We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lanark, South Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
melga84
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights over valentines weekend and the cottage was just perfect. After a long drive up from Devon we arrived to a lovely welcome basket and milk in the fridge so we could make a much need cup of tea! The cottage its self was great it was lovely and cosy with everything we needed and we love the fire.
On the first day we walked to the waterfalls (pictured and recommended in the cottage) you can take your car but we chose to walk through the park and along the river, this took us about 3 hours there and back and was such a beautiful walk.
The cottage is right in town which meant we had everything right on the door step but close the door and you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. We loved it

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Fire
Liked least: Mattress on bed needs changing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, it really does mean a lot to know we are making our guests stay an enjoyable one. We are delighted you enjoyed the cottage and its location in the centre of Lanark. The Falls of Clyde and The World Heritage site at New Lanark are one of my favourite walks too. It helps our future guests when deciding where to stay and what to do when they are here.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGH1957
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Cute little apartment in an even prettier village”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Once we found the lane to this delightful cottage we were very impressed. Though small it was well equipped and comfortable although a washer would be a welcome addition. Close to great local pubs and eateries the apartment and Lanark was a real discovery.
Right across car park from the local supermarket and 100 meters from centre it was a perfect base from which to explore the Clyde Valley and New lanark heritage village.
Thank you Maria for allowing us to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
We are delighted that you were impressed with our cottage and took the time to write a review for us.
We value your feedback and if we can provide the space for a washer we will look into it for the future.
Many Thanks
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaillimh1...
galway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Really enjoyed our stay in the Wallace cottage, we were attending a friends wedding in the New Lanark Mill. The cottage had all mod cons and well fitted out kitchen. The beds were extremely comfortable and dressing gowns etc were supplied which was a nice touch. The shower was good and strong and the living room was very comfortable with a good size tv and a small stove for fire (with coal, firelighters and wood supplied). It was very close to the town of Lanark if we needed to go to the shops and a short 5-10 min taxi from the UNESCO lanark mill, which was stunning. All in all, very happy with our stay and would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and would come back to us again.
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane A
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage in a superb location”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a wonderful stay in this delightful cottage. Wallace Cottage is perfectly situated for exploring Lanark and the beautiful surrounding countryside. The cottage is roomy and inviting with stylish décor with a lovely Scottish theme. The bathroom and kitchen are modern and we were greeted with a super welcome pack. The towels and bedding were of an excellent standard. Marie kept in touch with us throughout our stay and our booking was dealt with in an efficient and friendly manner. We will definitely be returning to Wallace Cottage and thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior furnishings - it was modern and cosy
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for us. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and we hope to Welcome you again in the future.
Thanks Again
Maria Cookson: 07798875366
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a delightful stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From our booking to our stay all went extremely smoothly and we thoroughly enjoyed this charming cottage. It was beautifully furnished, warm, cosy and quiet yet in a convenient position for Lanark shops. We spent a long time exploring the New Lanark Heritage Site and Wildlife reserve and were lucky to see the peregrine falcons.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to right a review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and for sharing your experience with our future guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 138
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing