We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Value for Money”
Review of Hesperia Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hesperia Lanzarote
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Value for Money”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We've just returned from a superb week at the Hesperia. I understand some people debate whether this is 5 or less stars but considering we booked using Tesco Vouchers through Cosmos the holiday was amazing value. Forget the stars you are getting an awesome hotel for little more than £70 per night for b&b.
Location - Quiet location in upmarket setting
Food - Breakfast is excellent - all tastes are catered for and all food is fresh and well cooked
Rooms - we asked for a room with a double bed and were immediately switched no problems. The room was well presented, clean and had everything we could need. We asked for extra pillows and they arrived within 5 minutes
Reception - Very helpful staff all round and Free WIFI !!
Bar - not much atmosphere could do with modernising
Hotel in general - All i can say was as the minibus stopped to dropp us off (1st stop) everyone went Wow!! what a posh looking hotel - They were right

Suggestions: The hotel could do with a small shop, similar to bigger hotels in Playa Blanca and Costa Teguise. There could be more events offered in the resort. The bar area needs updating.

Room Tip: Rm 635 has a double bed and is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kuiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,362
    1,393
    585
    190
    113
See reviews for
1,098
2,496
122
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is one of the most geographically different islands I have ever been to. It is a volcanic island which is very barron and desolate with minimal plant life and an abundance of solidified black volcanic ash everywhere. Even people's houses do not have grass but they have a layer of volcanic ash instead. Quite amazing and well worth the visit to them excellent island.

The Hesperia at Lanzarote is a fantastic destination and one I would definitely come back to. Being from Australia, it was a rare event for Australians to go to this location as it is more well populated by UK, German and Spanish speaking visitors. There are no direct flights from Australia to Lanzrote so you will need to connect from any number of European destinations to get to Lanzarote which is part of the canary island group and is a small island group of 7 (soon to be 8 with another volcanic island that is growing just beneath the surface) about 160km to the left of the Sahara desert in Africa.

None-the-less, it was a marvelous adventure. It is a Spanish speaking country and most of the staff can speak "a little to advanced" English. Lanzarote only has 28 days rain a year so you can almost be assured you will have dry conditions for your stay. Rain is quite rare.

The hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport so transfers are pretty quick. the hotel has very good rates for rooms and is one of the cheapest I have ever been to in low peak periods. Unbelievable to say the least. It is well appointed with a very large and nice reception area. Very spacious and lots of things to do.

The rooms are equally as well appointed with a large bedroom area, plenty of cupboard storage, a large bathroom area with a bide. I've never been to a place with a bide before so this was an unusual treat.

The rooms in my deal had free wifi and reception gave you a password that lasted the entirety of your stay.

There was a desk and comfy seats in the basic room which again was a nice treat.

The hotel has a number of large pools - about 3 in all which shallow entries and deeper areas for swimming. They all are close to the bars and restaurants so is easy to get snacks or drinks as required.

There is a great bar at the foyer and a number of restaurants to go to.

The breakfast area is very well appointed and they serve a very wide array of cereals, fruit, eggs any way you want them, coffee, tea, meats, yoghurts and plenty of pastries. You will not be disappointed for breakfast

Meals from the restaurants lunch and dinner are well ranged and there are plenty of nice foods to choose between. They even have English subtitles on the menus so you can understand what you are ordering. Meals are reasonably priced.

Activities are wide and assorted. They have bikes you can hire, submarine adventures, winery tours, kids club, volcano tours, golf tours, TV room, spa, gym, walking trails and a short walk to the beach to swim at the ocean if you like.

There is an activities desk who can help you with whatever you want to do.

My only complaint:

They make you pay to use an iron or have a kettle on your room. I have never ever had to do this and found it an insult.

Room Tip: So many to choose from. If you want to be away from the main area, it can be a bit of a walk to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishinwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Have stayed here last March and very good hotel and staff. Tried to book this year using web site booking. Beware. Rate calendar showed that if we moved our holiday forward by a week we could get a big saving. We paid to change flights then tried to book on the web site. The quoted rate was €48/night Vs €100 a week later. Although Calendar continued to show these rates and in fact still shows these rates a week later as soon as we hit the book it button we were informed rate was double. hotel says it is a bug on web page. Customer service at NH hotels says too bad how sad. Will not honour rate and did not fix web page. So be careful site is misleading and spoils once taste for hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selebi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Because of dietary needs we used the self service restaurant. The live cooking chefs could not have been more helpful and we ate well and healthily every evening.

All the staff in the hotel were friendly & helpfull.

Only down side was the pools were cold because of a problem with the solar heating.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

What we love it:
1- The hotel is a great 5 stars resort. Huge reception, 3 restaurants, amazing swimming pools at different levels and the most complete breakfast we ever had. A cook was there to prepare different food and more than 400 products available every morning.
2- The hotel is located in a very quite area.
3- There is parking available for free.

What we didn't like:
1- The room, at least the one we had, was not new neither modern equipped, bathroom old fashion, furniture's in the room very old. No "real" door at the wc but just a glass. Temperature quite cold in the room. At all for a 5 starts hotel. There was not good noise isolation. One could hear the other customers going by at the corridor.
2- Our flight was very early in the morning and unfortunately could not enjoy the breakfast buffet we had the right to have (really a pity!). We asked for a bag to take to the airport and to our surprise we were told that for a called "picnic" bag we would be charged!!They just prepared in the lobby coffee and some cakes for early fliers from 4am. That was very disappointing!
3- There was spa & wellness but the prices were amazing high, even being a customer of the hotel.

Despite all these comments, I'd go back again just for the things we love it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carmela_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
12.4 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
8.6 km away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,413 reviews
23.9 km away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,720 reviews
12.3 km away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
10.9 km away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Lanzarote

Property: Hesperia Lanzarote
Address: Urb. Cortijo Viejo, C/Hesperia, 1, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,316 - ₹ 21,376
Hotel Class:5 star — Hesperia Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hesperia Lanzarote is located on the easternmost island of the Canary archipelago – offering guests a tropical respite from the stresses of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hesperia Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Lanzarote Puerto Calero
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing