We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ginger Cottage, a hidden gem!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ginger Cottage

COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Ginger Cottage views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aleia13
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ginger Cottage, a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 20 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5
people found this review helpful

As soon as we arrived at the airport and were greeting by the lovely driver Lucretia with two fresh Pitons beers (courtesy of Ginger Cottage) we knew it could only get better! Ginger Cottage is a little hidden gem set within the most beautiful spot in the Caribbean! The house carer George waited for us at the little port to take us to paradise.. Ginger Cottage is located on the prettiest side of the Marigot Bay with a beautiful Ocean and priceless sunset view. There is Labas Beach just 2 minutes walk from the cottage which is perfect if fancying a chilled and easy going day, there are few locals on-site which are great fun and very good at maintaining the island’s identity not making it feel too touristy or resort style! George was an absolute star, he was the greatest host ever and with him you will know you are in safe hands. He took us around the island by his little boat, to his village and to some amazing snorkelling experiences but the most memorable moment was surely when he fished fresh seafood for us and cooked on the beach followed by fresh July mango - the best meal on the island! Ginger Cottage is a little piece of paradise, for a couple of days we hardly left it to enjoy the pleasant breeze coming through the open windows with the peaceful sound of waves hitting the rocks just below! Erika, the owner, was amazing throughout the booking process and the duration of the stay, always there to help if needed.. we felt like having a 24/7 concierge service available to us! Needless to say that we will surely be back.. it was a memorable holiday and can’t wait to visit Ginger Cottage again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the setting of the cottage, the view and the welcoming feel!
Liked least: really nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton...
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing vacation”
Reviewed 9 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from 14 nights at Ginger Cottage. For the most part it exactly as portrayed here. It is across the bay from where the roads are so you must purchase a ticket or pass from Captain Bravo. There is no discount for long stays, but we chose to just get a 2 week pass. There is a fairly steep walk up the path and stairs to get to the cottage, but that is what gives such spectacular views. You enter into the living area, totally screened in, to protect you from insects. There is a dining table, a rocking chair and swing chair to relax and enjoy the views. Then you enter into the bedroom are where there is a comfortable king sized bed. Behind the bedroom up 3 more stairs is the level with the small but functional kitchen and bathroom.
The Caribbean breeze blows gently through the whole cottage. There is no air conditioning, and although it gets very warn during the day, the cottage cools enough at night that we used the coverlet.
You can not drink the tap water so we had to purchase water for drinking and coffee making.
The care taker George is friendly and helpful. The housekeeper Lettice is a gem. She came 3x a week.
There is ample storage for clothing and lots of hangers in the closets.
Outside the cottage are grapefruit, lime, banana and coconut trees. We delighted in watching the humming birds at the many colours of bougainvillea bushes. We spent many hours watching the yachts come and go.
We were to be provided with a cell phone so that we could buy some minutes for our use, but apparently the previous guest had lost it, we finally got a phone after our first week was over.
The listing of amenities included a washer, I assumed there would be a machine I could use, but there was none in the cottage, I was told that the housekeeper could do our laundry, but I was not comfortable with that.
The beach in Marigot Bay is very small, and is not nice smooth sand. There is a small bakery/ snack bar, a grocery store and a bank, along with a couple merchandise shops, to sell clothing and nic nacs. The taxi fare to go anywhere s very expensive so we felt captive in some ways. There is very limited selection in the grocery store.
We met some very nice people, and did some lovely excursions.
If you want to relax and unplug from the busy world, Ginger Cottage is just the right place to do it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gentle breeze and the sound of the ocean lulling us to sleep
Liked least: The beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, with the the best ocean views”
Reviewed 19 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Ginger Cottage is stunning, very private. Expansive views across a tourquoise ocean. Exquisite italian design and attention to detail. Delightful. A short walk to several very good restaurants. George, was a wonderful host, he looked after us, took us fishing and to local beaches. Amazing. Cooked fresh fish on a fire of dried coconuts, sitting on the beach. Ate needle fish, with octopus and fresh yams. Went kayaking many times, exploring small beaches, bays and inland rivers. Loved Marigot Bay, the culture, music and people. Hidden gem of the carribean, lush, tropical paradise. George thank you for making this holiday so special. We will be back...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimfromph...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ginger was a wonderfull little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 23 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
3
people found this review helpful

It started out very nicely when we were greeted at the airport by our driver Ernest and driven in his very clean and comfortable car. After 2 stops along the way (approx 1Hr) for a quick beer and some picturesque views we could feel the stress slipping away.This is a very nice touch included with your stay at Ginger, the driver, not the beers. I recommend taking advantage of this added amenity as we did. After a stressful day of flying and airports you don't want to have to drive in St Lucia, with everything that entails,driving can be very stressful here.If you’re renting a car wait and have the car dropped off at the parking lot above the bay’s ferry dock the next day. When you arrive at the dock George is there to ferry you across, the bay and get you all settled in helping with your luggage and any needs you have.

Well we had 10 wonderful days at Ginger Cottage, it was everything we needed. The cottage has exceptional beautiful sunsets every evening, quite, peaceful, very private. We really enjoyed the great views of the entire bay from the wraparound enclosed porch; I brought my binoculars and enjoyed watching the daily sail boat traffic in the mornings. The furnishings are very comfortable, a firm mattress and cool breezes led to some very restful nights, the whole living space is open to the great tropical breezes, there is no ac but we did not have a need for it our entire stay. There are ceiling fans throughout and that helped later in the day when the sun seemed strongest. The kitchen is small but definitely adequate to our needs,cooking breakfast and a few dinners as we did to save on dinning out.The cottage is very well maintained and clean with cleaning service almost daily, nice towels, beach towels, everything very clean and fresh.

We had a great visit but it was made even more special by the warm and generous hospitality of the entire Ginger family. Thanks to our gracious host Erica, Enrica and to George for answering all our crazy questions about his wonderful island. It was a pleasure to meet all of you and for Lisa and myself a highlight of our visit was the time we spent talking together.

I do not have anything negative to say, but you should be aware that there is an inclining tiled path leading up to the cottage and a set of approx 8 steps to the front door.This was not a problem for us and George is there to help if needed especially upon arrival and departure with your bags. Overall this was one of our most relaxing vacation accommodations.Give this special little cottage a try,you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The veiws,location,privacy,cleanliness,
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhardt
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for a restful holiday”
Reviewed 20 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Our week long stay at Ginger Cottage exceeded our high expectations. The views from the Cottage at all times of the day are magnificent - it is an ideal place for reading, relaxing or simply watching the arrival and departure of yachts to and from the Bay. We particularly enjoyed the many screened windows that enabled us to listen to the flow of the ocean and the sound of birds and frogs in the night. The Cottage is well furnished and well maintained - and the caretaker, George, is a gem. We loved having a kitchen so we could make our own breakfasts and lunches. There are a number of good restaurants within easy walking or ferry distance. We made use of the services of the Beach Club (ground level) and the Oasis Marigot (up the hill) to book our tours and they provided excellent service, even though we were not staying in their resorts. We had no phone, but found a pay phone in the Marina that served us well. While Ginger Cottage does not have wi-fi, you can access free wi-fi at the Yacht Club, Doolittles or the Marina. We would highly recommend Ginger Cottage to others planning to stay in Marigot Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views from the cottage
Liked least: The cost of travel out of Marigot Bay
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing