We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy and well-equipped house!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bothan Darach

Bothan Darach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bothan Darach
Bothan Darach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Bothan Darach
Bothan Darach
Downstairs sitting room
Dining area
Kitchen
Upstairs sitting room
Downstairs double (en suite)
Upstairs double (en suite)
Twin (1)
Twin (2)
Rear view of Bothan Darch
Bothan Darach in winter
Winter view taken from upstairs sitting room
Castle Stalker
View of Gylen Castle on Isle of Kerrera
Loch Creran
Bothan Darach in December
Rear garden
Rear decking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Appin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Moosecrea...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfy and well-equipped house!”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed here for new year 2016. Brilliant house with lots of space for all the family. Very well equipped, the owners have thought of everything! Port Appin is a lovely village with lots of places to walk the dogs, very picturesque and peaceful. Would definitely recommend Bothan Darach.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
Thank you Eve. We've tried to supply items that we often needed when we stayed in self catering, when our children were young.
You're welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTerry180...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

One of the nicest and best equipped cottages we've ever stayed in!
A great location for exploring the area including Glencoe, Oban and Fort William with incredible views of the loch from the upstairs lounge and the welcome hamper was a great touch.
Easy walk into the village for a well stocked shop, restaurant and fishing.
We would definitely visit again and have already recommended to friends and family.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda J
Camborne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This cottage was beautiful. The owners catered for every need. There were even babies dummies ect left. We used the rucksacks and flasks, we couldn't believe the equipment left for use to make our holiday so enjoyable. None of us wanted to come home as our stay was so lovely. We wished we could of met the owners to thank them personally but we did leave them a gift from Cornwall. We have never stayed in such lovely accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views from upstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JDK111
Paisley
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable, located in an idyllic village setting.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Port Appin is one of those places where people say "where?". It is off the beaten track and doesn't get much through traffic, but is surrounded by beautiful land and seascapes. There are few properties that directly face the sea and Bothan Darach isn't one of them, however it does have a large upstairs lounge that gives enough of a vista to make it worthwhile. The cottage is a short walk from the village centre with 2 hotels, a grocery and a craft shop, The Lismore ferry is worthwhile taking whether for a walk or with hired bicycles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The close location to the village, but still quiet
Liked least: Lack of direct sea view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing