We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Narval(Calcatoggio)
US$ 74
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Alata(Alata)(Great Value!)
US$ 97
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina di Lava(Appietto)
US$ 185
US$ 174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Ajaccio(Ajaccio)(Great Value!)
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Camping Lacasa(Calcatoggio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
59
48
21
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
48
21
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We stayed there for a week at the end of August and really enjoyed it. There is a huge terrace with tons of loungers and umbrellas with 3 pools (of differing sizes). It's right on the sea front as you can see from the pictures, just a 5m walk across the rocks to the crystal clear sea. Worth bringing water shoes if you're planning on doing lots of swimming from the rocks. Water is some of the clearest I've seen, great for snorkeling but unfortunately not a huge amount to see. The beach (sand) is just 1km down the road. Sea is gently sloping so great for kids rather than a steep drop off.
There's a continental breakfast included which was very nice with a large selection of homemade jams. No dinner offering so you need to go to the beach (we really liked Le Tarmaris which also did takeaway pizza) for restaurants. If you don't speak French I'd recommend a phrase book as not much is in English (menus etc).
Drawbacks: WiFi wasn't great at all and didn't work for half the time we were there. Rooms are a bit dated and could do with a facelift. We asked for a double bed but got 2 singles (nothing new there) but it wasn't even made up as a double. I thought it was fairly pricy, but that did seem to be standard in Corsica at that time of year.
Terrace made up for all the drawbacks in our opinion!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiSuzieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2014

The hotel is situated about 2 km from the main road, on one side of the Liscia bay, right at the seaside. In front of the hotel there is no real beach (some rocks), but there is a public sandy beach at approx 800 meters.
We enjoyed the quiet and peaceful location and the beautiful view on the sea from the breakfastarea, the poolarea and a relaxing area under some pinetrees. Our room was very clean and with sufficient comfort, but the decorating/colours used are getting slightly outdated.
We had a room with seaview, which is unfortunately partly blocked by the terrace fences, but still it was worthwhile. Wifi is available (code at reception) but connection is not always stable and we had no connection in the room.
Breakfast is ok : orange juice (not fresh), cheese, charcuterie, cereals, several homemade jams, vienoiseries and possibility to boil an egg (diy).
The restaurants in the neighbourhood are of average quality (les tamaris, l'abri á barques). We found the best one to be U Castellu at Sagone (approx 7 km). The hotel is a good starting point for trips to Ajaccio (30 min) and Piana/Porto (60 min).
Price/quality this hotel is an excellent choise and if I ever go back I would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

We actually extended our stay since this hotel had it all as far as I am concerned. Fantastic location close by the sea (rocks, not sand, which I love), and a terrace with a pool overlooking a beautiful bay. Quiet with no neighboring hotels and few families with kids.

Had a small but nice and very clean room with direct access to the pool. Noted that there were a lot of French "return clients" which is a good sign as well. One couple returned for their 14th summer...

No dining facilities, but we preferred to visit all the small villages anyway and found great local restaurants. You of course need a car though.

All in all a perfect stay and very Corsican hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Being there for two nights with fellows bikers.
Pros: far from the little town and therefore far from noise and trafic (although off season there's not so much going on)
Very clean hotel, above the average for sure
Very good "expanded" continental breakfast, no hot food such as eggs or sausages for our TA friends from oversea but still a very nice buffet to pick from (juices, hot beverages, jams, bread, croissants and the like)
Cons: pool not heated despite its awesome location in fron of the sea (the hotel website pictures are quite self explaining...)
No restaurant, not even nearby, you'll have to pick your vehicle and reach something around the area (not that many choices available there either)
Price: surely not cheap and probably a little too much for what you get overall, but it's always better to pay a little more and be glad rather than saving some $$$ and having an awful experience... especially on holidays!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarloCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Having been to Corsica several times now, we know what we like. And Castel d'Orcino was not an option. It was a must! For this next trip, I had to juggle availability in 6 different hotels in Corsica. I rearranged our trip several times to suit Castel d'Orcino's availability because it would not have been possible to go to Corsica and not stay there. Yes, there is not really a restaurant, and yes it is not a hotel with an active night life, but the rooms, the pool, the feel and especially the location make it unmissable. It is a small, intimate, friendly hotel with very helpful staff and to us now, it feels like a home from home. Splurge, but get rooms with a sea view. Yes it isn't cheap, but wow...

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earwiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews