We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Plas Coch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plas Coch Hotel
Ranked #16 of 27 Bala B&B and Inns
Oxford
1 review
“Don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Shower temperature didn't work in our room. Lavatory seat was broken, as well as the telephone in the room and the window. For breakfast, we had supposedly clean glasses with stains of lipstick on .... The hotel seems very popular as a local pub, meaning that the smell of beer in the lobby and the level of noise up to very late in the evening is quite remarkable.
I won't go back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    17
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
11
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We popped in for breakfast at 10.00 am.
£5.50 included toast and coffee.
Great service.
Good bacon.
Soft egg

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed at the Plas Coch Hotel for one night on a business trip to Bala. The staff were very helpful, professional and efficient.
The food was excellent, I had dinner and breakfast, very good menu at reasonable prices, served promptly with a smile.
The only minor complaint was about the room. Although it was very clean with everything one needed, The bedside lamp did not work, I had to swop a bulb from the wall light and the television didn't work, no signal and the instructions were no help, I expect to press a button and it works, this was not the case. Apart from that it was acceptable, but I have stayed in better for less.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stopped here for just one night with three Swedish friends when we were watching the 2011 Rally of Wales, and we were really pleased we did. It wasn't really plush, but big clean comfortable rooms, good food (especially the full Welsh breakfast) and drink and friendly service. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in family rooms which were very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v8disco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed here one night on a cycling holiday with husband and 2 friends. All our rooms were spacious, comfortable and light. The staff were very helpful, and the breakfasts were (unusually) as comprehensive for the vegetarians as for the meat eaters. The pub is a bit stark, not terribly cosy, but that's didn't bother us as we went out for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Primroselil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
0.0 km away
White Lion Royal Hotel
5.6 km away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
23.8 km away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
24.2 km away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.0 km away
Glan Y Gro
Glan Y Gro
#1 of 27 in Bala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Coch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Coch Hotel

Property: Plas Coch Hotel
Address: 52 High Street, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bala
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,394 - ₹ 9,046
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Coch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plas Coch Hotel was originally built as a coaching inn around 1780. All bedrooms are spacious and have private bathrooms or shower rooms, colour TV and tea/coffee facilities. Efficient central heating ensures that you will be warm and comfortable even during the winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plas Coch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Coch Hotel Bala, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing