We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Neuk

River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
The Master Bedroom has a stylish double bed, wardrobes and chest of drawers
The second bedroom is a twin and has a single and a large day bed.
The extremely well equipped kitchen includes all modern appliances and a slimline dishwasher
River Neuk is deceptively spacious with it's large entrance hallway
The outside space is landscaped and provides a lovely spot to sit and enjoy the sunshine.
The outside space is landscaped and provides a lovely spot to sit and enjoy the sunshine.
River Neuk offers a small secure courtyard, ideal for letting the dog out and increased security.
Plenty of games, cards, DVDs and even a Wii Games Console to entertain the kids!
The stunning riverside views & children's play area - less than a minute walk from River Ne
The beautiful Village centre of Rothbury, River Neuk is just yards from here.
With local views like this River Neuk is the perfect base to discover the Heart of Northumberland.
Great country pubs nearby, with great views from the beer gardens!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mrs Lesle...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

River Neuk is a delightful, clean, comfortable, home from home country retreat. On entering you immediately felt at home and soon realise there is everything you could possible want, the owners have paid attention to detail to make it so. A thoughtful welcome hamper and fresh flowers are a lovely touch. Tucked away in the centre of Rothbury with everything you need on the doorstep, a hidden gem. We would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work hard to try and make sure our guests have a good experience at River Neuk so we are thrilled to hear you found it a home from home. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and would definitely choose to return again. Thank you again for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time in the cottage at Rothbury. We were lucky to be there for the traditional music festival and enjoyed, for some of the week, glorious weather. Rothbury is an excellent place from which to explore the northern part of Northumbria, both coast and country. River Neuk was the perfect place to them come back to in the evening. I would heartily recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Many thanks for leaving your review. It's great that you caught some of the Rothbury Traditional Music Festival. The festival is a small friendly, community based music event which draws musicians and singers from all over the UK, sharing music and Northumbrian traditions. It takes place over 3 days every July so if you were to return to visit us at the same time in the future you might just catch it again! Thank you once more for your review and also for saying you heartily recommend us to others. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felnomad
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylish and spacious apartment”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A spacious and nicely furnished apartment in a quiet location right in the middle of Rothbury. The shops are on the doorstep, but because the apartment is tucked away down an alley it's quiet and private. The river, which is a lovely place for an evening stroll is just a few steps away. Parking wan't a problem at all - on the couple of occasions we couldn't park on Church Street by the green, we parked on the other side of the river and came over on the footbridge. We'd definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
We very much appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your time at River Neuk. It is also good to hear you really liked the location and although there is no parking directly outside the property I'm pleased to know this wasn't too much of an inconvenience. As you say, it is usually possible to park close-by and the bonus for us is that being located down a quiet alley there is no traffic noise and we are so close to the river too. Thank you for your review it would be our pleasure to have you return again to our holiday home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caz7250
2 reviews
“Excellent property everything you could want & more!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic property excellent location with all the amenities you could want & more. Attention to detail is excellent & the lttle extras of fresh flowers & welcome hamper are a very thoughtful touch. would have no hesitation in recommending this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
I just wanted to say a big thank you for leaving such a great review of River Neuk and for you lovely comments in my guest book. I really do appreciate you taking the time to do that it means such a lot to us. I know you originally only intended to spend a week in Rothbury but loved the area so much you wanted to stay another week and I could not be happier we could accommodate you at River Neuk. The feedback we receive is really important to us to ensure our guests are happy with the service we provide so I am extremely grateful for you doing that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you for your "Amazing" review! We could not be happier to hear how much you liked River Neuk and the surrounding area. We very much appreciate you talking the time to post your review and to recommend us so highly. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 390
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing