We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Snug as a bug”
other travellers have booked this property
A warm welcome awaits you at The Snug. Guests keep returning to enjoy the comforts.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome awaits you at The Snug. Guests keep returning to enjoy the comforts.
Enjoy that cosy feel. Logs provided.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
A warm welcome awaits you at The Snug. Guests keep returning to enjoy the comforts.
Enjoy that cosy feel. Logs provided.
Stylish period furniture.
Comfortable leather sofas.
Historic stone fireplace shown in an Ibbotson painting.
Master bedroom, spacious with good storage.
Master bedroom with super king size bed or twin beds. Room for a travel cot too!
Beds all made up for your arrival.
A snug bunk room with adult size mattresses for extra comfort.
Power shower and bath, hot water on demand with heated floor mat.
Good quality bedding and towels are included in the rental.
Secure storage for the cycles. Parking for motorbikes.
Lots of our guests love The Snug, one couple have stayed with us six times in one year.
Enjoy the Yorkshire sunshine, eating fresh crossiants and ground coffee after a morning walk.
The Snug is full of old charm with thick wobbly walls, beams, timber floors and old doors.
Welcome to Yorkshire Member
A must shop to visit - numerous local artists work displayed and lots more.
Theaskston's brewery a popular destination
World Heritage Centre - Fountains Abbey  truely magnificant, about 10 miles to south of Masham.
Popular Black Sheep Brewery - offering a bistro, brewery tour and sheepy shop.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Masham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy P
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Snug as a bug”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely little cottage on a somewhat busy road in Masham. We found everything we needed in the cottage and more. Karen is a great cook, and left us a mouthwatering lemon cake on arrival. Mattress on king size bed so comfortable, wished I could take it home with me. Parking was a little tight outside, but we managed to find a space. Only downfall was hot water not hot enough. Fantastic wi-fi connection.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andysue S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was fabulous. Karen. the owner has thought of everything to make it home from home and yet it stills feel like a holiday. The cottage is quaint but has all the mod cons you need. Looking forward to going back again when we can use the log burner!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn m
hull
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful !!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just arrived back from a 5night stay at the Snug knew area well as been many times before but first time at the Snug. There was everything you could possibly need and everything was so clean. Loved the massive bed - so comfy . It's so central we didn't need to move the car till we went to Skipton. Karen left a lovely homemade cake for us and fresh milk and really clear instructions on how to use everything so it was just perfect. Can't wait to go back !!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathsugde...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A really cosy, but surprisingly spacious cottage in one of the friendliest towns you might experience. We were royally met with a lovely lemon drizzle cake and ample milk. The kitchen is very well stocked and the bed is enormous. The only down-side was the thunderous rattling of the tractors and lorries going past the bedroom window, but the windows do provide some sound proofing if you can bear to have them closed. Masham is replete with interesting little shops and pubs with many of the local population enjoying the community spaces. Masham is well located for many of the jewels of the dales - Middleham, Grassington, Pateley Bridge and Ripon are all in easy reach with Kettlewell and Malham reasonably accessible. If you want to go to church, we recommend Holy Trinity in Ripon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2014
Sorry to read the traffic was busy during your stay. I wonder if the prolonged sunshine had led to a rush in harvesting with vehicles travelling to the mill. Next time I suggest you open the windows at the rear of the cottage.

The locals in Masham are very friendly and welcoming making it such a special place to visit, where time does slow down.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyingsco...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked The Snug last year to watch Le Tour de France pass through Masham on 5th July and stayed for the whole week. The cottage is lovely, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could possibly need. it's in a great location within easy walking distance of all the shops and the brewery. Karen left home baking and tea for our arrival and made sure we had all the information we needed. A lovely stone cottage with easy access to Harrogate and the Yorkshire Dales. Hackfall Woods, Fountains Abbey and Middleham Castle are all well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2014
Pleased to hear you enjoyed staying at the cottage.The Tour was amazing, two weeks on everyone is still enjoying the memories, pleased you were able to share in the atmosphere. The painted sheep on the Market Place is included in the Welcome to Yorkshire film, I have added a link on the facebook page.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing