We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
61
12
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
12
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dream valley shark ray alley belize city small kitchenette fish white sand paradise on earth private marina small beach all inclusive package bar tender sea turtles boat captain the cottages the entire staff snorkel trip every meal
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2016

This place is unique. A heavenly island with turquoise waters, on a small caye surrounded by mangrove. The 5 beach bungalows offer great comfort and a beautiful view to the sea. In principle, this is invaluable and would explain the price.
BUT, that being said, when you pay a such price you expect perfection, which unfortunately is not reached....

Food for instance is good (Fish, chicken, shrimps), but, as mentioned in other comments below, not outstanding or fancy, and seriously lacks variety and special events (for instance, no way to have lobster, no outdoor barbecue despite perfect weather and barbecue available...). It's a real all-inclusive : we didn't pay for anything on-site BUT you have little variety and you have to request anything you want.
Also, we were surprised that there is no bar (the palapa one was never open when we were there) and you cannot find a staff member at some time (afternoon for instance) as everything is closed...

Staff is really nice, always smiling and willing to help if you have a request. However, beyond good will, we found the overall service a bit amateur... For instance, no regular presence on the beach : if you want a drink you'd have to look in your minibar (see next point) or seek someone around the island (there's no go-to place for drinks and snacks). Also, lack of anticipation in service : no refill of the minibar if you don't ask (twice) for it. Same with the water fountain in room. And you would then wait a solid hour for it... For such a price, you would expect better service than that.

Wi-Fi is a bit slow and only works from the central areas (palapa, restaurant), not in the room.

Last thing : the boat for transfer doesn't offer any protection, which can be a real issue if you arrive or leave under the rain...

Quick tips on-site :
- kayaking around the island is very nice; 500m on the left you'll find a small secluded beach for instance.
- snorkeling from the beach is very poor : with mangrove and sand, the water is not clear enough; so, despite the price, I recommend the snorkeling trip to Shark Alley and Hol Chan which is a must. And their "captain" is extremely knowledgeable and kind. A perfect day excursion!

Overall, we keep a great souvenir of this unique place, with unique landscape and probably the most beautiful balcony view we've ever seen, but the cost was way too high for the service.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank CarnetsdeYann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

The setting is stunning !! The beach-front cottages are nice. The service slow / non- existent. We were told that the staff did not want to be intrusive but the lack of attention to us sometimes seemed to be inappropriate.
What we were VERY disappointed with was the lack of quality food and beverages that one would expect for the price charged.

Our experience started at the airport where the resort rep was late picking us up.
We arrived at the gorgeous remote island retreat by boat and were initially impressed by the beauty. We had been travelling for 12 hours and arrived late in the afternoon into what we thought was paradise. After being shown to our cottage and being told about the delicious local Belikan beer, when we asked about getting a cold beer we were told they had NO BEER on the island!!!!

We found the food to be very mediocre. The choices were EXTREMELY limited. Generally no fixed menus We were presented with a printed menu for lunch one day which was a joke as they only had 2 of the 6 choices offered. With most meals, rice and potatoes were the only offerings to accompany the protein which was generally fish/shrimp or chicken.
Dessert was often only ice cream.

We had noticed lots of fresh fruits and veggies loaded on the boat ride over but didn't seem to be served any of it????? We asked for fruit one morning but it never came. When we asked the manager we finally got some later in the morning just before lunch.

The other thing to note is that the island can become inundated with cruise ship visitors Tuesday -Thursday -but the positive is lunch quality noticeably improved when the cruise ship people invaded the island !?!?!

In summary, we were very disappointed in the quality of food and beverages offered and level of service given the price paid. Would not recommend you waste your money on this property even though it is gorgeous. Someone is either cheaping out on the food or staff is skimming the good stuff for themselves???

Suggestions for management: improve training of personnel to improve quality and speed of service
Improve menus and hire better chefs
Find out from staff why they don't serve more fruits and veggies not just starches to guests
Have cold beer on the island at all times

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Ferntrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

There was about 18 of us who went to the island for one of our excursions on a Carnival cruise. We had a blast. We were the only ones at the island so it made it even better. We were able to look in the beach houses and they looked beautiful! The whole island was fun and hat a lot to offer. They made sure we had plenty of fresh coconuts, pineapple juice and whatever other drinks or snacks we needed! The food was great and service was outstanding! Would love to go back another time the whole family loved it!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Chase K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

We had the fortune of literally having the island to ourselves for the last 3 days of our visit. They picked us up at the airport and took us to their private marina. This marina is in the back of their regional office (which is a house). So don't freak out. Totally safe.

They boat you over. Jairo is their boat and dive master. He is great at navigating the waters!

Your first view and pull up to the island is breathe taking. They great you with drinks. You get a quick tour of the island and review tours they do and all the details of your stay.

The cabana was amazing! 2 bedrooms and 2 baths! Air conditioning in the bedrooms! King sized beds. The porch is right on the beach and the view is amazing. Private beach. They have kayaks, lounge chairs and equipment right in front of your cabana.

We ate almost every meal there. Aaron was our waiter. It was his first week. He did a great job. He brought us breakfast every morning to the cabana. We then would eat dinner at the restaurant. This is where they could still improve. The food was limited (it is an island so supplies are limited). We had basically the same chicken for most of the meals. It was good but for the cost I would recommend a bit more variety. They also did not take much time to learn what we would and would not eat. We said no shell fish but shrimp kabobs were ready for lunch one day. They fixed something else for us quickly. Just those small details.

We did one excursion. Shark Ray alley! Jairo and Bernard took us out. They were both amazing! Jairo is excellent. He knows all the fish, not afraid to grab sharks and was very good at checking to make sure we were ok. I highly recommend this trip.

We got to know all the staff and we felt we were friends by the end. It made it quite nice. They even took us into the city when they had to smoke a supply run for free. Aaron showed us around.

We are a gay couple and felt completely welcomed and accepted.

We told Sherlyn we would be back and we will be!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank chadly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

The location and scenery of Royal Palm and great strengths but I feel that the people there make it such a great place to stay. I spent three nights on the island during my first trip to Belize and cannot recommend it enough. The entire staff was friendly and very accommodating. The cottage I stayed in was clean, modern, and well-appointed without being cheesy. The ocean is literally steps from your doorstep and I enjoyed kayaking and snorkeling near the island as well as during expeditions to Gallows Point and Hol Chan. Mark, the manager, and Sherlyn were very helpful in facilitating any requests I had. Jairo, the Dive Master took me and other guests out for wonderfully informative and exciting snorkeling trips. He is very good and what he does and made sure we felt safe in the water. He spotted and pointed out so many sea creatures including eels, nurse sharks, sting rays, crabs, sea turtles, Dolphins, and all manner of fish. Bernard was an excellent host and showed me around Belize City before we departed for the island. Yessi gave me a first-rate massage. Rodwell and Aaron provided very courteous food service and great conversation. The views around the island are beautiful, particularly the sunrise and sunset. The food was delicious and noticeably fresh. I can't think of anything that would have improved on this experience. I will definitely return and recommend this place to anyone looking for relaxation, comfort, and the opportunity for adventure.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank Jazzmine-Ama W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews