We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
59
12
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
12
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dream valley shark ray alley small kitchenette fish white sand belize city paradise on earth private marina small beach all inclusive package bar tender boat captain sea turtles the entire staff the cottages snorkel trip every meal
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016

This place could be amazing! A beautiful private island within easy reach of the city/airport with just 5 bungalows directly fronting onto the beach. But unfortunately - based on our 5-night stay in January 2016 - it is poorly managed (maybe not helped by a managment member reportedly havng left in late 2015), leaving guests at times bemused and frustrated!

There is little I would disagree with in the recent reviews by Yann_LC78 and Ferntrekker - several of their comments/complaints unfortunately sounded depressingly familiar, so I won't dwell on these again now.

I would add that some modest changes could vastly improve the guests' experience. Basic things such as providing a menu of inclusions/options for everything from food to drinks to activities would be very helpful - we felt we had to ask for everything specifically and figure a lot out ourselves which is tricky when you don't know what is/is not feasible. The restaurant and bar/palapa could be vastly improved - neither area invites guests to linger so everybody escapes to the "safety" of their bungalows immediately after meals. While some staff were great others try to be overly formal but then fail in providing basic service. All of this creates a strange, almost eerie, atmosphere given the small size, seclusion and silence (no piped music) of the resort!

Having said all that we enjoyed our stay a lot - especially our last couple of days as by then we had some understandng of the workings of the place. It is a great resort to relax away from it all. The views are indeed special and I would be amazed if anywhere more impressive is available within such close proximity to Belize City.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulM2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We stayed here 4 nights last year, there are only 4 bungalows and we were lucky enough that we were the only booking during our stay - what a luxury to have your own island with attentive staff to look after you...

Stunning beach, very nice bungalows, picture postcard views and such helpful staff.

We actually got engaged here, and the staff made such effort to help me in making it a wonderful occasion!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank garethleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

My girlfriend and I came to Royal Palm for Spring Break. We wanted a vacation away from the Spring Breakers where we could enjoy the sun and relax. Royal Palm delivered just that! It was a slice of paradise as another guest quoted. We payed for the all inclusive package, and stayed 6 nights.

Our Cabana had a mini fridge where they stocked beers and sodas with. They also had a drinking fountain in the room.

Arrival: We were greeted at the airport by Charles, who drove us to the marina to take the boat to the island. The marina, is where they have their main office, and boats docked. Charles was very nice, and made us feel welcomed and safe. The boat ride was 30 minutes. When we reached the island we were greeted with fresh squeezed orange juice, which was delicious!

Charlene,the manager, brought us to our cabana, which had the most breathtaking view we had ever seen. All the cabanas include air condition, which works very well. She then brought us around the island to show us around. Charlene was very nice, and welcoming during our whole stay. She made sure we had everything we wanted, and asked us what we wanted to do everyday.

Food: Was excellent! We had so many great meals! The chef defiantly knew how to make different variations of food. She made fish in several different ways, fried and grilled chicken, pork, steak, shrimps, ceviche ( Which was amazing!) To bad she couldn’t come back with us to the states! They also had really great deserts, and fresh fruits. Our server, Aaron was very friendly, and he gave us tips on what to do in Belize. Rodwell, bartender, made really great mojitos! You should also ask for a “Wat-u-ma-call-it”, which is their signature drinks. Taste like marguerite and mojitos mixed. It’s delicious!

Excursions: We decided to do Shark Ray Alley, where Hiro their Captain, and Benny Co-Captain took us to swim with fish, turtles, Sharks, and Sting Rays. This experience was amazing, and Hiro definitely knows his way around the waters. He is very knowledgeable, and made us feel safe in the waters. Hiro, also took us fishing, and we caught barracudas. We asked the chef to grill them that night, and they were delicious!

My girlfriend also received a massage from Yessi. Which she said was relaxing, and exactly what she needed after a day out in the sun.

Wifi: The resort includes free wifi. The wifi during our visit worked great everywhere, until last two days because of heavy winds. However, the wifi worked great in the restaurant our whole stay. However, what do you expect when you go to a private island in the middle of the ocean. We just wanted to post pictures to make friends and family jealous!

As other guests said, they have a center Palapa where it is all set up for a Bar. The last two days of our stay they set it up and had Rodwell there almost all day to prepare our drinks. I believe the Palapa should be the main bar, and a bartender should be there almost all day, everyday, in order to order drinks. They had reggae music playing which gave our visit a more island, relaxing vibe to it. It was nice to go to the Palapa, order drinks, and just hang out and talk, while enjoying cold drinks.

Charlene also informed me they were going to get a bbque grill to put out on the beach, so the chef could prepare meals outside on the beach. Which i believe is a great idea for future guests. They will be able to catch their fish, and cook it.

Tips: Air conditioner will be colder if you keep the fan off.
Make sure to do the Shark Ray Alley excursion, its truly unforgettable.

Our stay at Royal Palm was relaxing, with great customer care, and a beautiful setting! We had an amazing stay and defiantly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valiente G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

This place is unique. A heavenly island with turquoise waters, on a small caye surrounded by mangrove. The 5 beach bungalows offer great comfort and a beautiful view to the sea. In principle, this is invaluable and would explain the price.
BUT, that being said, when you pay a such price you expect perfection, which unfortunately is not reached....

Food for instance is good (Fish, chicken, shrimps), but, as mentioned in other comments below, not outstanding or fancy, and seriously lacks variety and special events (for instance, no way to have lobster, no outdoor barbecue despite perfect weather and barbecue available...). It's a real all-inclusive : we didn't pay for anything on-site BUT you have little variety and you have to request anything you want.
Also, we were surprised that there is no bar (the palapa one was never open when we were there) and you cannot find a staff member at some time (afternoon for instance) as everything is closed...

Staff is really nice, always smiling and willing to help if you have a request. However, beyond good will, we found the overall service a bit amateur... For instance, no regular presence on the beach : if you want a drink you'd have to look in your minibar (see next point) or seek someone around the island (there's no go-to place for drinks and snacks). Also, lack of anticipation in service : no refill of the minibar if you don't ask (twice) for it. Same with the water fountain in room. And you would then wait a solid hour for it... For such a price, you would expect better service than that.

Wi-Fi is a bit slow and only works from the central areas (palapa, restaurant), not in the room.

Last thing : the boat for transfer doesn't offer any protection, which can be a real issue if you arrive or leave under the rain...

Quick tips on-site :
- kayaking around the island is very nice; 500m on the left you'll find a small secluded beach for instance.
- snorkeling from the beach is very poor : with mangrove and sand, the water is not clear enough; so, despite the price, I recommend the snorkeling trip to Shark Alley and Hol Chan which is a must. And their "captain" is extremely knowledgeable and kind. A perfect day excursion!

Overall, we keep a great souvenir of this unique place, with unique landscape and probably the most beautiful balcony view we've ever seen, but the cost was way too high for the service.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank CarnetsdeYann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

The setting is stunning !! The beach-front cottages are nice. The service slow / non- existent. We were told that the staff did not want to be intrusive but the lack of attention to us sometimes seemed to be inappropriate.
What we were VERY disappointed with was the lack of quality food and beverages that one would expect for the price charged.

Our experience started at the airport where the resort rep was late picking us up.
We arrived at the gorgeous remote island retreat by boat and were initially impressed by the beauty. We had been travelling for 12 hours and arrived late in the afternoon into what we thought was paradise. After being shown to our cottage and being told about the delicious local Belikan beer, when we asked about getting a cold beer we were told they had NO BEER on the island!!!!

We found the food to be very mediocre. The choices were EXTREMELY limited. Generally no fixed menus We were presented with a printed menu for lunch one day which was a joke as they only had 2 of the 6 choices offered. With most meals, rice and potatoes were the only offerings to accompany the protein which was generally fish/shrimp or chicken.
Dessert was often only ice cream.

We had noticed lots of fresh fruits and veggies loaded on the boat ride over but didn't seem to be served any of it????? We asked for fruit one morning but it never came. When we asked the manager we finally got some later in the morning just before lunch.

The other thing to note is that the island can become inundated with cruise ship visitors Tuesday -Thursday -but the positive is lunch quality noticeably improved when the cruise ship people invaded the island !?!?!

In summary, we were very disappointed in the quality of food and beverages offered and level of service given the price paid. Would not recommend you waste your money on this property even though it is gorgeous. Someone is either cheaping out on the food or staff is skimming the good stuff for themselves???

Suggestions for management: improve training of personnel to improve quality and speed of service
Improve menus and hire better chefs
Find out from staff why they don't serve more fruits and veggies not just starches to guests
Have cold beer on the island at all times

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Ferntrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews