We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great local pub, great service!”

The Vineyard Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 21 - US$ 138
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You'll find The Vineyard nestled in the heart of Lamberhurst, with a beautifully landscaped large garden, terrace and decking area overlooking the extensive vineyards. The atmosphere inside is cosy, with log fires and traditional oak beams and wood-panelling. The menu features farm fresh food alongside a new artisan wood fired pizza oven. If you fancy spending a little more time in the beautiful surroundings of The Vineyard then you can also book one of four unique rooms.
Reviewed 28 May 2021

First timers and - it was lovely! Food was great, atmosphere was friendly and it was wonderful to be around other people clearly also enjoying themselves. Was great to be able to sit outside on a sunny evening under the spacious marquee, but the highlight was the staff and service - special shout out to Charlie who was exceptional. Made us feel so welcome and we will definitely be returning. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frankie12345678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Vineyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Thank you! We are so pleased to hear your first visit to us was so lovely. Charlie will be delighted with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2021

We have eaten at The Vineyard countless times since moving to the area 5 years ago. The standard has always been exceptional, from the quality of the food, the excellent wine and and superb service. Our visit this time was the first since the pandemic hit and we were not disappointed at all! We were sat in a very spacious and ventilated marquee and were looked after by Saffron who was excellent from start to finish. She was attentive and interacted with our children superbly spending just the right amount of time at the table! The food was amazing as always and we can't wait to start coming back more regularly as things keep getting back to normal!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephenlZ6989YM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Vineyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Your kind comments will be passed on to Saffron who will be delighted to hear she was able to make your visit so enjoyable. Its amazing to hear you're such regular customers, we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

Came out for lunch with my other half today and we were served by the lovely Jasmine!
Pleasant and quiet country pub with cocktails that go down far too easy! (the Strabwrry Collins!)

Jasmin was attentive, chatty, knowledgeable regarding the allergens on the menu and kept our drinks topped up throughout our lunch - an asset to the team!

We'd definitely recommend the vineyard for a nice cosy atmospheric lunch in the country.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Hell0imSarah91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elitepubs, Owner at The Vineyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021

Thank you for such a lovely review - Jasmine will be delighted with your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021

We visited for a Silver Wedding Anniversary meal and also stayed overnight in the onsite accommodation. Plenty of on site parking is always a good start and the overall feel and atmosphere on the site is very welcoming and friendly. The outside areas are large and I imagine in the Summer months the place is a hive of activity with outside bars and loads of seating but it was quiet on our visit. The staff inside were all very welcoming and friendly and once shown to our room (more later) we decided to head to the bar for a few pre-dinner drinks.
Again service was prompt and pretty much faultless all night, the lager was cold and they had an excellent range of wines with some of our favourite Chapel Down wines on the menu. This was probably our only negative throughout the whole night, and hardly a huge issue, but the table we were initially sat at near the back doors does feel a little like you are sat in a corridor. There was also a door adjacent which a steady stream of people walking outside kept leaving ajar so we were forced to keep getting up to close the door as it was cold outside. After a couple of drinks , for some reason, this didn't seem to bother us quite so much anyway!
This small issue was soon solved though as the waitress, who was excellent all night, took us through to the restaurant table we had booked which was near the large Pizza oven and was very pleasant and felt intimate and comfortable.
Food was of a very good standard and I thoroughly recommend the Pancetta and Asparagus, Halloumi Fries and Harissa and Rye Bay Cod Fillet.
Price was reasonable for the setting and quality of food in my view coming at around £160 (Including 10% Service charge they add to the bill) with that obviously including our impressive drinks bill (we wont disclose how many bottles of the excellent Chapel Down we managed)!
The rooms are very nice with each having an outside space with a table and chairs , which would be very pleasant in the summer no doubt. Bedding was clean as was the room and the rain forest shower was superb. The upstairs bedroom is reached via a very tight spiral staircase which was a slight adventure negotiating in the dark at 2am to go down the use the bathroom but otherwise it was fine and the bed was very comfortable. The bedroom area is a little cosy shall we say with low eves (I am 6'4'') but I managed to negotiate it without banging my head and it was no real issue.
There was nobody on site when we left in the morning so it would have been nice for them to tell us what to do with the room keys in advance but we figured something out.
Overall a lovely evening and comfortable stay. I would certainly stay again and you will have trouble finding fault with the food and drink if you have a similar experience to us. Well worth the money and also kudos to the staff who were never anything but efficient, warm and friendly.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheHolps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elitepubs, Owner at The Vineyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. Your amazing feedback is extremely appreciated, and will be passed on to the team who will be delighted to hear your comments. Its amazing to hear the staff were able to make your experience so enjoyable, and we are pleased the Chapel Down went down so well. We are already looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021

Absolutely amazed at the good quality and service at the Vineyard. Went for my brothers belated birthday celebrations and Judit was warm and friendly and we just generally had a great time. Really reccommend - also felt very covid safe!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Alyssa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elitepubs, Guest Relations Manager at The Vineyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Thank you for leaving us a review. Judit will be so pleased with your kind comments and its lovely to hear you felt safe with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vineyard Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Vineyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.