We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
36
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shoal bay carolyn trattoria bw accommodations kitchenette beach island anguilla cuisinart
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed here several months ago. Anguilla is a very expensive island, and so the price here seemed reasonable. When we arrived there was no check in procedure - in fact we never met anybody who worked there for 5 days after we arrived. So, best to be an independent traveler.

The beach this is on is nice, but not one of Anguilla's best. Swimming directly in front of the hotel involves submerged rocks. You can move down the beach a ways to avoid them. I personally didn't love the development next door either (Cove Castles). It kind of spoiled the aesthetics of this cove. We always hit a different beach everyday, so it didn't matter much. There are some ponds very near this hotel, and they stunk pretty bad. Not sure why.

Our room was very spacious, with a nice balcony. All the furniture is concrete. For instance, the "couch" is concrete with some cushions on it; the bed is a concrete platform (watch your toes!) with a mattress on top, etc. Not great, but okay. Both our kitchen and bathroom desperately needed a good, thorough cleaning. Mold in the shower...a very dirty refrigerator handle, that sort of thing. There is nothing much to prevent bugs and mosquitoes from getting in, although we did not have a big problem with either of those things. Both the bathroom and the kitchen could have REALLY benefited from a little upgrade.

We had a little trouble with the AC (bedroom only), but mostly it worked okay. The WiFi was off for about 24 hours without explanation. Everything in the kitchen worked. There was adequate hot water.

The property was very quiet, which was nice. It was mostly couples, I didn't see any children. The restaurant next door was fabulous.

So there is my honest assessment of Blue Waters.

Room Tip: I believe that ll rooms are beachfront.
Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
17  Thank CG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We could not be happier with the stay that we recently had in Anguilla with the people of Blue Waters. Carolyn, Helen and the entire staff make you feel at home in every way. The mornings in these apartments are the best because if you are on the ground floor, you open your doors and you walk right out to a coral reef without walking more than 60 feet. The quiet afternoons under the coconut trees transport your soul a bit. We would stay there with family anytime or like we did this time, as a couple needing some taste of rest and beauty. Love this place.

Room Tip: Ground floor gives amazing access but second floors have a beautiful view of St. Maartens.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank petesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Spent seven wonderful nights at Blue Waters, room opened right onto the beach, felt like i had my own private beach, hardly saw another person, the entire week. Apartments had everything you need...I will definitely return. Shoal bay west is a nice secluded beach

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank NYDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We spent some time this month island hopping, St. Martin, Anguilla and Saba. After 2.5 days on St. Martin we were THRILLED with our accommodations at BW as well as the rest of the island. We arrived by ferry, rented a car, and took the 25 minute drive to our home away from home. It being off season, we had the place to ourselves... and the beach as well. Hardly a soul around, just what we were looking for. The first day we had a late lunch at the little Italian place just steps away. We only had three nights, but I could easily have spent a full week or more on this lovely little island exploring it's nooks and crannies and coming home to BW. Looking back at the pictures we took, it almost seems like a dream.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garetanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

On the recommendation of Jill (one of the owners of Barrel Stay restaurant ) we spent 10 days at Blue Waters beach apartments on Shoal bay west. How right she was! The owner Carolyn is a sweet,lovely lady. The apartment was everything we wanted,simple ,clean and comfortable. After staying at a 5 star resort to a 1 star villa,Blue waters is the place for us. We have found our new home and can't wait to return next year.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sunnym92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews