We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Palm Island Resort
Reviewed 1 May 2016

we were a family of seven who just happened to come across a write-up about this island off the beaten path. being boaters we thought it would be nice to take a boat to an island. anyway, we were met at a designated spot and taken to the waiting boat. I had a bit of a hard time getting onto the boat but there were enough hands to help me on. after approx.20 minutes we arrived at the island. from the minute we set on the island we knew we were in paradise. its self made island. of cement. but there is sand on top. 5 houses. where the owner and the 12 mbr staff live. we were excorted to the beach, which was white sandy. no shells or rocks. the water was crystal clear from all shades of blues. lounge chairs were waiting for us to sit in the sun as well as the shade. water sports were available. so the family took off on kayaks. a very able and helpful staff member (sorry I forgot his name) gave instructions and then followed the family around the island. we were then taken to a beautiful shaded setting for a fabulous lunch of cerviche, chicken, and dessert was lime pie. 2 drinks were included in the price. there was absolutely nothing you could complain about at royal palm. the price was right. and we were treated like royalty. as I said we all felt like we were part of the rich and famous. loved every minute of it. can rent also by the day there are houses for rent. and 3 meals a day served.

Room Tip: there were no rooms. you used the facility of the beach and restaurant. small souvenir shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rosemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2016

This place could be amazing! A beautiful private island within easy reach of the city/airport with just 5 bungalows directly fronting onto the beach. But unfortunately - based on our 5-night stay in January 2016 - it is poorly managed (maybe not helped by a managment member reportedly havng left in late 2015), leaving guests at times bemused and frustrated!

There is little I would disagree with in the recent reviews by Yann_LC78 and Ferntrekker - several of their comments/complaints unfortunately sounded depressingly familiar, so I won't dwell on these again now.

I would add that some modest changes could vastly improve the guests' experience. Basic things such as providing a menu of inclusions/options for everything from food to drinks to activities would be very helpful - we felt we had to ask for everything specifically and figure a lot out ourselves which is tricky when you don't know what is/is not feasible. The restaurant and bar/palapa could be vastly improved - neither area invites guests to linger so everybody escapes to the "safety" of their bungalows immediately after meals. While some staff were great others try to be overly formal but then fail in providing basic service. All of this creates a strange, almost eerie, atmosphere given the small size, seclusion and silence (no piped music) of the resort!

Having said all that we enjoyed our stay a lot - especially our last couple of days as by then we had some understandng of the workings of the place. It is a great resort to relax away from it all. The views are indeed special and I would be amazed if anywhere more impressive is available within such close proximity to Belize City.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulM2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We stayed here 4 nights last year, there are only 4 bungalows and we were lucky enough that we were the only booking during our stay - what a luxury to have your own island with attentive staff to look after you...

Stunning beach, very nice bungalows, picture postcard views and such helpful staff.

We actually got engaged here, and the staff made such effort to help me in making it a wonderful occasion!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank garethleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

My girlfriend and I came to Royal Palm for Spring Break. We wanted a vacation away from the Spring Breakers where we could enjoy the sun and relax. Royal Palm delivered just that! It was a slice of paradise as another guest quoted. We payed for the all inclusive package, and stayed 6 nights.

Our Cabana had a mini fridge where they stocked beers and sodas with. They also had a drinking fountain in the room.

Arrival: We were greeted at the airport by Charles, who drove us to the marina to take the boat to the island. The marina, is where they have their main office, and boats docked. Charles was very nice, and made us feel welcomed and safe. The boat ride was 30 minutes. When we reached the island we were greeted with fresh squeezed orange juice, which was delicious!

Charlene,the manager, brought us to our cabana, which had the most breathtaking view we had ever seen. All the cabanas include air condition, which works very well. She then brought us around the island to show us around. Charlene was very nice, and welcoming during our whole stay. She made sure we had everything we wanted, and asked us what we wanted to do everyday.

Food: Was excellent! We had so many great meals! The chef defiantly knew how to make different variations of food. She made fish in several different ways, fried and grilled chicken, pork, steak, shrimps, ceviche ( Which was amazing!) To bad she couldn’t come back with us to the states! They also had really great deserts, and fresh fruits. Our server, Aaron was very friendly, and he gave us tips on what to do in Belize. Rodwell, bartender, made really great mojitos! You should also ask for a “Wat-u-ma-call-it”, which is their signature drinks. Taste like marguerite and mojitos mixed. It’s delicious!

Excursions: We decided to do Shark Ray Alley, where Hiro their Captain, and Benny Co-Captain took us to swim with fish, turtles, Sharks, and Sting Rays. This experience was amazing, and Hiro definitely knows his way around the waters. He is very knowledgeable, and made us feel safe in the waters. Hiro, also took us fishing, and we caught barracudas. We asked the chef to grill them that night, and they were delicious!

My girlfriend also received a massage from Yessi. Which she said was relaxing, and exactly what she needed after a day out in the sun.

Wifi: The resort includes free wifi. The wifi during our visit worked great everywhere, until last two days because of heavy winds. However, the wifi worked great in the restaurant our whole stay. However, what do you expect when you go to a private island in the middle of the ocean. We just wanted to post pictures to make friends and family jealous!

As other guests said, they have a center Palapa where it is all set up for a Bar. The last two days of our stay they set it up and had Rodwell there almost all day to prepare our drinks. I believe the Palapa should be the main bar, and a bartender should be there almost all day, everyday, in order to order drinks. They had reggae music playing which gave our visit a more island, relaxing vibe to it. It was nice to go to the Palapa, order drinks, and just hang out and talk, while enjoying cold drinks.

Charlene also informed me they were going to get a bbque grill to put out on the beach, so the chef could prepare meals outside on the beach. Which i believe is a great idea for future guests. They will be able to catch their fish, and cook it.

Tips: Air conditioner will be colder if you keep the fan off.
Make sure to do the Shark Ray Alley excursion, its truly unforgettable.

Our stay at Royal Palm was relaxing, with great customer care, and a beautiful setting! We had an amazing stay and defiantly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valiente G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

This place is unique. A heavenly island with turquoise waters, on a small caye surrounded by mangrove. The 5 beach bungalows offer great comfort and a beautiful view to the sea. In principle, this is invaluable and would explain the price.
BUT, that being said, when you pay a such price you expect perfection, which unfortunately is not reached....

Food for instance is good (Fish, chicken, shrimps), but, as mentioned in other comments below, not outstanding or fancy, and seriously lacks variety and special events (for instance, no way to have lobster, no outdoor barbecue despite perfect weather and barbecue available...). It's a real all-inclusive : we didn't pay for anything on-site BUT you have little variety and you have to request anything you want.
Also, we were surprised that there is no bar (the palapa one was never open when we were there) and you cannot find a staff member at some time (afternoon for instance) as everything is closed...

Staff is really nice, always smiling and willing to help if you have a request. However, beyond good will, we found the overall service a bit amateur... For instance, no regular presence on the beach : if you want a drink you'd have to look in your minibar (see next point) or seek someone around the island (there's no go-to place for drinks and snacks). Also, lack of anticipation in service : no refill of the minibar if you don't ask (twice) for it. Same with the water fountain in room. And you would then wait a solid hour for it... For such a price, you would expect better service than that.

Wi-Fi is a bit slow and only works from the central areas (palapa, restaurant), not in the room.

Last thing : the boat for transfer doesn't offer any protection, which can be a real issue if you arrive or leave under the rain...

Quick tips on-site :
- kayaking around the island is very nice; 500m on the left you'll find a small secluded beach for instance.
- snorkeling from the beach is very poor : with mangrove and sand, the water is not clear enough; so, despite the price, I recommend the snorkeling trip to Shark Alley and Hol Chan which is a must. And their "captain" is extremely knowledgeable and kind. A perfect day excursion!

Overall, we keep a great souvenir of this unique place, with unique landscape and probably the most beautiful balcony view we've ever seen, but the cost was way too high for the service.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank CarnetsdeYann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's Caye
14.3 km away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
38.9 km away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#21 of 55 in San Pedro
288 reviews
20.1 km away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 55 in San Pedro
365 reviews
36.8 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
38.4 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Island Resort

Address: | Little Frenchman Caye, St. George's Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > St. George's Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. George's Caye
Price Range: ₹ 22,302 - ₹ 49,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prices shown are per person sharing a 2 bedroom cottage. Each cottage is designed to comfortably sleep 5 people (combination of adults and children). Each bedroom can be configured with one King bed or two single beds and the lounge has a comfortable sleeper settee for a 5th person. Children under 12 pay a reduced rate and children under 2 are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Palm Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing