We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Agamenon
Nearby Hotels
US$ 226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 211
US$ 169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 196
US$ 180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Almirante - Collingwood House(Es Castell)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Son Granot(Es Castell)
US$ 204
US$ 199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 80
US$ 68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Biniarroca Hotel(Sant Lluis)(Great Value!)
US$ 177
US$ 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalonia Mirador d'es Port(Mahon)(Great Value!)
US$ 115
US$ 107
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hostal Horizonte(Es Castell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sa Torre Des Sol(Es Castell)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
301
178
49
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
178
49
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscala fontsthe busresidential areaplenty of choiceminute walkolder clientelecorner roomlounge and dining roomevening mealplenty of sunbedshired a carper weeknight lifequiet hotelbuffet stylesuperb viewspublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Had this hotel booked by business partners. Spent a couple of days there and I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christophe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I visited Menorca for the first time in May 2012 and stayed at the Agamenon for 2 weeks. For us it was an excellent choice.

Firstly, we want a 4 or 5 star hotel with rooms that have balconies and sea views. The Agamenon can't fail (assuming you accept that the large Mahon harbour is the sea) because rooms on both sides of the building have these views.

Secondly, we want a convenient location both for walking out of the hotel down to the Es Castell harbour area (which is pretty and lined with restaurants) and for trips out (there is a half-hourly bus service into Mahon, from where there is an excellent bus service to main towns on the island). We and many of the other hotel guests would also walk into Mahon, about 30 mins, much of which is along the Mahon waterfront and marina. Another excellent alternative is Carlos's water taxi from Es Castell harbour to Mahon.

Thirdly, we want a hotel with decent rooms, good food, and friendly, helpful staff. The rooms were smaller than in some hotels and short of drawers but they were fine, and we were perfectly comfortable there. The TV carried all 4 main UK terrestrial channels. The restaurant (and lounge, which is above the restaurant) has magnificent views and it wasn't necessary to get a table right by the windows, although these were often available (no fixed places, sit where you want). The staff were excellent and often on very friendly terms with guests who return to the hotel year after year. The food was typical hot and cold buffet style with lots of choice at bot breakfast and dinner. We also snacked in the bar or by the pool a few times, but had to start sharing these meals because the portion size was too much for us at lunch (bearing in mind we had big breakfasts and dinners too). Nothing unusual about the food generally but very nice nonetheless.

We have a short list of hotels that we pay return visits to and we shall now add this one to our list.

Room Tip: The block is built north-south (-ish). The rooms on the east overlook the entrance and small car park (no noise problems) but face towards the sea and the entrance to Mahon harbour. In the afternoons the balconies are in the shade; this suits us and we would choose one of the rooms again. Those on the west overlook the pool/garden area face Mahon town and marina, but are in full afternoon sun. Some guests prefer one side, some the other. There are some rooms right on the end with a view both ways but I believe these are smaller.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MikeDChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Each year we come to Mahon on business and our hosts booked us in here on our first visit - it's not the type of hotel we usually stay in, but 5 years later we have kept coming back! It's a typical package holiday hotel for the over 50's - half board at reasonable rates, buffet breakfast and dinner, small but adequate bedrooms and bathroom, entertainment a couple of times a week i.e. faux flamenco and singing! Most of the clientele are Brits, apart from a smattering of Spanish cabin crew,
However... the staff are incredibly friendly, brilliant at their jobs, the hotel is immaculately clean, the pool is delightful (although overlooked by apartments) and the views over Mahon harbour fabulous!
The Agamenon is like a favourite great aunt - pleasing and dependable - but no Madonna!!

Room Tip: Choose room 512 - top floor corner room - views over bay and Mahon harbour
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Joannaflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Great position with superb views over Mahon harbour.
Good pool and rooms .
Bar and lounge comfortable but slightly stark as is the Dining area.


Overall great value and we will use again for short breaks.

Room Tip: Book a North facing room in high season as it will be cooler. Air con adequate but not super chilled.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My father and I decided to return to Menorca after a twenty to thirty year absence – and we were not disappointed. We arrived on 11th May after a two and a quarter hour flight from Luton Airport direct into Mahon, and we were sat by the pool for lunch – how good is that?
On arrival at the Hotel Agamenon, we were greeted at reception and our luggage was taken to our room enabling us to take a peek around the property and enjoy cold drinks by the crystal clear pool.

Everywhere at the hotel was sparkling clean, shiny marble floors, immaculate gardens. There was a well-stocked bar and comfy lounge chairs – and a lift that worked the whole time we were there! At the suggestion of a family member who recommended this hotel, we enquired about having a corner room on the 4th or 5th floor as the views were stunning … and also having read through readers’ reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel had only just re-opened on the day we arrived for the summer season, and each of the corner rooms had already been reserved. We were given the keys to two vacant rooms from which to make our choice. One room on the 5th floor had views over the harbour from the rear of the hotel, but the room we chose was on the 4th floor (room 415) from which the balcony overlooked the pool and the harbour to the right and straight ahead – where we were able to view lots of different types of vessels from small rowing boats right up to the daily morning ferry and cruise-liners. All very exciting.
We later learned that the corner rooms are slightly smaller than other twin or double rooms and are popular with single guests – although can be very exposed to the breeze from both sides of the balcony.

Our room was spacious, with a great balcony, table and two chairs. We had twin-beds and two fitted wardrobes with ample drawer space, plenty of space for cases, a mini bar (excluding ice-maker,) TV with most of the main UK stations (although not Sky.) The bathroom was extremely clean, everything worked (shower, hair dryer, soap and shower gel dispenser) and there were plenty of clean white towels. We were given the option to have clean bed linen every other day, and clean towels daily – so we could do our bit for the planet!
We gleaned from Trip Advisor reviews, that tea and coffee making facilities were charged at 17.50 euros per week, so we took our own “dinky” electric kettle (bought from Argos) which came with two small cups (not forgetting an adapter) and took our own coffee and sugar.
The hotel is in a residential area, only a 10-15 minute stroll to Es Castell which has a small harbour and choice of restaurants and a few shops – although once the summer season gets underway during June, evenings are when the harbour comes to life and is fantastic to visit, shop, eat and drink. There are also a range of craftspeople selling their wares on the slope from sea level up to the road above.

Breakfast and dinner at the hotel is buffet style and you can eat what you like as much as you like – we had the half board option included in our package, so we ate dinner for FREE! Breakfast has all the usual suspects you expect and love, with the addition of freshly baked breads, fresh fruit, Spanish Cava (bubbly) and ice cold mineral water. There were two coffee machines from which to use along with a selection of all types of tea.

Dinner is something else – a fantastic array of hot dishes including vegetarian options, Paella, seafood and salads to die for. Every evening a different soup is available – all as fresh as can be, beautifully arranged and lovingly prepared by their chefs. Also, everything was regularly replenished – so you won’t go hungry here. There is a varied snack/lunch menu available inside or out by the pool with waiter/waitress service. In fact, all the hotel staff were exceptional, prompt, happy and willing to assist with any request. Even the maids became friends. Breakfast is served at 7.30am each day and 8.30am on Sundays. Dinner is served at 7.30pm. There can sometimes be a bit of a rush, particularly for the tables closest to the windows overlooking the harbour – but we simply waited for the rush to die down and took our time from about 8.30pm onwards. The sunsets were gorgeous, especially when returning to our balcony to just enjoy the views. Stunning is an understatement!

I must add that this hotel and its facilities are great for anyone with mobility difficulties – a lift in the bar/lounge which goes down one floor to the dining room and I am reliably informed that they also have designated rooms for less able guests.

A trip to Mahon is a must, and is served well by a local bus service nearby – although we did arrange car hire through Thomas Cook in Borehamwood, Hertfordshire. Here’s a public warning to all about hiring cars on Menorca. Watch out for the additional charge of a collision damage waver of 9 euros per day (which we declined when collecting our car at Mahon Airport,) and instead was talked into having 649 euros blocked on our credit card! The additional 126 euros for our two week holiday would have meant that the car hire offer of £160 Sterling, was not as good as it was presented by Thomas Cook. That said, on our return we did raise the issue with Thomas Cook and were told that IF the 649 euros were charged back to our card, then they would give us a refund. Thankfully we had no damage during our use of the car – and although we are yet to check our card statement to ensure the money had not been taken, fingers crossed nothing will be untoward. We heard from one guest who was collected at the airport and taken offsite to a hut, where he was made to feel uncomfortable about the use of his credit card and the amount being charged, so he insisted not to proceed and to be returned to the airport – where he simply got transferred to the hotel and arranged everything satisfactorily there. Please be warned!

A number of Holiday representatives attend the hotel to assist with any issues – as well as to promote and arrange coach tours from one end of the island to the other. We chose not to go on any tours this time, as we had toured the island in previous trips. A couple of beaches we re-visited included nearby Es Grau and Cala Mesquida – definitely worth visiting for a quiet dip. Dad and I just wanted to chill and enjoy the sunshine which tipped 28-30c between 11th and 25th May – I think we had a couple of days with some early morning rain and a strong breeze, but otherwise we love this trip to Menorca and are looking to return again soon. Happy days!

We must recommend our favourite restaurant called Bar Espana in Carrer Victori (just up from the square, which used to be populated by the Military.) Meal of the Day is served every day (except Mondays,) between 1pm and 3.30pm, which offers a varied three course meal with a bottle of wine – exceptional value from 10-13 euros. There is of course, an a-la-carte menu in the evenings and I will review this restaurant separately to do it justice – but suffice to say that Sir Richard Branson and his family eat here when on the island, as they own a property close by.

Room Tip: 4th and 5th floors definitely good choice for best views, not necessarily on corner as can be very breezy. Look out for inclusive Half Board options - terrific value.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PegasusPete5781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews