We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lion Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bala
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We only stayed for one night {20/july}. The staff were very helpfull and we soon completed check in. The food was good and the room comfortable. I would happily go back, good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIKEY1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

We booked a B&B in Bala, which had run out of electricity upon our arrival, and were unable to provide any alternative accomodation. It was through sheer luck on our part that we managed to find this hotel through the Internet while we were stuck in the heavy rain after a 3 hour drive.
This is a very unique hotel, with lots of antiques used to decorate the hotel. There was even an antique lace pram in one of the corridors.
After travelling through rain, it was lovely to have meet their friendly staff and be shown promptly to our rooms. The family rooms and the double room were very spacious, well kept and clean.
Breakfast service was excellent, and so were the hot options provided for breakfast, all very yummy! They provided a good selection of cereals too, and had the best yoghurt I have tasted so far, in England and Wales!
We would certainly stay in this hotel again on our next trip to Bala!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumbeetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

In a sea of mediocrity this is a small gem. Bala doesn't really welcome the English and it shows, but this Hotel was very very clean and the cooking was excellent. We stopped for breakfast and were delighted with the whole process. It deserves much more success than it appeared to have but then whilst the local population stick their collective heads in the sand that may not happen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

A three course meals. Perfect. Highly recommended. God bless !

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank ISRAELranjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed three nights at the hotel in Bala and had a great time. It is a grand old building in the centre of the town. There is parking available at the rear but there are not always free spaces. It was an interesting hotel. Very old with lots of antique furniture and the stairs quite uneven in places but the room we had had been refurbished and was excellent, spacious, clean and with a large bathroom - definitely a four star room. Perhaps one minor downside is the fact that the windows are old single glazed sash windows and every noise from the street below can be heard, even the jackdaws at 5am!

Interestingly, I felt the ground floor felt more a pub with a restaurant than a four star hotel. The food was adequate but very much 'pub grub'.

I would return though as it was good, staff friendly and well situated in the town and for visiting North Wales.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are large with king size beds. Rooms to the rear are quieter. I didn't notice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle-Nazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
0.0 km away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
63 reviews
24.2 km away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
32 reviews
27.0 km away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
772 reviews
24.5 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
28.7 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Royal Hotel

Address: 61 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bala
Price Range: ₹ 5,848 - ₹ 11,955 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lion Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion is situated within the Lake District of Wales. Bala water sports are world renowned. The hotel has 26 rooms fully refurbished in 2005 to a 4 star standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Lion Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Royal Bala
White Lion Royal Hotel Bala, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing