We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice slightly old fashioned hotel”
Review of Falls Of Lora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falls Of Lora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good place to stay with comfortable beds and pillows. Nice view from our window though we didn't spend long in our room which was small but ok for an overnight stay. Breakfast wasn't as good as dinner in the evening which was very good indeed. Service and staff were great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Moored in the marina on Kerrera, so took the short water taxi into Oban. Fancied something a bit different for a change, so walked up Gallanachmore road to pick the car up and thought we would try the Falls of Lora Hotel for our evening meal. We have been coming to Oban for more than forty years and the falls was one of the few pubs that allowed children inside in those days, how things have changed. Walking inside little has changed, it is like stepping back in time, it is lovely. Found a table and ordered our meals, steaks for both of us, wine for Jen , coke for Jasper. The meals duly arrived, well presented and looking delicious which they certainly were. So pleased we revisited this old haunt, sure we will not leave it so long next time, next year for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jasper719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon entering the lobby to check in the look is almost that of an old hunting lodge with dark wood and mounted trophy heads. The staff at check in were exceptionally friendly. Asked if we would be dining with them for the evening noting that it would be wise to make a reservation. When we declined they were more than helpful in suggesting places in town for a meal or just for drinks. Our room was in the newer section of the hotel on the second level. I would note that if there were elevators available we did not see them and their location was not offered. It was a bit of an inconvenience hauling two large bags up the steps. Our room was modern, clean, comfortable and a little larger than most rooms we encountered in Scotland. There are also older style rooms in the older section of the hotel. That evening we stopped into the pub / restaurant and found it quite busy with hotel guests as well as locals. Breakfast was included and OK.Certainly n better or worse than anywhere else we stayed on the trip. Service was quick and was welcome as we were off on an early start each day. Very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel, the lack of an elevator notwithstanding.

Room Tip: Would suggest asking for a room in the newer section or the older section depending on your personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RWSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

On first entering the hotel, I wondered what on earth have I booked but I must say the hotel grew on me the longer I stayed .The fact that I had a corner bath instead of a shower was a small problem for me apart from that the room was very comfortable .Breakfast was adequate but the portions could have been more generous.that said I recommend this hotel and will return to it in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Just a one night visit on a quick trip to see friends. Loved the ambience of the hotel and the thought that had gone into making a single room welcoming and attractive. Will certainly stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pam635836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
7.1 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
7.1 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,812 reviews
7.2 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
7.2 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
7.1 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Of Lora? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Of Lora

Address: Connel Ferry, Connel, Oban PA37 1PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Connel
Price Range: ₹ 7,736 - ₹ 12,979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Of Lora 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falls Of Lora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Of Lora Connel
Falls Of Lora Hotel Connel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing