We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
57
12
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
12
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdream valleyshark ray alleysmall kitchenettefishwhite sandbelize cityparadise on earthprivate marinasmall beachall inclusive packagebar tenderboat captainsea turtlesthe entire staffthe cottagessnorkel tripevery meal
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Minutes from Belize City (by boat) this fabulous tiny private island was the perfect weekend get away. The little cabana was lovely.

Simply fabulous to sit out on our deck and have breakfast looking at the water. The beach was literally "steps" away. Kayaking around the island took a mere 20 minutes.

Staff was exceptional. Thank you Roddy for making the trek over to our cabin with drinks, meals and daily offerings. Chef Aaron was willing to whip up anything we wanted and our meals were always fabulous on our deck and in the dining room. Sherlynn checking in to make sure we had everything we wanted.

If you want a little piece of sun and sand without being overrun by a big crowd this was a great spot. The perfect location for a family gathering or group of close knit friends that just want to hang out.

Room Tip: Cabana #1 was picture perfect
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZYTOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We spent a day here as a retreat after hectic, hot, humid mission work in Belize City. While the week had been rewarding and blessed, our team was exhausted. This was the ideal place. It isn't high season and it was hot, hot weather. But sea breezes, quiet, multi-shaded blue water are balm the soul. Small island, like a preserve. Great cove beach with paddle boards and kayaks. Dining room above the water, lodge lounge room, bar pavilion. Boat trips to snorkel, dive, hunt lobsters. Friendly and helpful staff. Great food buffet with fresh seafood and fruit. They even responded to my lactose intolerance by providing alternatives.
Keeping this off my 5-star list were maintenance issues. Our cabana was lovely, charming, clean. But, one door lock was broken (repaired), one outlet in our room, and the ceiling fan didn't work. The wall air conditioner was controlled by a remote that didn't work. The staff accommodated and tried to get all working. A friend and I spent an uncomfortable night. Electricity went on and off on island every so often.
We loved the snorkeling and lobster hunt. Jairo the guide was great and informative. But their masks, snorkels, and fins were inexpensive and too well used. Two of my 3 didn't work well. Investing in better quality equipment will help guests' experiences.
Overall, I would stay here again in spite of the above issues.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank kcw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Visited the resort as part of a company staff retreat. We didn't stay at the resort to sleep but we spend the day here.
The location is the best part. The crystaline turquoise waters are beautiful, and everyone has access to the Kayaks if you want to kayak around in the very calm, shallow, clear sea that surrounds the resort.
The staff is also very friendly and the food we ate was good.
There is a very comfortable lounging room if you feel like you need to get away from the beach and the sun for some time.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Gian Marcos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

we were a family of seven who just happened to come across a write-up about this island off the beaten path. being boaters we thought it would be nice to take a boat to an island. anyway, we were met at a designated spot and taken to the waiting boat. I had a bit of a hard time getting onto the boat but there were enough hands to help me on. after approx.20 minutes we arrived at the island. from the minute we set on the island we knew we were in paradise. its self made island. of cement. but there is sand on top. 5 houses. where the owner and the 12 mbr staff live. we were excorted to the beach, which was white sandy. no shells or rocks. the water was crystal clear from all shades of blues. lounge chairs were waiting for us to sit in the sun as well as the shade. water sports were available. so the family took off on kayaks. a very able and helpful staff member (sorry I forgot his name) gave instructions and then followed the family around the island. we were then taken to a beautiful shaded setting for a fabulous lunch of cerviche, chicken, and dessert was lime pie. 2 drinks were included in the price. there was absolutely nothing you could complain about at royal palm. the price was right. and we were treated like royalty. as I said we all felt like we were part of the rich and famous. loved every minute of it. can rent also by the day there are houses for rent. and 3 meals a day served.

Room Tip: there were no rooms. you used the facility of the beach and restaurant. small souvenir shop.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rosemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

This place could be amazing! A beautiful private island within easy reach of the city/airport with just 5 bungalows directly fronting onto the beach. But unfortunately - based on our 5-night stay in January 2016 - it is poorly managed (maybe not helped by a managment member reportedly havng left in late 2015), leaving guests at times bemused and frustrated!

There is little I would disagree with in the recent reviews by Yann_LC78 and Ferntrekker - several of their comments/complaints unfortunately sounded depressingly familiar, so I won't dwell on these again now.

I would add that some modest changes could vastly improve the guests' experience. Basic things such as providing a menu of inclusions/options for everything from food to drinks to activities would be very helpful - we felt we had to ask for everything specifically and figure a lot out ourselves which is tricky when you don't know what is/is not feasible. The restaurant and bar/palapa could be vastly improved - neither area invites guests to linger so everybody escapes to the "safety" of their bungalows immediately after meals. While some staff were great others try to be overly formal but then fail in providing basic service. All of this creates a strange, almost eerie, atmosphere given the small size, seclusion and silence (no piped music) of the resort!

Having said all that we enjoyed our stay a lot - especially our last couple of days as by then we had some understandng of the workings of the place. It is a great resort to relax away from it all. The views are indeed special and I would be amazed if anywhere more impressive is available within such close proximity to Belize City.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulM2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews