We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
352
125
25
23
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
352
125
25
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep stairs the pub top floor homemade chips shower room ate here pie the black sheep steak night stayed for nights great atmosphere comfy bed friendly welcome excellent breakfast night's sleep visiting masham following morning
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Rooms large and spotlessly clean,equipped with Coffee Maker and Kettle. Super King size bed.
En-Suite had double shower and spotless. With good water supply.
All staff friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was amazing and very reasonably priced.
Handy central location for shops, brewery trips.
Easy journeys into Ripon and Bedale.
Free Parking too !!
Bar dog friendly .

Room tip: We stayed in room 2 . Theakstone room. Front of hotel but no night time noise. Had super king and settee in room . 1st floor.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Welcoming staff, big comfortable room and lovely breakfast , would happily recommend to anyone as Masham is on the edge of the dales but close to big towns like Harrogate, don’t forget to visit the chocolate shop if that’s your thing and plenty of decent local beer to be drunk

Room tip: Plenty of space to spread out
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Firtst time ever staying at pub and what a surprise. Extremely friendly staff, good rooms, big (perhaps too big) breakfast, good eats for dinner (had lamb shank), good selection of beers and gin (Masham gin is a find) and super location for travels in the Dales (Wensleydale Creamery). Highkly reccomended establishment.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Per Oyvind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My husband was given a brewery trip voucher for his birthday to the Black Sheep Brewery so we decided to have the night away whilst using it.

We stayed at the Bay Horse and WOW!
The rooms, staff, food were lovely.
We had a lovely evening meal, which just so happened to be a themed steak night which included a bottle of wine. Very good value and cooked perfectly.

We stayed in the Theakston room, and although directly above the bar was not over loud and we both had a great nights sleep - the huge beds are to die for by the way!

The breakfast menu is very varied, but we both opted for the full English which we could'nt fault at all - well cooked and delicious.

We wanted a relaxing night away and got exactly that and are already planning to return!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Babs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We were delighted with our room at the Bay Horse. We had a double room on the top floor which was spacious with lovely decor. The facilities were excellent - a cafetiere of fresh coffee and gorgeous toiletries were fab little touches. The breakfast choice was also very good and the food was cooked to order and very tasty. I would definitely recommend this hidden gem!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews