We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful casa with amazing patio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alba Hostal - Casa Particular

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Clara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alba Hostal - Casa Particular
Ranked #11 of 47 Santa Clara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful casa with amazing patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had a great stay at Alba Hostal. It is a very nice colonial house with an amazing patio and awesome floors, restored in 2008. The very clean bedroom decorated in colonial style contains a private bathroom, air conditioning, ventilator, TV and a fridge.
Wilfredo, the owner, is a very hospitable and helpful person. The highlight was the chameleon living in the courtyard. Breakfast was good either. We got dinner at Hostal Florida Center, the best dinner we had in Cuba: grilled lobster with a sauce of shrimps! Great!
.....Alba Hostal is actually the twin of the Florida Center Casa Particular just a block and half away....!
Thanks for a great stay at Santa Clara!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnikayStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

The casa has two rooms at a patio. The host is very kind and helpful. The house is very clean. You can sleep in a beautiful colonial bed. Wilfredo serves the best breakfast in the country. Dinner is served on the beautiful patio in Hostal Flora Center.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susannaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The West
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

The Alba is perfectly located for exploring Santa Clara. There is really more to see in this city than the guidebooks might suggest. Wilfredo is a very friendly host and also prepares the wonderful meals which you eat at his cousin's casa one block away. Both places are clean, secure, and full of interesting plants.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriedaWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

Myself and a friend were originally booked into the nearby 'Casa Mercy' on reccommendation and was very disappointed to arrive and discover he had given our room away! However he had booked us in with another Casa over the road run by Wilfredo Alba.

It turned out to be a good thing, Wilfreda and his mum really looked after us. The Casa is beautiful and full of the trademark antique colonial furniture. The room itself was basic but a well stocked fridge made up for the somewhat tepid/cold shower! There were two rooms here, each with a little patio table and chairs just outside the door in a sweet little courtyard. The breakfast Wilfredo served us with pride was undoubtedly the best we had in Cuba! (see pic attached!)

Would definitley reccomend to anyone crossing through Santa Clara. Wilfredo is a great host, he doesnt speak much English but bends over backwards to help you and make you feel comfortable. A wee gem.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank katebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad y Tobago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

Now, I love the most trendy and comfortable hotels like anyone else. But you cannot go to Cuba unless you experience a "Casa Particulares"

Our first choice was to stay at Hostal Florida Center, but when we arrived they only had one room and we need two and preferred to stay together. Angel from Florida Center walked over to his brother's house Hostal Alba and we checked in.

Checkin into a casa is fairly informal. You MUST HAVE your passport and the slip of paper you get from immigration when you land.

Hostal Alba has lots of antiques and is located a block from the main park. the rooms are basic, ac cooled, relatively new bathroom. the beds are....hmm...old.

Our host Wilfredo is charming and actually is the cook over at Hostal Florida Center where we had a great dinner.

Wilfredo prepared a huge breakfast for us which resembled more of a tea party.

This was my first Casa experience and a good one. The rooms Hostal Florida Center may have been a little bigger.

We found Santa Clara remarkably liberal and all sorts of folks hanging around the square.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribartTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
55.0 km away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
67.4 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
156.2 km away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 km away
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
#4 of 7 in Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
98.0 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,099 reviews
151.9 km away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#12 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Hostal - Casa Particular? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Hostal - Casa Particular

Property: Alba Hostal - Casa Particular
Address: Calle E. Machado 7 | e/ Cuba y Colon, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing