We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse(Rothbury)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Turks Head(Rothbury)
US$ 102
US$ 99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newcastle House Hotel(Rothbury)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haven(Rothbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
141
142
55
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
142
55
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvoucher dealpienext morninga living social dealan overnight staynice atmospherechristmas giftthe pubroom was spotlesstop floorstayed one nightsalmonan evening mealfish and chipsnice stayate heresense of humour
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We stayed in room 14 for 2 nights (Fri and Sat). This is a good hotel but made even better by the Chef, the food here is amazing, so fresh and locally sourced ingredients at a reasonable price, the Chef (Bob) is the heart of this establishment and made us feel very welcome. After eating from the menu in the bar on the first night we did not hesitate to book a table in the restaurant for the 2nd night too. The breakfast is very substantial and beautifully presented, Lyndsay our server was very pleasant and attentive. The room is basic and a little dated but our linen and room/bathroom was immaculately clean and had all the necessary amenities. The staff really make this place a joy to visit. Even though on the Saturday night there was live music playing in the bar we did not hear a thing in our room. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hello Jennifer,

Thank you for leaving us a review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the area. The music was excellent but not too loud. Will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff.

Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

My mother and I had Wowchers for 2 nights here; very good value even when we were in separate rooms. The rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable beds with lovely bedding, great hospitality tray. The TV was very small, but we made a lot of use of the charming lounge with huge TV, 4 sofas, books and magazines. We ate here both nights and the food was delicious; the Thai green curry I had on the first night was one of the best I have ever had, and I have dined at many Thai restaurants! A slight disappointment was the presence of ales from Cornwall, Burton & Suffolk, but no local Northumbria brews! Breakfast was very well cooked and the produce was a high quality. I was also impressed at how attentive the staff were at replenishing coffee, milk, juice etc. The hotel is very well located on the main street in Rothbury. I'd love to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hello,

What a lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you used the lounge, so many guests forget its there. We have had the Thai green curry twice and it is delicious, we had a job sourcing some of the ingredients but worth it. Sorry about the ales, we are restricted as to what we are offered but try to get more local beers when we can. I do hope you visit us again, do stay in touch for special offers for returning guests, we will always match any offers you see.
Thank you
Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on a Sat eve with mum & dad, they’d mentioned they spent their honeymoon here 53 years ago so couldn’t resist the temptation to assist them in returning, Teresa was very accommodating, allocating parents room 3 as dad has limited mobility, we had room 16 & if there was anything negative it was way too warm, opened window & turned radiator off, rooms were clean & comfortable & we enjoyed the breakfast it was delicious & plenty of it, would satisfy the heartiest of appetites, don’t expect it to be served immediately though as cooked to order, do think a little more attention to no coffee in the pot, no milk or orange juice, shouldn’t be something guests have to raise, can be uncomfortable doing so, we liked having access to the lounge, were able to chill out in comfort with a big tv as a family before heading down for our meal. The on site bar was homely with a few patrons ordering food, however when we returned from our meal in the restaurant it was really quiet, staff were great getting dad cushions to assist him with both comfort & ease of getting up from the chair, even the table was moved to accommodate his drink, couldn’t have been more helpful, thank you for making it an enjoyable stay for them, it meant a lot.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hello Sharon,
So sorry about the lack of coffee etc when you came down for breakfast, a new waitress who will be trained up, thanks. I am struggling with the heating as some people think its cold when the heating is on 24/7 lol, I am forever fiddling with timers. So pleased you and your parents enjoyed your stay, it must have been very strange returning after 53 years so its lovely to hear they enjoyed it. Will pass on your comments to the staff. Thanks for the lovely review. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Lovely stay in this hotel for 2 days ...our room was up in the gods (as we say)twin beds ..very clean and everything you needed , however a bit dated...but didn't spoil our stay . The free breakfast was amazing ,plenty of choice . Cooked to perfection the full English. Enjoyed our time there .

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hi Karen,
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us over New Year, we hope you will be able to come and stay with us again, we will be updating all areas as soon as there is a gap in the diary. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.
Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here from the 24th Dec till 26th Dec , we had two rooms booked , room 15 , 16 , . Now the shower in one of the room did not work , you could not turn it on at all , we mentioned it to the person on reception who seemed surprised it did not work . Then on the the day we left 26th December we woke up to no heating in are rooms & the shower was cold as we But I would like to point out that the staff had no idea how to deal with the issue of the shower & no heating
I got the impression they wear't botherd really

Other than the issues above we enjoyed the bar meal we had on the evening of the 24th Dec.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hello John,
So very annoyed that your issues were not dealt with, the shower does work but because of a faulty part the mechanism was bypassed until we get the new part and the plumber put a temporary fix on the side of the on/off control. The heating is set to come on at
6-30am but on the morning of the 26th there was an issue with one of our boilers as the pressure had dropped too low. Because of holiday cover a lack of communication meant that the staff on duty were not up to speed on the issues so can only apologise for the lack of empathy and customer care.
Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews