We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Lovely Playa Azul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Playa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Playa Azul
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Lovely Playa Azul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Just got back from Playa Azul. Excellent place to have a relaxing holiday. Plenty of food, so there is always something to choose from, after a couple of meals the canteen like appearance of the dining room is never noticed. The Staff are so willing to please and believe me they do work very hard indeed, I admired every single one of them. Thanks, Tito, tien, Isobel and the lovely Lady from Brazil. There is a lovely safe beach, use the steps, although they are steep it is better than using the road. The pool at the Hotel is quite lovely, and a little sun trap. A good value Hotel, I loved it!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea facing room. The views are superb and sunny. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    405
    104
    19
    9
See reviews for
196
660
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel exceeded expectations in all respects. I travelled with my sister and we were able to upgrade our rooms to sea view rooms even though at the time of booking with Saga we had been told all sea view rooms were gone. This meant we had that magical view whenever we wanted. Staff in all areas were professional and friendly. Food choice was varied and hotel in all areas was spotless. It is easy to travel around the Island on the local buses with the bus stop just across the road from the hotel. Mix of ages staying in hotel, which was good. Although we are older travellers we certainly did not want to be in an exclusive Saga hotel.I would definitely reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do request a sea view. Quite breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathR313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Just returned from a week in playa azul. Booked it last minute so didn't know what to expect.
Couldn't have made a better choice, Rosa was on reception when we arrived very bubbly friendly lady so helpful. Had a lovely sea view , room very clean and a lovely walk-in shower. Room cleaned everyday and towels changed. The restaurant staff were very friendly and the food was excellent.(particularly loved the mussels marierner (if martin reads this he will know)!!
Steps to beach but well worth it. The pool was lovely and clean and looked lovely at night.
Jorge in the bar seemed moody when we arrived but we soon sorted him out and after that he always had a smile. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and would definitely return. One comment (as seems by a lot of people) the room should have tea/coffee making facilities otherwise BRILLIANT!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

just returned from weeks holiday,at the azul.great hotel, brilliant food choice,great staff,spotlessly clean.dont know how all inclusive drinks will work in busier time of the year definetly would go back again,every thing at hand,bus to mahon outside hotel,great beach.only fault we got put in between a family of six ,the Adams family,NIGHTMARE, staff soon sorted them out,gave us a better room problem sorted,loads of sun beds,

Room Tip: get a bungalow if possible,if not a sea view,ask not to be put in between families as walls are thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We have just returned from 1 week at playa azul from 3rd to the 10th october and we had a brilliant holiday!
The weather was amazing for the time of year and we loved everything about our holiday and will definitely be returning!
The room was lovely and spacious with twin beds (pushed together), large wardrobe, flatscreen tv and a large modern bathroom with double sinks and a bath and shower. we had a balcony room without a sea/pool view but this didnt bother us as we were hardly in our room only to sleep, and upgrade is available if you wish.
Room was spotlessly clean on arrival and cleaned everyday with fresh towels provided.
We thought the food was very good for an all inclusive hotel with lots of variety so we didn't get bored and there is a wide selection of drinks available too,(if you like a hot drink when you wake up bring a travel kettle) we would definitely recommend going all inclusive as the restaurants are not cheap.
The pool area was great and very clean with lots of sunbeds and chairs and tables it had a very relaxing atmosphere with a view of the sea.
We loved the beach, it was very good for swimming with shallow clear warm water, the 181 steps are well worth it!
Overall a brilliant holiday!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Porter
16.3 km away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
9.5 km away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
25.5 km away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
27.8 km away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
5.6 km away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Azul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Azul

Property: Hotel Playa Azul
Address: Paseo Maritimo, 27, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Porter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cala'n Porter
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,792 - ₹ 19,590
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During the winter of 2009, the Hotel Playa Azul has undergone a full refurbishment including a brand new, fabulous, outdoor swimming pool, overlooking stunning views of the bay and stylish, contemporary guest rooms. Popular with both families and couples this is a great choice for a relaxing holiday. In a privileged position on a hilltop, overlooking the rocky headland and sea is the Hotel Playa Azul. Just 200 metres away from the sandy beach, which is down a set of steep steps, the panoramic views are amazing. Located near to the commercial centre, the local shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife of Cala’n Porter are all within walking distance of the hotel, and downtown Mahon is just a short bus ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Playa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibb Playa Azul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing