We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star at best!”
Review of Palas Pineda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palas Pineda
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in La Pineda
Reviewed 23 April 2012

There was nothing especially wrong with Palas Pineda, but nothing especially right! We booked through a budget late availability provider, so can't really fault value, but were not inspired by what we experienced. We asked for a sea view, as the holiday was to celebrate my 40th birthday, we had one alright, (if you leant out over the balcony) but were put next to the service elevator, so knew exactly when the staff arrived each morning.

On arriving in the bar on our first night, we sat at the bar, ordered drinks, then turned to see the tail end of the ballroom dancing evening. It was then that we noticed that NOT A SINGLE TABLE had a single drink, and that the average age of all present was at least 60! I am not ageist in any way, but there was absolutely no atmosphere in the bar at all. In fact, I spent the next couple of days looking for the real hotel bar!...I had found it!

The breakfast buffet was all there..., well, some here, some there, some over there, and some back by the door! The appalling layout meant that people were literally everywhere! Coupled with the confusion of new arrivals every day, breakfast was quite a stressful experience. Choice was fine, with a cooked & cold selection, pastries, cereal etc. Other reviews mention the rudeness of waiting staff. I’m not sure I can agree, as not a single one spoke to me all week!

The resort was described as being known for gentle sea breezes. We nearly got blown away from the poolside! The indoor pool was ok, but a little grubby. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, as it seemed to specialise in sushi and tapas... an odd combination!

Although there was a fridge in the room, there were no mini bar contents. Not really a problem, just worth knowing. There were no facilities for making a hot drink. There was a safe, but you had to rent a lock, at about €4 per day. There is free WI-FI, but only in a narrow corridor near reception, as the signal is too weak anywhere else.

At a hotel claiming to be 4 star, I would have expected at least the offer of assistance with luggage. We had none. This was not a problem as we could cope, but when a coach load of guests arrived, at least 8 staff came rushing from a service door to meet them! This left us feeling like second class citizens.

If you are looking for something cheep and basic, then the Palas Pineda is for you! If you want something special.... go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Pool views are best, don't let them put you near the lift.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Plas-Mawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (858)
There are newer reviews for Palas Pineda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 144 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

we visted this hotel late sept early oct Nice and clean good food and got on well with bar staff Short walk from lovely beach in a qiute part of pineda A lot of russians some nicier than others but thats the same wherever one goes Will most certainly return

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joyce029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

All inclusive was limited, it was just packets off ready salted lays and drinks during the day, although 3 meals a day is ample for most people!! the meals were very similiar each day, lunch was the best as this had a bigger selection. Some off the outside pool bar staff were not friendly to say the least, although this didnt apply to all off them..The restaurant staff were friendlier, and the lady on reception was lovely..The rooms were very clean with great views..The hotel was nice except for the toilets by the pool which were desperatwely in need off sprucing up..Across the road from the beach..

Room Tip: The hotel was in two seperate buildings, number 2 had the best views..
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Just come back Oct 14 from 12 day stay here which we really enjoyed mainly because of the very hot and sunny weather which was quite unexpected. Hotel looks very grand,the pool is large and the poolside very pleasant having the sun most of the day. We had a room overlooking the pool and view of the sea and the sun was on the balcony the whole day which was great. Entertainment was closed for the season but we wanted a quiet time so no problems there. Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed daily,plenty of hot water. Hotel has many Russian guests who can across as ignorant but may be that is just a culture thing. Tv only english channel is cnn news.. but who needs the tv! The food was ok, if a little different... spanish champers served at breakfast... caviar on some of the salad displays.. but plenty of fish most days or grilled chicken , pork or beef, loads of salads etc. Main courses tended to be a stew type of sorts served with chips, veg a little overcooked but always found plenty to eat and quite a variety of puddings and plenty of fruits so no real complaints. Would stay here again as so near the beach which had the best sand in the area and very safe if you had a young family.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank avibags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

the hotel is lovely,very clean,maid service everyday,food is your average all inclusive,a lot of choice and different every day (we only went for 5days)reception staff are rude which you can live with but the russian guests are the most rude,ignorant people which is v v annoying. Pineda is quiet and tends 2 cater 4 the russian visitors,the beach is gorgeous and a 2 minute walk from hotel. I think i would go back with older children,the entertainment starts at 9 so we never seen it. Pool area is lovely,no umbrellas,although there are shady areas.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrisfambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pineda
0.1 km away
Gran Palas Hotel
Gran Palas Hotel
#3 of 8 in La Pineda
438 reviews
1.8 km away
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
Gran Hotel La Hacienda
#5 of 8 in La Pineda
958 reviews
0.2 km away
Golden Donaire Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Terramarina
Hotel Terramarina
#6 of 8 in La Pineda
313 reviews
1.2 km away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.2 km away
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
#40 of 93 in Salou
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palas Pineda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palas Pineda

Address: C/ Muntanyals 5, 43480 La Pineda, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > La Pineda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Pineda
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Pineda
Price Range: ₹ 4,114 - ₹ 15,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palas Pineda 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palas Pineda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palas Pineda Hotel La Pineda
Gran Palas La Pineda
Gran Palas Hotel La Pineda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing