We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't speak german....don't go!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Esquinzo
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Don't go to this hotel if you're not German.
The hotel was full when we stayed there and we only found two other english speaking people.the food was geared towards the german,s,the entertainment was in german(including things like the bingo!),the bar and waiting staff had real issues trying to understand us,they really tried,don't get me wrong,but we felt really uncomfortable as they all spoke german...not even spanish!!
the adjoining beach is lovely,however,there is a big nudist section and they don't stay in the nudist section,they walk up and down the beach,which can be uncomforatble especially when you have kids.
it was not cheap to stay here,and we felt like total out siders.
would not recommend because of this.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank familywills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 123 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2008

Date 20 Febuary 2008
2 Adults
Sunrise Club Paraiso Playa, Jandia. Fuerteventura. All Inclusive.

The Holiday was booked fifteen days before travelling with Airtours Direct and after checking East Midlands Airport we decided to fly from Birmingham as this was £250 cheaper for the same holiday! Do be aware that Airtours charge a late booking fee of £30 if you book within 14 days of your departure date so keep this in mind if looking for a late bargain.

The check in desk formalities were a breeze and we went to departures, foolishly we decided to purchase a ‘Birmingham Flyer’ breakfast this was by far and away the biggest waste of money ever at £6.00 each for an extremely small ‘meal’ which consists of low quality food poorly presented on badly washed plates.

The MyTravel flight was on time and was typical of a package holiday short pitched seats etc but this is what you now expect, the meal and service acceptable, except the entertainment system was broken so a pretty boring flight altogether.

Arrival and luggage reclaim was really very quick and we went to the Rep who directed us to coach E10 it really is quite a walk to the new bus park so do get a trolley. However Juan the bus driver decided he was not going to our hotel and we could not board his coach. Another long walk back to the Airtours desk convinced us that the E10 was indeed our coach and a phone call to Juan with a few raised Spanish voices convinced this belligerent driver to allow us the privilege of riding on his coach. The transfer time was about an hour with a few drop offs on the way.

As we were the only drop off at the hotel check in was quick and smooth a very helpful receptionist who spoke good English told us all the facilities and explained the way to the room very well. The safe is quite expensive at 3 Euros a day and a 10 Euro deposit but the safe is huge and took all our valuables and DVD player with ease. We found our room on the fifth floor with ease and settled in.

The room is not spectacular but is clean and adequate the beds are comfortable and the pillows surprisingly o/k the patio style door was way out of square and when shut had a 4-5cm gap at the bottom. There is a TV but only news and Eurosport in English plenty of wardrobe space and air conditioning. The bathroom is clean but tatty looking due to poor tiling missing grout and a low quality shower curtain and a lot of cracks in the walls causing the mosaic tiles to be uneven and cracked. The cracks in the walls, floors, balcony and everywhere is worrying, a walk around the complex reveals major movement and cracks everywhere staircases have been closed off and steel replacements installed, cracks you can put you hands in have been either filled in or cheaply covered up it seems the hotel which is only 6 years old had been poorly built on unstable foundations this will not interfere with your holiday unless the place falls down when you are there We had paid an additional amount for a ‘deluxe / superior room’ but have no idea what this was for possibly a sea view but don’t bother to pay extra as all the rooms seem to be the same it certainly was not superior or deluxe.

We found all the staff to be amongst the most helpful and friendly we have ever come across. All the facilities are clean the restaurant excellent and the food hot and varied including proper thick bacon at breakfast. There is a table allocation system for the evening meal which means you may end up sharing your table with strangers but invariably they are of the same nationality, There are two sittings for evening early and late we were on the late sitting and found the system to work well, all other meals you turn up and sit at whichever table you like.
The snack bar near the pool is the main place during the day for drinks and snacks ranging from salads to hot dogs all good and varied. The coffee is mainly supplied by machines but if you like better coffee ask at the bars and you can have fresh coffee to your requirements. Unusually you are not discouraged from filling drinks bottles to take away so take a refillable bottle and you don’t even have to buy water.

The main bar at night gets quite crowded but the wait for a drink was never above a couple of minutes the drinks are local brands but are acceptable quality the all inclusive ends at midnight but if you want a drink up to 1am you can pay for them. The Bar staff are the most efficient that we have had the pleasure to come across.

The animation team work hard throughout the day and night and provide the entertainment most nights with the odd ‘professional’ act thrown in overall the entertainment is really quite good.

The hotel is quite a way out of Jandia it will take about two hours to walk along the beach and the Taxi fare is around 7 Euros Costa Calma is a bit further there is no acceptable way to walk via the road. There are no hotels or shops near this hotel but there is a small hotel shop which sells virtually nothing you would want and is only open from 10:00 until 14:00, also there is nowhere to walk to at night so you will have to stay in the complex or use taxis. It is defiantly not a hotel for any body that is not reasonably fit being set as it is on a sloping site.

The Hotel is very close to the beach this is accessed via quite a few steep steps however these are in very good repair with a good handrail and the sand and sea are absolutely fabulous with some naturists baring all but don’t worry its really not an issue.

The mix of nationalities at the hotel is predominantly German with French and Spanish and the smallest group is the British but again this is not an issue. In fact our view is you could easily stay at this hotel and never spend any more money it really is quite unusual.

The return coach pickup and transfer to the airport was on time and the check in at the airport was quick and the only delay was at security with people trying to get liquids through in there hand luggage it’s really not that hard to understand it needs to go in the hold baggage.

The flight home was delayed after the brake on the airbus overheated whilst taxing so we had a three hour delay with no work carried out on the plane the following may interest you. During this episode the Pilot told us a startling fact that there is only on airplane technician in the whole of the canary islands he works for Monarch airlines and his location was unknown, we laughingly thought all airports had technical staff that could have a look and perhaps effect a repair. So with no work on the brake carried out we set off, whilst having a complementary drink as compensation and landing three hours late.

Conclusion
Great holiday despite indifferent weather the hotel is really well run and located on a stunning beach staff are hardworking and friendly. We would recommend this hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank PcDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2008

Went for some winter sun with my mate and her family. Weather was poor at first but brightened up. Animation team were fab, French and germans pleasent enough. Food was poor not enough choice, had to ask for chips! warning the beach is home to Nudists, and the hotel could do with a general lick of paint. Not ideal for less mobile people, lot of walking to and from different areas of the hotel and beach is 103 steps! Overall very good holiday. Rooms were fantastic but no stocked mini fridge anymore, it would of been nice to have the fridge for water (which is not available in bottles for free, you have to buy from shop and fill up) Hot water went off one night and the staff apart from animation do not speak very good English so couldn't communicate the problem

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank mrsdohertyplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2007

This is a fantastic hotel , real good amenties and right above a smashing beach , staff really good and work hard to make your stay enjoyable.
Yep theres lots of germans and dutch so us brits are the minority, dont see why this should spoil your time there as most seem chatty and eager to test there english . would go back again in november , weather great and hardly any wind.
10 out 10 for me !!

Stayed: November 2007
9  Thank diggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2007

I went there with my daughter in Aug, just the two of us, the hotel is BEAUTIFUL! the surrounding area is breathtaking, the staff where pleasent but their English wasnt great. The beach was beautiful with torquiose water and honey sand, the pools where clean and the self service bar was well stocked. The rooms where lovely and kept to a high standard of cleanliness. The buffet food was average, catering mainly for Germans and being a vegetarian I was extremely limited to rice as there was very little non-meat food available, I tried to request a veggie option from the waiter but unfortunalty he didnt understand, although the dining room staff where very attentive. On the down side.... The hotel shop was meagerly stocked with very little bottled water, this proved a problem as there where no other shops on site and the only filtered water available was in the dining rooms which where only open a strict times, this proved dangerous when I had an upset stomach and became dehydrated. The winds where strong, much stronger than a blowy day in the UK, making the overall tempreture quite low, there was a few days when sunbathing became rather dangerous with ashtrays and rubber rings flying about. The hotel was brimming with Germans, the entertainment was spoken in 3-4 different languages which became tedious to listen to and was very basic, the kidz club was German with no attempt to recriut the only British child into their playtime. The nearest towns where 15 mins by bus either side of the hotel, they where less windy and proved a cheap way to take refuge from the winds. The beautlful beach was ruined by a herd of fully naked Germans who where well passed their sell-by date, my 11 year old got her eyes opened on more than one occasion on our 15 mins walk along the shore. When the wind subsided on our 2nd last day the strong sun was a welcome change. All-in-all a beautiful place, due to the wind a few minor complaints became very annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank emmat160279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquinzo
4.2 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
1.5 km away
Fuerteventura Princess
7.9 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Hotel Fuerteventura Playa
Hotel Fuerteventura Playa
#20 of 27 in Costa Calma
982 reviews
4.1 km away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#17 of 73 in Pajara
5,156 reviews
1.4 km away
Club Jandia Princess Hotel
Club Jandia Princess Hotel
#8 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Club Paraiso Playa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Club Paraiso Playa

Address: Lomo de Acebuche s/n | Esquinzo, Pajara, 35620 Esquinzo, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Club Paraiso Playa)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Esquinzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Esquinzo
Price Range: ₹ 9,560 - ₹ 16,290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SBH Club Paraiso Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SBH Club Paraíso Playa is a modern hotel in the Esquinzo Beach, a hotel to enjoy the holiday, with activities designed for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SBH Club Paraiso Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Club Paraiso Playa Hotel Marabu
Sunrise Hotel Fuerteventura
Sunrise Hotel Paraiso Playa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing