We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage, Lovely Area”
other travellers have booked this property
Deveron holiday cottage overlooking the river coquet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deveron holiday cottage overlooking the river coquet
Deveron Holiday Cottage View out of Deveron holiday cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Deveron holiday cottage overlooking the river coquet
Deveron Holiday Cottage
View out of Deveron holiday cottage
Lounge at Deveron
Front hall and stairs at Deveron
kitchen
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Front lawn
Rothbury park near Deveron
Rothbury village green
Cragside House near Deveron, Rothbury
Rothbury Bridge
Rothbury bridge in winter
Front of House
Dining Area
Kitchen/Diner
Double
Twin Bedroom
Lounge
Twin Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Double
Lounge
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Second Double
Lounge
Main Double Bedroom
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diane1971
Central Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage, Lovely Area”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just back from a week's escape here with my parents, husband and 2 boys (aged 12 & 8). The cottage is lovely and so well equipped (had everything you could think of and more). It overlooks the river, so is nice and peaceful location. Adequate space for the 6 of us. Just a minute or 2 to walk into the village where there's lots of quaint shops and lovely places to eat and chill. The park is just along from the cottage (it's not got much but there's grass, so with 2 boys & a football, all is good). You could also take time to feed the ducks - they're very greedy. This area is great for their "Sunday carvery", so be sure to fit that in on a Sunday. Ideally located for lots of site seeing. Particular favourites are Cragside, Wallington, Alnwick Castle/Gardens and Chillingham Castle. If you fancy a bit further afield Beamish museum is great for all ages. The men also like to fit in a few games of golf and I'm assured the golf courses are excellent! All in all I'd thoroughly recommend Deveron cottage & hope to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cosy, homely feel of the cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith N
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great base with everything you need for a good holiday”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house is in a very nice location very close to the river, The house is well equipped and has been very nicely decorated. The owners were very nice and helpful.
The house has a spacious kitchen diner, lounge and three good bedrooms.
This is a good place to be based to appreciate the beauty of Northumberland.
We found the neighbours to be very friendly and helpful.
We had a great holiday 4 adults and two children

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRed73
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Cottage”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My children (16,12 and 8) and I stayed in Deveron Riverside Retreat for 4 nights in late March. The cottage is in a lovely location right next to the river with east access for cars and parking. The town centre, playpark and ice cream parlour (most importantly!) are all in easy walking distance. The cottage has everything you could possibly need for a stay away from home. There are many eateries locally but I chose to cook in the beautiful kitchen and it well equipped. Once I figured out the heating / hot water it was quick to heat the house (essential in Northumberland). The huge bath takes some time to fill but is well worth the wait for a luxurious soak. The shower is powerful and easy to use. Overall a nice time was had by all of us. The only slight problem we had was that some of the neighbours were very noisy at night which could be a problem with young children. However, it is a semi-detatched house and some noise is probably inevitable and it wouldn't put me off staying with my older children. Thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonPengi...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, definitely recommended!”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Everything about this cottage was outstanding, from the riverside location to the extra touches around the house, there wasn't a single negative. We spent most of our time out and about visiting various attractions around Northumberland, but we still found time to wander about along the high street and go heron spotting down the river.

The owners popped by to check on us at both check-in and check-out, and were extremely friendly and helpful.

If we come back to Northumberland in the future, this place will be our first option.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi373
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely, great location, quiet and very comfortable.”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Great place to stay, nicely equipped and in a quiet location, just a short walk from the town, with a variety of places to eat.,good choice of shops,grocery,butchers,bakers. We can recommend the Queens Head, wonderful food of great quality. Most places of interest not very far away to visit. The Coast well worth a drive to see various castles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing