We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here in May 2011 for 1 week with two children 5 and 2, our room was clean and the maids cleaned it every day the rooms are not that big butfor the amount of time you spend in it, it was adequate for a family of 4. We had a lovely view of the beach from our room which was nice to wake up to, the beach is very child friendly as the sea is so shallow and clear it is only a short walk from the complex, the only downside is that there are no toilets or anywhere to get a drink unless you want to pay. The pools were great, the kids pool was brilliant and also quite quiet, as it is difficult to get a sunbed around the other pools unless you get up early and put your towel on one, plus there are no umbrellas you have to buy one from the shop unless you are lucky enough that someone whos is going leaves you one, they are not expensive and it comes in a little bag. The food was good a little repetitive but all in all it was tasty.
The bar staff are quite miserable and the afternoon snacks are not great, they are the same everyday and tasteless... The evening entertainment was fantastic there were acrobats, parrot show a queen night which was excellent and a take that tribute band which was good, the mini disco for the kids is good the songs stay in your head for ages after !!! but best of all the weather it was very hot about 30 degrees.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EmmaLMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,376 - 1,380 of 2,769 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel in September 2011 as a group of 12, ages ranging from 1 year to 75 years old!

Firstly, hotel staff left a lot to be desired. Our rooms weren't ready on arrival, the staff were quite unhelpful. Also, we'd been promised a low floor room, only to be put on the 3rd floor. We had a 3 year old with us, and I was worried all week about the balcony door.

The hotel itself is OK. We were staying in block B, and unfortunately I must echo previous reviews and say that block A is definitely the nicer block. The views over the sea from Block A are fantastic, and the block itself is just generally better kept and tidier. They did seem to put all the Spanish and German guests in Block A, and all the English guests together in Block B (which might suit some guests better, I suppose).

The food was a fairly good standard. We've stayed in many all inclusive hotels, this probably had the most variety out of all the hotels I've stayed in. It was all hot, fresh and replenished regularly. The only problem was there was no snack bar. We usually have a few days of eating lunch around the pool from the snack bar while we're on holiday, so we found this quite restrictive.

The drinks were fine, just what you'd expect from an all inclusive hotel. The only problem was the rude bar staff and the ridiculously strict rules on drinks (both soft and alcoholic). Once you'd left the buffet at breakfast, you were unable to get a drink of tea/coffee/juice/water from anywhere until 11.30am. The bar staff would actually scold the guests for asking or trying to get one! As we were travelling with small children and pensioners, this was unacceptable, especially in the heat. I can understand them closing the actual bar until later, but they really should have made the water cooler and soft drinks accessible to guests at all times.

No more than 2 drinks or ice creams per guest at any one time. This was annoying to us as we have three children, so I couldn't go and get all of my children a drink or ice cream at once, I would have to go first, them my husband, which was just ridiculous as the bar staff could clearly see we had three little ones with us. These rules were rigidly enforced by all staff, so presumably the management really crack the whip over it.

The rooms were OK. Very basic, absolutely spotless but unfortunately really small. Nowhere near big enough for a family (as advertised), probably JUST big enough for a couple. The balconies were fine. Air conditioning in rooms was great, all rooms had a TV with many English channels (including CBBC for the kids).

The pools were great. Kids pool with lots of slides was fantastic, the kids would spend all day in there if we let them! Also had a large kids play area, and the kids club was great too.

The entertainment was mostly of a really high standard. Something for everyone, some really good singers and dancers. The kids minidisco was great. If your kid asks one of the animacion staff, they let the kids get dressed up and go on stage with them! Loads of fun, our daughter really enjoyed it.

Overall, the hotel was OK but I wouldn't book it again. If you've already booked, don't panic! You'll enjoy your holiday! It just wasn't for us.

Room Tip: Ask for Block A for a sea view! Hotel don't seem to take much notice of requests, though, unfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank beachbum1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The location in which this hotel is set is wonderful, lovely and quiet with a few small shops and bars to keep you occupied on a night-time. There is a medium size bay, which is surrounded by lovely scenery and wonderful views.
The service at the hotel was good, the receptionists were always on hand and helpful. The food at the hotel was good, there was always something new everyday, with a large range of food to choose from all of a reasonable standard. The hotel and room were both immaculately clean, with a room service everyday to provide clean towels and new bed sheets. The room was also adequately furnished, with a clean bathroom and a nice little balcony. The hotel also had wonderful views and an impressive upstairs bar terrace which opened up to some fantastic views on the bay. There were also good facilities for children including a park and a nice large pool, with adequate sun loungers around the grounds of the hotel. However me and my boyfriend did not make use of these as we prefered to spend time on the lovely bay.
Whilst on holiday we went on two trips, one to the main city and market, where we also visited a club built into a cave and a gin factory, with a bottomless boat trip included. This was an enjoyable trip, however not sure we would do it again as it was quite expensive for what was included and the day was rather structured, leaving you little time to yourself. We also went on another 'castaway cruise' which was again nice however we spent a large amount of the day on the boat, which was not what we expected. However for someone who enjoys cruises and enjoying the views of the fantastic Menorcan beaches I would highly recommend this trip.
We holidayed with Thomas Cook and experienced no problems at all, the rep we had was also very helpful and easily available and approachable throughout our holiday. Overall a fantastic hotel and resort would happily return, as we both had an amazing time :)

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equaly nice and quiet as the hotel was located in a quiet resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Me and my family (ten of us in total) stayed at this lovely hotel in september and we all had a fantastic time. The hotel itself is lovely, it was always clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. We all stayed in block B and our rooms were in good condition and they were very clean. The views from the balconies were fab. We all went all inclusive and it was worth the money as their was a large range of food which was always fresh and hot.
We spent most of the holiday by the pool which was always a good temperature and clean. The beach was close by and it is gorgeous! We spent hours snorkling as it was amazing!! The sand was white and clean, there was always available sunbeds and the pedalos there great fun and cheap, it cost us 12 euros for a 30minute hire. The only minor downfall was getting back from the beach as the hill is quite steep but we found a shortcut through through block A.
The night time entertainment was great fun and there was some really good acts.
We walked across to the shops near by and had dinner in a lovely cafe which over-looked the beach. There was also a spar and some gift shops where you could by the basics.
Overall the holiday was fantastic and we all loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Walmsleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

One FANTASTIC Holiday, Well Worth the Money!

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel during the October half term holidays. We booked a holiday package with Thomas Cook and we had no problems what so ever. The airport transfer on the coach was approximately 20mins max.

We stayed in room 401 which was on the floor just above the main floor which had the reception, restraunt, bar and entertainment. We did not hear any noise from this floor below it was lovely and peaceful.

There are plenty of lifts for those less able or with buggys etc.

Our room was great, and we had a perfect view of the balcony to the beach. Had everything we needed and two hudgely sized wardroubes. There was a safe at an additional cost which was about 2 euros a day. The bathroom was clean tidy and the shower didnt leak. Maids came everyday and cleaned right through the rooms and changed the towels every single day. None of our belongings were moved or taken the maids were very trusthworthy.

The restraunt was great, we stayed all inclusive. Waitresses were very pleasant and did their jobs well. They were always tidying up cleaning and setting up they were never not on top of a job. If you had a problem or query nothing was never a problem to them.

If you go all inclusive you can only get 2 drinks at a time per person but this was never a problem. At breakfast there were hot drink machines and juice machines. At lunch and evening meals you go upto the bar and ask for your choice. Also there was a help yourself wine barrel with a selection of wines and plenty of water machines.

At the bar they also had other drinks at additional cost such as bottles of wine and top shelf drinks such as smirnoff vodka etc. However there were plenty of alcohol drinks included in all inclusive such as: sangria, malibu, local beer.

Breakfast consited of: Eggs (boiled and scrambled), sasuages, tomoatoes, bacon etc. Also all fresh fruit, youghurts, cereal, selections of bread, croissants + baguettes, cheese, ham, jams etc.

Lunch consisted of: Different fish and meat dishes at least 6 different ones everday and they were never the same as the evening meal. Wide varity of salad, pasta, ham, cheese, selections of bread + baguettes, fresh fruit, ice cream, cakes, rice pudding etc.

Evening meal consisted of: Different fish and meat dishes at least 6 different ones everday and they were never the same as the lunch meal. Wide varity of salad, pasta, ham, cheese, selections of bread + baguettes, fresh fruit, ice cream, cakes, rice pudding, mouse etc.

Also if your all inclusive there is a snack bar between lunch and evening meal which was in the main bar, this consisted of sandwiches, cakes and biscuits.

Evening entertainment started about 9.30 and there was always something different on such as live bands, bingo, quiz night etc.

On the complex there are 4 pools however 1 was closed which was next to the other block, but this was only due to the time of year and this didnt effect anybody. There were plenty of sunbeds around all of the pools and kept clean and tidy at all times. One pool was strickly for adults which was more of a bubble style one but was shaped as a swimming pool and much bigger than a jacuzzi etc. Another of the pools was a great size and suitable for adults and children. Then there was a pool just for children which had sunbeds around it. The pool had a play area within it which consited of slides etc. The pool wasnt very deep at all and was designed extremly well so that if i child fell over within it, it wasnt deep enough to cover them.

During the day there was plenty of things to do. The hotel run at least 5 activites a day everyday accept one. There was a varity of activities for both children, aduts and familys to get involved within. There was a tennis court, which had great equipment to use. This wasnt an additional cost all you had to do was ask for the equipment at reception which was never a problem. Also there was a volley ball court, mini golf area, kids park, 2 internet access computers and pool tables etc.

Out from reception there was a hairdressers, gift shop and supermarket. However a 5-10 minuite walk up from these there was a bigger gift shop, lacoste shop and car rent shop as well as a bigger supermarket which were cheaper. Around this area there was also a few bars and restraunts but theses werent open due to the time of year.

In to the local village on the side next to the beach there was also small gift shops, a doctors, chemist, a spar, a handful of resraunts and bars ( one called the irish bar is meant to be popular and shows football games etc) as well as a tobacco shop which is only open during summer.

The beach was kept clean and tidy with a lifeguard on everyday walking up and down the beach as well as out on the jet ski checking on everybody. When we arrived on our first day we went on to the beah and noticed alot of jelly fish in the sea and on the beach. However the next day and the rest of the holiday there was not a single one in sight! From the hotel gorunds the beach is a 2 minuite walk. There a two routes down a flat route or staired route. The flat route is steep at times but never seemed to be a problem for anybody. There is sunbeds on the beach but ones that you have to rent. However people from the hotel were taking down chairs and sunbeds from the hotel gardens this was never a problem as long as people returned them.

There were local buses that ran through the village to several places one the island. The bus timetable can be found on the reception desk. The bus stop was straight out of the reception doors and no more than 200m straight in front of you. You can only buy a single ticket but this was never a problem. The fairs are cheap, from the hotel to mahon the capital was at least a 15min journey and cost 2,05 euros one way.


Overall this was a fab holiday, and more than worth the money we paid for this holiday!

Room Tip: Recption Block - Room 401 Fantastic View on to the beach from the balcony. Easy to get to and quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank ARC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
16.6 km away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
31.0 km away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,359 reviews
17.3 km away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#2 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,813 reviews
16.1 km away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,563 reviews
31.0 km away
Sol Falco by Melia -All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Aguamarina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Aguamarina

Address: PO Box 175, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arenal d'en Castell
Price Range: ₹ 4,298 - ₹ 12,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Hotel Aguamarina 3*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Hotel Aguamarina is located in the unique environment of the bay of Arenal d'en Castell right on the seafront and just a few meters from a beautiful stretch of white sandy beach and clear Blue Flag waters. Surrounded by a typical Menorcan landscape, splendid Mediterranean views and excellent facilities, the superb service of the resort offers a plethora of options for leisure and entertainment for both children and adults. The whole family can relax and enjoy a pleasant and peaceful holiday that they will never forget. Our complex consists of two buildings that will offer you maximum comfort during your holiday. Relax and cool off by swimming in any of our 5 pools while enjoying the stunning views of the bay or walk through our 35,000 square meters of lovely gardens that run down to the beach. For those who like to make a splash on their holidays our newly constructed water park is the perfect destination for adults and children alike. The hotel's animation team will also be on hand to entertain you in the gardens throughout your stay with numerous and varied events and activities to amuse young and old alike. And finally don't forget to enjoy the food that we offer at our full buffet and show cooking counter. If you are looking for an unforgettable holiday! Come and join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Hotel Aguamarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Hotel Aguamarina Arenal D'en Castell, Spain - Menorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing