stairs
difficult. There was a welcome pack on the kitchen table, and a very thorough
booklet dealing with all things related to the house, and also information
on the surrounding area and what to see.

The 3 beadrooms all had airconditioning, and the 2 double bed rooms had
an ensuite, which were of excellent standard. There was a third bathroom
on the ground floor , which included the ground level toilet.

Templar House is a beautiful old stone house that has been tastefully renovated, and is located in a little closed end laneway . it is a hidden gem that was an oasis at the end of each day of sightseeing.

It is extremely hot in Malta during July and August - be prepared !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof top terrace for its views at night
Liked least: The location was difficult because of the road works, but they are now nearly completed
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambro73
rovereto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a nice apartment where to relax, when you are visiting Malta”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice apartment and everything is as described in the site. There's charming view from the terrace, perhaps too many steps, if you are a lazy person.
The time spent in the apartment, around the table, becomes really part of the holiday. Being close to the bus stop, it makes easy to reach Valletta or other nice destinations.
In Templar house we have spent 10 nice and relaxing days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky B
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“True Maltese experience in traditional but stylish house”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelled with older children and parents. The house is super, well thought out and very comfortable, we were 6 and the accommodation was brilliant for us, enough space and bathrooms for all. We loved the new buses and travelled all around the Island for a very reasonable €12 each (€2 for children) for 7 days, air conditioned and a welcome break from the July temparatures - perhaps not so quirky as the old buses but certainly cooler and more reliable! We loved our evening walks around Birgu and the harbour, and had lovely food in many places, including on the dockside at Senglea. The bakers off the main square was amazing and we enjoyed the morning walk for freshly made treats - the bread was delicious. We swan most days, and our favourite was the snorkelling at Ghar Lapsi, and this trip can be coupled nicely with a Blue Grotto trip (although a bit too touristy, this was still a nice trip). The owners guide was very helpful and included details of the local weekly market (Tuesday) which was very large and worth a visit. We had a super time at Templar house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interesting area, very welcoming people and quite a different Maltese experience
Liked least: Building works in harbour, but area improving and these are short term.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ings87
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Lovely House within an Historic City”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week in Malta , staying at Birgu (Vittoriosa).
We stayed at Templar House, a large Three storey townhouse, lovingly restored and furnished by the owners.
The stone built building is very impressive with incredible character.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable.
It was equipped to a very high standard with everything you should require.
We were provided with a nice welcome pack and an abundance of information about the house, also hints and tips of the local facilities, bars and restaurants which are very close by.
The wifi was efficient and extremely popular with our teenagers to keep in touch with friends etc.
The roof top was wonderful for late afternoon sunbathing and had fabulous views of the harbour by night.
A nice cool courtyard for congregating or an al fresco meal when the roof top area was too hot.
The air conditioning was a welcome addition, keeping the bedrooms cool in the hot and humid weather.
There are lots of steps both to reach the house and when inside the house, so the building is not suitable for anyone with mobility problems or perhaps young children.
Booking process was straight forward, the owner is good to deal with and very helpful.
The transport arrangements he made for us were prompt and efficient.
Templar House is an excellent retreat from the hustle and bustle of Valletta and we would highly recommend it.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing