We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
29
8
3
8
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
8
3
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews egyptian theme perfect waves restaurant staff location is great amazing surf rooms are big sri lanka statues sea surfing villa
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

What a pleasure it was to stay here for 4 nights. Air con worked well. Nicely spacious rooms. Always clenched when I returned from matches. Staff is very friendly. The buffet food is absolutely amazing. I enjoyed the gym to the fullest. Lovely beach view and swimming pool clean and the hotel self is very well.looked after

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank strandloperwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelkabalana, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Valued guests,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kabalana,We were delighted to have you with us.We look forward to welcome you again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel looks amazing on their website but does not live up to the four star standard. The location by the amazing beach and surf break is perfect and the pool area is very good. We stayed for one week in two different family villas. The first villa had only one bed and the windows could not be closed, there was not enough towels toilet paper or soap when we checked in. The second villa had one king size bed and one extra bed at ground level by the pool. The room smelled of moist wood and it was really dirty, lots of damage to the floor and walls from water and moisture. The bed was so hard, it was like sleeping on a towel on the floor. No curtains by the windows so it gets really bright in the morning and the noise from the traffic is very disturbing. Cleaning every day but they didn’t change the bed sheets once and we had to ask for a simple thing as toilet paper twice. The website says free soap, toiletries, shampoo, bathrobes, slippers, wine glasses etc etc, we didn’t get any of that even if we asked. The food in the restaurant was good and the breakfast was very good, lots of food to choose from. Overall we had a pleasant stay but it’s not a four star hotel and the staff could be more helpful. The pool guy was really nice to us and very service minded.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelkabalana, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kabalana,I am extremely sorry to hear your experience.Allow me to find out what exactly has happened and get back you with an update,making sure the same thing won't happen to any of our valuable guests.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

this hotel is based on egyptian theme with statues from egyptian culture all over the place right from entrance to rooms. Rooms are really spacious and well ventilated with excellent wifi. incase you can manage a sea viewing rooms its a bliss with nature in front.the dining facilities are good partially in and partially out over looking sea.. the vegetarian fare especially Indian vegetarian is limited....on request an effort was made. the beach really clean and has surfing facilities with coaches. overall its a very pleasant experience. The lobby manager is pro customer and is interested in resolving issues if any.

Room Tip: beach facing rooms are best
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prasadcvr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelkabalana, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kabalana.We at Hotel Kabalana were please to welcome you and looking forward to welcome you again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

This Egyptian-style hotel is beautifully located right by a lovely beach, favoured by board surfers, which makes for great viewing. The rooms were rather large and airy and beautifully decorated. Unfortunately there wasn't one chair to sit on, nor were there any stands for luggage. The AC was hardly functional and the Western commode was a fancy electrically operated on with bidet and all. However one day the power went off and the standby generator was not operational so the lift, commode all went kaput. Poor service and housekeeping took ages to respond to any request. Our rooms were road facing and the highway traffic all through the night made sound sleep impossible.

Room Tip: Never take a room facing the road
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvsmohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This hotel was truly the highlight of our trip. Most amazing view from the hotel. Amazing service. Amazing food. They sure have put a lot of thoughts while designing this hotel. Anyone would love to stay here. We were here for 1 night because of our itinerary but the next time we will be visiting Sri lanka, we surely will stay here throughout our trip. Simply amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancymehta06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelkabalana, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kabalana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Valued guests,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kabalana.We look forward to welcome you back.Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews