We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Gem of Malta”

Review of Templar House

View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Breathtaking views from the roof terrace The comfortable roof terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
View of Vittoriosa from the roof terrace
Breathtaking views from the roof terrace
The comfortable roof terrace
Shade under the pergola
The courtyard, cool in the hot malta sunshine
Hallway
Dining area
Lounge
Living area downstairs
Kitchen
Stairwell
Hallway upstairs
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Twin Bedroom
Facade of Templar House
Typical Three Cities Street
Vittoriosa view from Valletta
Fort St Angelo, Vittoriosa
Blue Lagoon, Comino
The view from just outside the house looking over to Senglea & Valletta
The bridge to Senglea, a minute from Templar house
Valletta ferry stop, just outside Templar House
View towards Templar House, the bridge to Senglea & the Valletta ferry stop
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Oldpostie
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Gem of Malta”
Reviewed 23 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The view up Dockyard Creek to Grand Harbour from the Templar House roof terrace is now our screensaver on the computer, such are our very happy memories of Malta, and Templar House in particular, at the beginning of May. Situated thirty two steps up from the waterfront road along a quiet pedestrian alley, and, inside, quite steep steps between the several levels living accommodation, the house may not suit the less agile but we 60-somethings had no difficulty. It was a perfect location for us. Modern, clean, extremely well appointed and equipped, comfortable (particularly the new beds) and so conveniently situated in what must be the best area of Malta. Away from the tourist bustle of Sliema, St Julians and Valetta, yet within easy reach, Vittoriosa (Birgu) is a quiet gem of a place yet with all the facilities you need. The town is very friendly and has traditional butcher, baker, greengrocer (the quality of bread and salads were outstanding), cafe and restaurants and rebuilt traditional architecture through which you can wander with safety and pleasure. If you want to go up market you just need to walk down to the modern marina, 200m away, with its posher cafes and restaurants and even casino. A water taxi (modern RIB holding just 12 pax, so may get busy in summer for €2.90 rtn) leaves for Valetta Customs House Steps leaves on the half hour from close to the house taking 8mins. The No 2 and 3 Arriva buses (€12 weekly unlimited travel) leave from a selection of local bus stops and take you into St Paula where you can change to others taking you to most places in Malta (or you can carry on round to the terminus at Valetta for even wider choices). We did not need a hire car. We failed to get tickets for the Hypogeum (St Paula) on the internet as it books up two or three months ahead but we tried on the off-chance to pick up a 'no show' place and were lucky first time. Frankly we enjoyed our time around the Three Cities more than anywhere else in Malta and Templar House was the real star – it exceeded our expectations and we can't recommend it more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnACamb...
Cambridgeshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Holiday Destination for those seeking sun, peace, historical interest and amazing views.”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our stay at Templar House and feel totally refreshed following our week of relaxation in a sunny climate with loads of interesting places to visit and an amazing holiday letting. The house is situated in the old town area of Vitorriosa, part of the 3 cities and has been extensively refurbished in a traditional style, with real attention to detail. The house is comfortable throughout but we mostly enjoyed the roof terrace which has beautiful views over the newly extended marina. Breakfast on the roof terrace is easily arranged as there is a 2nd kitchen on the third floor and evenings are complete with a final cold drink watching the water taxi ploughing across the marina to Valetta - marvellous! There are loads of very reasonably priced eating places and the locals are really welcoming. The free taxi ride to the property is a great idea and I am sure we will be returning in due course.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof terrace was marvellous.
Liked least: There are loads of stairs - but well worth the effort.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horizongg
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“#1”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Templar House for 5 days over New Year’s Eve. I obviously agree with all positive comments that were written before, but there is on important thing that needs to be added:

The level of professionalism of Paul who rents this house is well above expectations from the first inquiry all the way to deposit return thru special arrangements/accommodations, welcoming pack and house preparation. I can say this is the “Four Seasons/Ritz” experience of renting an apartment.

I truly believe that the people who want to rent their places to foreign travelers should book with Paul for few days to see how things should be done properly.

Thank you Paul!

Few our recommendations:

- If bar/club scene is not what you looking for, Birgu/Vittoriosa area is the place to stay
- Tal Petut restaurant is THE place to go
- We loved our trip to fish market in Marsaxlokk – nice fresh fish and seafood + small restaurants, and considering that Templar House has a full kitchen, buying and cooking some of the local fish is definitely an option
- Mdina – definitely worth a trip

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location, space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenneth31
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was a wonderful house in a wonderful location. Everything that was promised was there including clear instructions and lots of suggestions for restaurants, etc.. The home was very clean and perfect for our needs. The ktichen was well supplied and the owner left some basic food supplies for us to use on arrival. We were met at the airport as promised and that was also very fortunate as we had been up since 3:30 that morning. The view from the roof top patio was amazing. The bus service was great and the bus stop was only a short walk from the house. The only cautionary note is that there are a lot of steps. The roof top patio is 40 steps from the main floor; the bedrooms about 20 steps from the main level. This did not bother us but it might be an issue for others. Aside from this, we strongly recommend this as a great place to vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cleanliness
Liked least: steps
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan1234...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views, character-filled home”
Reviewed 27 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely, clean and well-appointed house filled with character. Arriving very late at night the "welcome pack" of coffee, water, wine and food basics was indeed welcome! The roof terrace was wonderful, a great place for breakfast or drinks at sunset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 161
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing