We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Giles Heathrow - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Feltham
Limassol via Mansfield U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We normally stay at the St Giles Heathrow whenever we go to the London area. The city is easily accessible from the nearby rail station and there is good access to the attractions of the Greater west London area. This was our 4th visit but our first in 4 years. My goodness, what happened?!! Everything good about the hotel has simply vanished. Not sure if its been taken over and only limited staff employed, but we won't be staying again until things vastly improve.
If you do go, don't bother with the breakfast. To describe it as awful is too kind a word. The "restaurant" area was dirty with half cleaned tables after previous guests had eaten earlier. No "across the board" cutlery, Our second morning (why didn't I learn from the first), I ate my scrambled egg, hash browns and beans with a spoon!! There was no bacon at our time of eating (9.00), the sausage was not taken due to the contents of the sausage skin, the previous morning they tasted like...well I don't know what it was, but it wasn't sausage meat and I'm sure paper would have tasted better. It was just a tasteless soft mush. The beans were luke warm, but aided the digestion of the hash browns. We never finished the breakfast on that second morning, the wife had had enough.
The room. I'm sure there were no earth tremors in the London area recently, yet our room had a huge crack in one wall, from ceiling to floor. A lick of paint wouldn't go amiss either. The room/carpet itself was reasonably clean. The bathroom was adequate, with a good shower, easily adjusted for different heat settings. Cheap bog roll has been introduced, not quite as bad as the stuff you used to get in the school toilets but not far off, (remember that horrible thick greaseproof type paper that never ripped properly or got everything off it was made for...sorry ladies)
I can't really comment on the staff as there were so few around. One behind the desk, 3 in the restaurant, 1 of which was the cook and about 3 girls (on our floor) looking after the rooms. Never saw the concierge during our 3 days.
We did sleep however, so no issues with the mattress or bed. Noise from nearby Heathrow was not an issue. Heavy thick curtains ensured the room remained dark even in daylight.
If you are a plane spotter, ask for room ending even. Good views of take off and landings on Rwy 09R/27L.
Finally they have introduced a charge for car parking, 7 quid for 24 hours or part thereof. Not sure how long ago this happened. Clearly some cars have been broken into recently, judging by the broken window glass in some parking bays, thankfully none during our weekend. This is a risk you run unfortunately around the Heathrow area as I have experienced in past years, not at this hotel I might add.
So come on St Giles, wake up and sort it all out. Major refurb in all areas including food and staff training required. You can be good again!

Room Tip: Plane spotters ask for a room ending even for good views of take offs and landings on Rwy 09R/27L.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennystag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    263
    288
    111
    108
See reviews for
143
234
87
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the St Giles as a stop-gap hotel one night between destinations, it was cheap for the area at £48 but it was a grim hotel!

The rooms were very far from fresh, with a mucky feeling carpet with holes cut in it. The whole room and bathroom felt grubby and tired. The TV was small and all instructions were in Dutch, not English... There was quite a lot of noise from the hall and rooms above, and as we stayed on Guy Fawkes night the fireworks went on until 01:30 and were very loud in our room (I know this is beyond the hotels control) and noise from airplanes was also bad all night.

The buffet breakfast was the worst thing; you had to queue for ages and then the waiter tried to sit us on a table with other people, whilst singles had been sat on two/four person tables alone. There were no hot vegetarian options, except rock-hard scrambled eggs and watery looking beans. The muesli was chalky oats with sultanas mixed in, the toast cheap naff bread, with one toaster for a large room of people. On top of this, you had to pay for parking, which was £7 for 24 hrs.

I would not return to the St Giles as did not sleep well or have a good breakfast... I'd say stay in a Travelodge - it'll be nicer!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riotstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed here one night prior to an early(ish) flight from Heathrow, and got a great deal of room + 15 nights parking for £75. Friendly reception, room OK – a bit tired, although the bathroom had been recently renovated. Surprisingly, the bed was only a standard double, although the room was plenty big enough to accommodate a king-size ( or even super-king). Having said that, the bed was pretty comfortable and aircraft and other local noise was very subdued. We didn't use the hotel restaurant, which looked OK, but walked to Wetherspoons (less than 5 mins) for a couple of beers and then to the very good Nepalese restaurant 50m from the station.
In the morning, check out was very quick, and less than 100m away is the bus stop to Heathrow (15 mins by bus 285 for T1 & T3, 25 mins by bus 490 for T4 & T5).
If you're arriving by train, probably better to stay at the Travelodge, but if you want to park the car, this is a good deal.
martyngs

Room Tip: Probably better on the side away from the railway and as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We recently needed to stay near Heathrow overnight to catch an early morning flight and we also needed parking while we were away.I had read a good review of this hotel in the travel pages of a Daily Paper so decided to give it a try.It is within just a few minutes walk of restaurants and shops and only 15 minutes from the airport.The parking is in the hotel's own car park(through a barrier).While the hotel looked a little weary on arrival,the room was clean and comfortable with a coffee maker and the front desk staff were very obliging and pleasant.Although the shuttle bus service to Heathrow that they advertise has ceased(they need to stop advertising it!)they arranged a taxi which was £14 for 2 people,one way.The cost of the room for one night with up to 15 days parking was just £105.We stayed on a week night but I think it may be even cheaper at the weekends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Lincolnshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We found details of the St Giles Hotel, Feltham, in the Saturday Telegraph Travel Supplement when someone else was enquiring for somewhere to park their car and stay in a convenient hotel for travelling from Heathrow.
As we were due to travel from Terminal 5 on British Airways, we gave them a ring. As we were staying on a Saturday and Sunday evening, the prices were very reasonable. £75 for room only including carparking and £50 for room only respectively!
We weren't expecting a 5 star hotel for this amount but did expect a nice clean room and helpful staff. We were not disappointed. We did have to queue for a while on arrival but that was due to a delayed flight from India arriving just before us!
We ate in the Restaurant and the menu was reasonable. The pasta was good and the drinks reasonably priced.
The advantages of this hotel are it's closeness to both the bus stop and the railway station. The bus is the way to get to Heathrow cheaply and takes about 30 minutes. £2.40 each. Have change with you as they prefer the right change!
The railway station is the way to get a quick journey to London. Ask a member of staff if you don't understand the prepayment machine - we did!
If you need to stay on a week day (Monday to Thursday) the cost is higher. £105 including parking or around £80 room only. Parking is in their barrier controlled car park so hang onto your ticket for when you return . . .

Room Tip: You can upgrade your room if you pay more. The standard room we had was value for money and adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheilaLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feltham
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles Heathrow - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Heathrow - A St Giles Hotel

Property: St Giles Heathrow - A St Giles Hotel
Address: Hounslow Road, Feltham TW14 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Feltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Feltham
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,636 - ₹ 6,115
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles Heathrow - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel, good sized airy bedrooms, located across from Feltham railway station with easy and quick access to Twickenham, Richmond, Waterloo and Windsor. Shopping facilities within 3 minutes' walking distance as well as 14 screen cinema,large bowling complex and good selection of fast food outlets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Giles Heathrow - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Heathrow Hotel
St Giles Heathrow Feltham
St Giles Heathrow - A St Giles Hotel Feltham, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing