We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break last week of October 2011”
Review of Arepar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arepar
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break last week of October 2011”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Chose this location hoping it would be quieter than other resorts on the Island it was quiet but some of the resorts we viseted were like ghost towns so right choice I think . Got to the apartment just as it was going dark room 522 could hear the sea , and in the morning woke to open the curtains to a fantastic sea view also pool to the right and below us the entertainment marque which thank god was closed .The staff at the arepar really were great all of them from the recepionists to the cleaners , waiters , and bar staff they couldn't help you enough .Food was of good quality but breakfast got a bit too much in the end don't want to see a full english for a few weeks thank you .Evening meal was pretty good but I would rather eat out at the different restaurants , I can highly recommend Smithy's at the top of the hill great Cod Chips and Mushy Peas on our first night , and on our anniversary night excellent Steak mmm , and don't forget their Special Sangria also a fantastic welcome from our first night to the last a Big Thank You to you both . We also had one afternoon meal at The White Sands Restaurant which is just below the Arepar Half Chicken and Chips 7.5 euros good meal and plenty of it .
Moving on we hired a car from Miremar rent a car , and we were seen to by a lovely lady her name is Corinn she was very helpfull , and told us of all the important places to visit we didn't get round them all as we only had the car for 5 days .The car was a well used Nissan Micra air con 5 door did the trick for 90 euros bargain I think .Thanks again to Corinn .
All in all a fantastic break at a great location . I would have given the Arepar an excellent score and in many ways it deserves if it wasn't for the tired furniture
in and out of the apartments including sunbeds also the patio areas around the pool could do with some repairs , and as for the pool itself it was spotless and cleaned everyday .
Thanks again to all at the Arepar , Miramar and Smithy's for making it such a great holiday for us , and not forgeting everyone on the Island we met for being so friendly , hope to see you all again soon , Thanks

Room Tip: All rooms have air con I think ours did but check first .Out of season quiet peak season expect all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed the last week of the season and were very pleased. It was without doubt the quietest hotel we have ever stayed on a package holiday- and we've been on quite a few! The appartment was clean and comfortable. Advertised as a double plus bunk bed room. we were pleasantly surprised to get a double and proper twin in our apartment. (Our teenage son was delighted that we could get BBC1, 2, ITV3 and Eurosport Spain -he likes football in evenings.)

The pool was icy, but the sea warm and clear. The beach at Arenal is beautiful and amazingly quiet. We enjoyed the walks along the headland adjacent to the hotel and would thoroughly recommend the walk to Son Parc, about half an hour away. The beach there is stunning too, and was deserted. The highlight there for us was the public park - very new, all wooden and with zip slides, climbing frames, adult gym items.

We like to snorkel and the best local beach for snorkelling was the little cove next to Whitesands hotel opposite - this is a public beach although access is via Whitesands.

Downside - in late October, Arenal is virtually shut down and the only places we could find to eat locally were the Isla del Paraiso (which is jointly owned and on same complex as Arepar) and Whitesands. There are a couple of restaurants at Son Parc. We opted to eat mainly at the Isla del Paraiso - you can buy 3 days half board for 117 euros for 3 people. The food is buffet style, typical hotel style. Plentiful and hot. As vegetarians, there was soup, pasta with 2 excellent sauces, cheese, salad and vegetables each night, and vegetable paella 2 of the 3 nights.

The kitchen has a full size fridge freezer, kettle, toaster, 2 ring hob and mini-oven with good crockery etc. No corkscrew though! Vital travel accessory as none of the wine was screw top.

There is a Spar on the hotel complex, so easy to get basics but just that -basics. Adequate for us as we didn't want to cook much. It ran out of bread at about 10am and shut at 3pm as end of season -it's open longer hours in summer.

The hotel staff are very helpful and efficient. We had great service on the 3 occasions we went to reception, and were delighted with the pleasant waiting staff. If you order a bottle of wine in evening and don't finish it, they will happily keep it for you until the next evening. The appartment was cleaned daily and we were supplied with fresh towels. We would recommend the Arepar to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My husband and i have just returned from Arepar, we were due to stay at the Sa Miranda but due to end of season they closed it down early we were informed of this prior to our holiday. I was very please with the Arepar. We were greeted very well by the reception staff and all staff we came across were very helpful and friendly. The beach was fantastic but the sunbed and umbrella prices were expensive (15 euros) The Bar on the beach was really great for food and drinks. We ate at the Arepar one evening with the buffet style the food was ok but we arrived a bit on the later side the food had been sitting around for a while can't blame them for that. There was a lot of choice and very well presented. If you like hills and steps then it is great for you but i am so lazy my legs were killing me by the time i got back home ( mental note go to the gym) if u like shopping then get on the local bus go into Mahon some really great shops (bit pricey) but the bus service is reliable and cheap. Were took the tour around Mahon Harbour worked out cheaper to do it that way than on organised trips. I would recommend this holiday if you just want to chill out not do much at all. Would go again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 520 furthest away but the view was fantastic. not far from the quieter pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobbieswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed two weeks at the Arepar. It was fantastic for a two star. The rooms are what you should expect. As stated in other reviews not every room has a view but the room we had did and it was beautiful. The staff were great helpful and polite. We went at the end of the season self catering. It was very quiet and some of the restaurants had already closed. You can get buffet vouchers from the reception and if you buy more than one day the price goes down. We bought three days of breakfast and dinner for 117 euros for two adults and three children. The buffet food was lovely but as we were not tied to the hotel we went out and about. We can definately recommend Whites bar. The sirloin steaks are to die for. If you enjoy snorkelling then the beach and rocks just below whites bar will be just your cup of tea. All in all a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

3 retired early 6os friends arrived at 9pm after restaurant closed to find meals for us in the apartment; a great start. The accommodation is clean and has swimming pools and sun bathing areas;.meals are excellent with a great choice. Only minutes walk to the beach which is clean and shallow and even in may was warmish for swimming which i did every day. Nightlife was quite at that time but suited us. Would recommend hiring a car but their is a bus service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gk1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
0.7 km away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,596 reviews
30.4 km away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,113 reviews
1.6 km away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Son Parc
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
5.5 km away
TRH Tirant Playa
TRH Tirant Playa
#5 of 5 in Fornells
226 reviews
0.2 km away
White Sands Beach Club
White Sands Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Arenal d'en Castell
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arepar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arepar

Property: Arepar
Address: Via Ronda, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Arenal d'en Castell
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Arepar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arepar Apartments Hotel Arenal d`En Castell
Arepar Arenal D'en Castell, Spain - Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing